| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 06:53:39
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Wraith
|
K, had an oddball situation in a game tonight. Not sure if we played it correct, so I thought I would throw it to Dakka.
Hive Tyrant and 1 Tyrant Guard with Lash Whips assault Sternguard w/ Lysander.
Tyrant goes first and kills 4. Tyrant Guard kills nothing.
This leaves everything else striking simultaneous at Initiative 1. One Power fist and Lysander because of their gear, and the rest because of lash whip.
The Sternguard inflict 3 wounds, the sergeant and Lysander inflict 3 unsaveable power fist/T-Hammer wounds.
Is it one pool of wounds that are allocated as the defender sees fit? Or must the wounds be allocated by source first?
We played it as a pool, but the player inflicting the wounds was not happy with the resolution.
The unsaveable wounds were stacked on the guard and the Tyrant got saves vs 3 wounds.
Help? Thanks
|
Bam, said the lady!
DR:70S+GM++B+I+Pw40k09/f++D++A(WTF)/hWD153R+++T(S)DM++++
Dakka, what is good in life?
To crush other websites,
See their user posts driven before you,
And hear the lamentation of the newbs.
-Frazzled-10/22/09 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 07:10:43
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Big Fat Gospel of Menoth
The other side of the internet
|
I believe the attacker was supposed to declare what attacks when where in this situation. The HT is an independent character and can be singled out in CC. So those in base 2 base with him were supposed to be attacking him. That said, if they were part of a squad and there was a reason for wound distribution, then yes, the defender could have done just as you explained.
|
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
RAGE
Be sure to use logic! Avoid fallacies whenever possible.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 07:15:36
Subject: Re:Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Wraith
|
Thanks for the response.
Where is it stated that a Hive Tyrant is an Independent Character. It is not listed under the descriptive entry, nor the army list entry.
|
Bam, said the lady!
DR:70S+GM++B+I+Pw40k09/f++D++A(WTF)/hWD153R+++T(S)DM++++
Dakka, what is good in life?
To crush other websites,
See their user posts driven before you,
And hear the lamentation of the newbs.
-Frazzled-10/22/09 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 07:30:29
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Big Fat Gospel of Menoth
The other side of the internet
|
Is it not? I could have sworn it was. I'm not entirely familiar with the Tyranid codex. Does the tyrant guard act as a retinue? If so, then he was right in being able to assign wounds as he did.
|
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
RAGE
Be sure to use logic! Avoid fallacies whenever possible.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 07:45:51
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
California, USA
|
Tyrant is not an independent character, the Guard have a rule that one tyrant may join them as if it were an IC.
Yes the way you divided the wounds is how it is done.
|
1500 points Speed Freeks
WarOne wrote:orks practically live forever...until something like a boot to the head kills you. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 07:51:49
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Big Fat Gospel of Menoth
The other side of the internet
|
Actually, if it acts as an IC to join in the squad of Guard, then he would have to single it out in CC. Can you post the rule for clarification?
|
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
RAGE
Be sure to use logic! Avoid fallacies whenever possible.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 07:52:24
Subject: Re:Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The Tyrant Guard's rule says that the Tyrant "may join a unit of Tyrant Guard exactly as if it were an independent character."
If you take that to mean that the Tyrant acts like an IC while attached to the Tyrant Guard unit, then the situation becomes a multiple combat and the attacks should have been allocated accordingly.
If you assume that the Hive Tyrant only "joins" as if it were an IC, then it would be a single unit and subject to all of those rules (majority WS, majority T, Tyranid player allocates hits, etc.)
Anyone want in on the pool for which way the eventual FAQ rules?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 07:57:09
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It's a bit of a rigged bet if one has decent reading comprehension....
(What's the buy in? ^_^)
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 08:07:00
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ChrisCP wrote:It's a bit of a rigged bet if one has decent reading comprehension....
(What's the buy in? ^_^)
/[>.<]\ It's a good thing you smiled when you wrote that.
I have 0.01 Internets on "Involuntary Retinue". It's either that or ripper models, and the postage for those it too expensive.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 08:34:17
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Big Fat Gospel of Menoth
The other side of the internet
|
The way it's read leads me to believe that it's an IC in a squad, as it says "exactly as if it were an IC." This seems fair and correct because it is a monstrous creature and it's stats are good enough to take a beating in CC anyway.
|
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
RAGE
Be sure to use logic! Avoid fallacies whenever possible.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 202010/05/14 08:43:12
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, it does not act as an IC in combat, as it only *joins* the unit as an IC (i.e. is allowed to join the unit....), it never *becomes* an IC.
Handily this is exacftly the same end result as the 4th ed codex.
So there is 1 unit, and all the rules tell you to do is allocate "wound[ing hits]" - they never require you to allocate by type of wounding hit. So you are free to stack the power weapon wounds onto the Hive Guard.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 08:51:43
Subject: Re:Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No, you cannot pick out the Tyrant in CC, as it is not an IC.
To answer the OP, yes, they would have been a single "pool" of wounds, and you could have allocated all 3 power fist wounds to the guard,
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 09:56:13
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
The way it's read leads me to believe that it's an IC in a squad, as it says "exactly as if it were an IC." This seems fair and correct because it is a monstrous creature and it's stats are good enough to take a beating in CC anyway.
If you use this interpretation then the Tyrant can also be picked out in Shooting as it is an MC and the Guard aren't. Then the Tyrant Guard are entirely useless, it would also mean the Tyrant was free to leave the squad which again he isn't.
He joins as an IC that is the only action for which he is considered or treated as an IC. He can not be singled out in shooting or CC, that is the entire point of the Tyrant Guard!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 10:19:30
Subject: Re:Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
How many times do i have to say it as if may allow a unit to act in a certain way but does not give it the appropriate rules, therefore the rant isn't an IC.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 10:23:44
Subject: Wound allocation, Lash whips, Power Fists
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
More importantly it says 'may' otherwise using the rules for ICs "If a character does not intend to(or cannot) join a unit, it must remain more than 2" away from it at the end of the Movement phase." You couldn't even stand next to them
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|