Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/17 18:59:49
Subject: Squirrelly tactic allowed and even suggested by the ringer-judge....
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Libby with tac squad and gateway, can teleport using the deep strike rules.
The judge said that they could use my locator beacon to not scatter.....
and that because they were not in reserve, that the scout biker could move first.
I did not think you could use a locator beacon with the Gateway. I've looked at the deep strike rules and you don't have to do that first, so I can see the scout being allowed to move first.
Was the judge wrong or is this a viable tactic? I could see someone argueing that they are using the ds rules, but are not actually deep striking....
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/17 19:03:20
Subject: Squirrelly tactic allowed and even suggested by the ringer-judge....
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
General Hobbs wrote:
Libby with tac squad and gateway, can teleport using the deep strike rules.
The judge said that they could use my locator beacon to not scatter.....
and that because they were not in reserve, that the scout biker could move first.
I did not think you could use a locator beacon with the Gateway. I've looked at the deep strike rules and you don't have to do that first, so I can see the scout being allowed to move first.
Was the judge wrong or is this a viable tactic? I could see someone argueing that they are using the ds rules, but are not actually deep striking....
The Judge was wrong. The locater beacon only works for units "arriving by Deep Strike".
A unit that is already on the table can hardly arrive again.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/17 19:17:33
Subject: Squirrelly tactic allowed and even suggested by the ringer-judge....
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Not quite true, Swooping Hawks can go back into reserves to arrive again, but yes in this case, he would be wrong. You can use your opponents locator beacon to not scatter? This is news to me. That seems all kinds of wrong. Will have to look at it though.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/17 19:17:52
1850 Mech Eldar |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/17 19:23:38
Subject: Squirrelly tactic allowed and even suggested by the ringer-judge....
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
sbeasley wrote:Not quite true, Swooping Hawks can go back into reserves to arrive again, but yes in this case, he would be wrong.
You can use your opponents locator beacon to not scatter? This is news to me. That seems all kinds of wrong. Will have to look at it though.
Yes, but then they are in reserves, so must then arrive again. GoI doesn't use reserves.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/17 19:27:44
Subject: Squirrelly tactic allowed and even suggested by the ringer-judge....
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
sbeasley wrote:You can use your opponents locator beacon to not scatter? This is news to me. That seems all kinds of wrong. Will have to look at it though. You can't - this has been covered in the BRB FAQ. BRB wrote:Q. Am I able to gain the benefits of any of my opponent’s wargear or special rules, such as Teleport Homers, Chaos Icons, Tyranid Synapse, Necron Resurrection Orbs etc? A. In most occasions this is clear, as the rules use the words ‘friendly’ or ‘own’ to indicate your units, and ‘enemy’ for the opponent’s. On the other hand, some rules clearly specify that they affect ‘friend and foe’. A few rules are, however, slightly ambiguous as they don’t clearly specify this distinction. As a general principle, we recommend that you cannot use or gain the benefits from any of the wargear or special rules of your opponent’s army, unless specifically stated in the rule itself (‘friend or foe’) or in an official FAQ.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/17 19:48:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/17 19:29:12
Subject: Squirrelly tactic allowed and even suggested by the ringer-judge....
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Okay so basically if I were to play with warp spiders I could deep strike and not scatter, shoot up said locator beacon unit then use my warp spider jump ability to jump away. How silly is that. Locator beacons must just be a flashlight saying land here. I find it extremely silly that something like a locator beacon could simply be used by anyone that can deepstrike, but thems the rulez. bleh. Automatically Appended Next Post: Scott-S6 wrote:sbeasley wrote:You can use your opponents locator beacon to not scatter? This is news to me. That seems all kinds of wrong. Will have to look at it though.
You can't - this has been covered in the BRB FAQ.
That makes me feel better. They do have some good tech in the 40th millennium.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/17 19:31:07
1850 Mech Eldar |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 00:04:16
Subject: Squirrelly tactic allowed and even suggested by the ringer-judge....
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
Clarkston, MI
|
On a related note, could imperial stormtroopers with aerial assault (able to re-roll deep strike scatter dice) get their re-roll when jumping out of a flat out valkyrie?
|
beats
anyday
LONG LIVE THE EMPEROR!!!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 00:09:26
Subject: Squirrelly tactic allowed and even suggested by the ringer-judge....
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
General Hobbs wrote:Was the judge wrong or is this a viable tactic? I could see someone argueing that they are using the ds rules, but are not actually deep striking....
That's pretty much it. It simply comes down to whether or not you consider 'using the deep strike rules' to be 'deep striking'...
The bike wouldn't be able to move first, though. GoI is used at the start of the phase... and the squad is immediately placed back on the table. You can't remove them, move something else, and then place the Librarian.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 00:09:57
Subject: Squirrelly tactic allowed and even suggested by the ringer-judge....
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
neotom1118 wrote:On a related note, could imperial stormtroopers with aerial assault (able to re-roll deep strike scatter dice) get their re-roll when jumping out of a flat out valkyrie?
Yes.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 05:23:13
Subject: Squirrelly tactic allowed and even suggested by the ringer-judge....
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
The rule on GoI states that the unit moves as if it has deepstruck. This is important as it only tells you how to place them on the table (They did not actually deep strike).
|
Q: How many of a specific demographic group are required to carry out a simple task?
A: An arbitrary number. One to carry out the task in question, and the remainder to act in a manner stereotypical of the group.
My Blog |
|
 |
 |
|