Switch Theme:

Can a Psychic Hood be used in Close Combat?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




If the librarian is currently in CC, and there is an enemy psyker with 24", can he use his psychic hood?

Also: Can non-shoot psychic powers in general be used in CC?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







BobTheChainsaw wrote:If the librarian is currently in CC, and there is an enemy psyker with 24", can he use his psychic hood?

Also: Can non-shoot psychic powers in general be used in CC?
1)Yes.
2)Yes. No. Maybe. It really depends on the power being used.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/16 10:55:30


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Gwar! wrote:
BobTheChainsaw wrote:If the librarian is currently in CC, and there is an enemy psyker with 24", can he use his psychic hood?

Also: Can non-shoot psychic powers in general be used in CC?
1)Yes.
2)Yes. No. Maybe. It really depends on the power being used.


Okay, so... could Null Zone be used in CC? I know Gate of Infinity can't. Basically, what space marine librarian powers CAN'T be used in close combat (I know GoI and all shooting ones, anything else)?

EDIT: Wait, could Lash of Submission be used in Close Combat? It wouldn't be to move the other unit(s) in CC, but what if the daemon prince moved a different unit (that wasn't in CC) with Lash? Could he do that?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/16 22:20:14


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Lash is a PSA, as it states it is instead of firing another weapon...
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:Lash is a PSA, as it states it is instead of firing another weapon...


Are you sure? Sounds like it could be debated.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Positive it is a shooting attack.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




BobTheChainsaw wrote:Okay, so... could Null Zone be used in CC? I know Gate of Infinity can't. Basically, what space marine librarian powers CAN'T be used in close combat (I know GoI and all shooting ones, anything else)?


Your best bet is to look at each power.

Smite Shooting Attack
Force Dome Movement
Machine Curse Shooting Attack
The Avenger Shooting Attack
Quickening Fleet and init 10, so yes.
Null Zone Not a shooting Attack so can be used in CC
Might of the Ancients Not a shooting Attack so can be used in CC
Gate of Infinity Seems to be a non-shooting psychic ability, thus could be used in CC unless it requires movement
Vortex of Doom shooting attack

Cant use shooting attacks in CC, thus, shooting attacks cant be used in CC.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/17 03:45:11


 
   
Made in us
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





The Rock



Gate of Infinity Seems to be a non-shooting psychic ability, thus could be used in CC unless it requires movement


Doesnt require it but it causes it. So would it be legal? and could he still take the squad he's attached to out of CC?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/17 04:33:06


Emperors Faithful wrote:
metallifan wrote:Maybe it's not the ROFLSTOMP that Americans are used to...

Best summary of foeign policy. Ever.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




BobTheChainsaw wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Lash is a PSA, as it states it is instead of firing another weapon...


Are you sure? Sounds like it could be debated.


Definitely not debateable.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DA's Forever wrote:
Gate of Infinity Seems to be a non-shooting psychic ability, thus could be used in CC unless it requires movement
Doesnt require it but it causes it. So would it be legal? and could he still take the squad he's attached to out of CC?


That one spawned a multiple-page thread not so long ago. Either it can be used to move from close combat, because it simply says to remove them from the table, or it can't, due to the fact that other similar abilities (Veil of Darkness, for example) actually specify that they can be used when in close combat means that you can't do so for Gate, which doesn't so specify, or simply because you can't choose to move away from close combat, and removing them from the table and/or deep striking are both moving the models...

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




insaniak wrote:
DA's Forever wrote:
Gate of Infinity Seems to be a non-shooting psychic ability, thus could be used in CC unless it requires movement
Doesnt require it but it causes it. So would it be legal? and could he still take the squad he's attached to out of CC?


That one spawned a multiple-page thread not so long ago. Either it can be used to move from close combat, because it simply says to remove them from the table, or it can't, due to the fact that other similar abilities (Veil of Darkness, for example) actually specify that they can be used when in close combat means that you can't do so for Gate, which doesn't so specify, or simply because you can't choose to move away from close combat, and removing them from the table and/or deep striking are both moving the models...


I think this too requires a decision if you think the rulebook is a legal document or not. If "Cannot move while locked in combat" is a broad principle but the word "Move" is just colloquial then you cant do any changing of location which would make the unit no longer engaged, or if "Moved is a technical legal term which means only movement during the movement phase then GoI would not violate the rule. I take the rulebook to be an informal and poorly written document, therefore GoI would not allow you to move out of CC
   
Made in us
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





The Rock

visavismeyou wrote:
insaniak wrote:
DA's Forever wrote:
Gate of Infinity Seems to be a non-shooting psychic ability, thus could be used in CC unless it requires movement
Doesnt require it but it causes it. So would it be legal? and could he still take the squad he's attached to out of CC?


That one spawned a multiple-page thread not so long ago. Either it can be used to move from close combat, because it simply says to remove them from the table, or it can't, due to the fact that other similar abilities (Veil of Darkness, for example) actually specify that they can be used when in close combat means that you can't do so for Gate, which doesn't so specify, or simply because you can't choose to move away from close combat, and removing them from the table and/or deep striking are both moving the models...


I think this too requires a decision if you think the rulebook is a legal document or not. If "Cannot move while locked in combat" is a broad principle but the word "Move" is just colloquial then you cant do any changing of location which would make the unit no longer engaged, or if "Moved is a technical legal term which means only movement during the movement phase then GoI would not violate the rule. I take the rulebook to be an informal and poorly written document, therefore GoI would not allow you to move out of CC


Thats what i figured. Held some vauge hope that i cold pull a squad out of a tough situation

Emperors Faithful wrote:
metallifan wrote:Maybe it's not the ROFLSTOMP that Americans are used to...

Best summary of foeign policy. Ever.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: