Switch Theme:

[V5] YMTC - Embarked models with individual ranged abilites  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
READ BELOW FOR THE QUESTION
OPTION A (read below for details)
OPTION B (read below for details)
OPTION C (read below for details)

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA



FOR THIS POLL, PLEASE ANSWER HOW YOU CHOOSE TO PLAY THE GAME, NOT NECESSARILY WHAT THE RULES AS WRITTEN (RAW) SAY.

Feel free to post how and why you voted, but please DO NOT ENGAGE OTHERS IN DISCUSSIONS/ARGUMENTS ABOUT WHAT YOU THINK THE RULES SAY. Please create a separate thread if you feel the urge to have this kind of discussion.



The rules for embarked units say (rulebook, pg 66): "If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull."

The rules for the Blood Angel Honour Guard's Blood Chalice say (Blood Angels codex, pg 52): "All friendly units within 6 [inches] of the Sanguinary Novitiate are subject to the Furious Charge and Feel No Pain special rules."





QUESTION: If a Blood Angels Honour Guard is embarked on a vehicle do you play that the effects of the Sanguinary Novitiate's Blood Chalice can affect friendly units outside of the transport?

Note: The choice of the Blood Angel's Chalice is just one example of many, many that could be used and is just being used because the codex is the most recent release. If you are unfamiliar with the codex simply imagine any other situation where a single model within a unit is embarked on a transport and (he alone in the unit) has a ranged ability that does not require line of sight.



OPTION A. No, the rules only allow range to be measured to or from the hull for an embarked UNIT. Since only an individual model within the unit has the ability and we don't know exactly where the model is within the transport I play that such an ability will not affect any units outside of the transport.


OPTION B. Yes, the rules specify that ranges are measured to and from the hull for the embarked unit and the embarked model with the ability is part of the unit and therefore the ability does affect units outside of the transport and the range of the ability is measured from the hull of the vehicle.


OPTION C. Something else entirely: reply exactly what it is below.



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/14 10:32:04


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ca
1st Lieutenant





I play as B, a single model is still a unit of one as defined by the rules. The only argument I can see against it is 'balance' and that is always a poor argument making only one side happy.
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Rules are rules and B is correct.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I voted for B also.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

HoverBoy wrote:Rules are rules and B is correct.



To be upfront, I voted 'B' as well, however I don't think the rules are clear at all.

For these abilities, range technically has to be measured from the individual model within the unit, not from the unit itself. The embarked rules only specify that range for the unit is measured to and from the vehicle's hull, this is not the same thing as measuring range to a particular model in the unit.

So while I do play the same way you voted, I am not at all convinced that the rules clearly dictate one way to play this situation (hence the poll).


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Ahhh... "B" Because I feel it would be wrong to interpret an ability of a model within a a unit as 'not involving' the unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/14 10:19:34


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





So while I do play the same way you voted, I am not at all convinced that the rules clearly dictate one way to play this situation (hence the poll).


I disagree... i figure it works the same as shooting. When a model in a vehicle shoots it can fire from any point on the hull of the vehicle. Same concept applies here the model CAN be in any part of the vehicle so you measure from ANY part of the vehicle. This means that the entire hull radiates his power. I dont really think this is THAT overpowered. It extends a powers range out what 3 inches? 4 inches? what really sucks is when eldar go and stick their crappy phykers inside a tank and can fire their powers from anywhere on the hull.


You are Red/Blue!
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

You are both rational and emotional. You value creation and discovery, and feel strongly about what I create. At best, you're innovative and intuitive. At worst, you're scattered and unpredictable.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





I play B and that seems the "natural" interpretation of the rules (and I also though ti was eth RaW), however reading your poll options has convinced me that Option A seems more correct by RaW.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in ca
1st Lieutenant





When the model is in the vehicle alone he is the entire unit though... so his position doesn't really matter. It also is more in line with the way psychic powers work.
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

B.

How it works.


I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: