| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 18:02:13
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So I have a salamander hunting pack with 4 skinks. They are charged from the side in a way that makes it impossible to form up with the salamander in front and the skinks in 2x2 behind him (I run into another one of my units). What do I do? Line up with Salamander in front and a row of 1x4 skinks behind him? Line up 2 skinks in base to base in front row?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/14 21:01:33
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You MUStT line up the Salamander in front, you then line up the skinks behind as best as you can.
The skinks CANNOT be in the fighting rank.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/15 00:24:41
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That was my impression too, but the rulebook also says you can't have more units in a back rank than a rear rank. I guess it would just be specific trumping general though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/15 02:14:33
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I believe if you charge and touch a skink, you can put them in the front rank.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/15 09:38:14
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Skyth - you believe incorrect.
Assuming they are in a skirmish formation to begin with, the Sallies ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS without ANY EXCEPTION formt he front rank. Always.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/16 06:28:58
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
By them, I meant the individual skink you contacted. The Salamander(s) will still in the front rank as well. Of course, now I will want to go look at the actual rule book. Automatically Appended Next Post: On actually, reading the rules...It's inconclusive. The Salamanders are always in the front rank, and the Skinks rank up behind, but I can't fine a rule definitvely allowing the one Skink that was contacted to move out of base to base.
Granted, the rule probably means for them to be moved out of base to base, but I'm not 100% convinced.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/16 06:37:58
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/16 15:09:56
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
IT tells you that the skinks rnak up behind. It gives no allowance for any skink to be in the front rank, therefore it cannot be.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/16 16:46:57
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The normal rules for skirmishers have the one that is hit staying there, and then the rest of the skirmishers ranking up. You could break no rules by having the rest of the skinks ranking up behind.
*shrugs* Like I said, this situtation isn't 100% clear I believe.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0052/05/16 22:44:12
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except for the rule that uses "the skinks", whihch includes the entire set of "skinks", without exception.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/16 23:59:51
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Like I said, it is probably meant to be the way you are saying. Just it's grey enough that I wouldn't complain if my opponent wanted to play the other way.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/17 02:57:06
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Evasive Eshin Assassin
|
If anything, the Lizardmen book is stating an exception to the BRB, as do all special rules. Thee BRB says one thing, which holds true until a specific army book says otherwise, right?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/17 10:49:36
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, here you have a specific rule telling you skinks, with no exceptions, must be placed n the secnod and following ranks.
THis is more specific than a rule covering all skirmishers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/17 12:33:16
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
I thought that handlers were treated as "not being there" with regard to being charged. The monsters themselves needed to be reached.
ZF-
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/17 13:19:01
Subject: Salamander Combat Formation Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They arent monsters and handlers, they are (and were in the previous book) a mixed unit of skirmishers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|