Switch Theme:

Dropping empty drop pods?????  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block



Franklin, Pa

I searched for this and couldn't find it. Sorry if it is here! I saw someone do this and I am not sure it is legal.
Please let me know where in the rule book it deals with your answers if possible.

1-Can I hold my marine squad in reserve and drop the drop pod and move the marines squad on from the table edge when they become available?

2- If so can I do this with the stuff arriving 1st turn with "drop pod assault"?

3-Can I put my marine squad on the table and hold my drop pod in reserve and drop it empty?

Thanks lot!
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







ohiowargamer wrote:I searched for this and couldn't find it. Sorry if it is here! I saw someone do this and I am not sure it is legal.
Please let me know where in the rule book it deals with your answers if possible.

1-Can I hold my marine squad in reserve and drop the drop pod and move the marines squad on from the table edge when they become available?

2- If so can I do this with the stuff arriving 1st turn with "drop pod assault"?

3-Can I put my marine squad on the table and hold my drop pod in reserve and drop it empty?

Thanks lot!
1) Yes, but you have to roll for each one separately.
2) Yes, but the unit has to roll for reserves normally.
3) Yes.

And I can't give you a page ref because it doesn't explicitly deal with this. However, the rules for reserves let you do this, and nothing prevents doing it with Drop Pods, so you can.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/14 18:00:56


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Just to clarify #2. If you hold the pod and the squad in reserve, you can bring the pod in empty on 1st turn due to drop pod assault rules, but the squad must roll for reserves as normal beginning with turn 2.
The only way for the squad to come on in the 1st turn would be to arrive in the pod.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander








As for number 3, it depends on the number of pods you have. If you have 1 pod, it HAS to come in on turn 1, unless you are Black Templars. ( However, BT squads can't drop empty pods, so its a moot point).

If you have 2 pods, than yes, you can hold the empty pod back and drop it later, while the other pod has to come in on turn 1.

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






Agree with the above. Make sure you/theguyyou'restalking declares how he is holding his reserves. You can't declare you have a squad deepstriking in a pod and then walk them on later.

Edit @ General Hobbs: I think they're referring to deploying the squad and dropping the pod at the appropriate time, not necessarily after turn one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/14 18:13:10


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: