Switch Theme:

Tank Shock vs Zoenthrope Death or Glory  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Plaguebearer with a Flu




Atlanta, GA


If a zoenthrope is tank shocked, can it use one of its physic shooting attack as a Death or Glory attack?

I imagine you would take a physic test and auto hit if you could.

I could not find anything that went one way or the other in the rules.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







eimaj wrote:If a zoenthrope is tank shocked, can it use one of its physic shooting attack as a Death or Glory attack?

I imagine you would take a physic test and auto hit if you could.

I could not find anything that went one way or the other in the rules.
Yes and Yes.

Page 50 states: Using a psychic shooting attack counts as firing a ranged weapon.
Page 69 states: The attack can be either a shot from a weapon carried by the model, or a single close combat attack using any weapon carried, including grenades.

Therefore, one can use a Psychic shooting attack when making a Death or Glory attempt.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/18 13:52:15


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Interesting question, really. D&G allows a shot from a ranged weapon or a melee attack - PSA "counts as" firing a ranged weapon. Would make sense that a psyker blast the tank instead of hitting it with his forehead I guess.

Enemies would probably also be able to use a Psychic Hood or similar then?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Spetulhu wrote:Enemies would probably also be able to use a Psychic Hood or similar then?
Yes. It is still a psychic power, so can be negated as normal by Psychic Hoods and similar.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Columbia, SC

Let's complicate it some more-- assume it passes the check, and blows up the vehicle.

If I tank shock it again (because I'm secretly a masochist), can it use the power again? or does the 1/turn preclude that?




 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







kartofelkopf wrote:Let's complicate it some more-- assume it passes the check, and blows up the vehicle.

If I tank shock it again (because I'm secretly a masochist), can it use the power again? or does the 1/turn preclude that?
The one per turn precludes that. The fact it can even use the power at all is because they can use one per PLAYER turn, as opposed to game turn.

If you tank shock it again, it cannot now use another psychic power as it has already used up it's allotment for the turn. If it was a squad of psykers however, such as 3 Zoanthropes, a Different model could attempt to use the psychic power as that specific model has not used any that turn.

Of course if he/she/it/gfhtzjs can use two, three or eighty five powers per turn, they could use a Psychic Shooting attack again, as the rules for tank shock allow you to fire a weapon even if you have alreadt fired one in that movement phase, since the rules for tank shock are more specific than the general shooting rules.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/18 13:58:03


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You can use the power again, as you aer only prohibited from using a weapon more than once in your own shooting phase - DoG is "special" in many ways....
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:You can use the power again, as you aer only prohibited from using a weapon more than once in your own shooting phase - DoG is "special" in many ways....
I disagree. You can use a weapon again, but you are not permitted to use another psychic power again.

Its a case of DoG removing one restriction (1 weapon per turn) but NOT removing the other (1 Power per turn), the same way as Fleet removes 1 Restriction for assault (You cannot have Ran) but not any other (you cannot have disembarked from a non open topped vehicle that moved).

Also, this is a Hoversnail. Your Argument is thus Invalid.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/18 14:01:37


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hmm, guess you're right on that...you could use the "weapon" but not the startup sequence (psychic power) needed to get the weapon to do anything.

So the second tank gets a Zoey headbut....
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:You can use the power again, as you aer only prohibited from using a weapon more than once in your own shooting phase - DoG is "special" in many ways....


DoG is special in many ways, however it does not magically create another player turn in which the same PSA can be used in... DoG is in fact a special case, yes, but not magical. If the model can only use 1 Psychic ability per turn, then it can only use one psychic ability per turn.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I guess you didnt read the rest of the thread where i acknowledged that...
   
Made in ca
Hellacious Havoc





Canada

So what happens if the Psychic Power is negated by a Psychic Hood?

Is then the model making the DoG attack removed as a casualty because it failed to immobilize or destroy the vehicle?

I play:

1000 pt Sons of Calthus
1000 pt Splinter Fleet Goliath 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Frostreaver wrote:So what happens if the Psychic Power is negated by a Psychic Hood?

Is then the model making the DoG attack removed as a casualty because it failed to immobilize or destroy the vehicle?


Yes
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Frostreaver wrote:So what happens if the Psychic Power is negated by a Psychic Hood?

Is then the model making the DoG attack removed as a casualty because it failed to immobilize or destroy the vehicle?
Yes. The vehicle hardly stopped now, did it?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Okay, let me see if I got this right...

Using a psychic shooting attack counts as firing a weapon.

You can normally only shoot a weapon once a turn.

You can normally only use one psychic power turn.

DoG allows you to fire a weapon, so therefor you can use a psychic shooting attack.

DoG allows you to make multiple shots as long as get tank shocked multiple times.

So why would DoG not allow you to make multiple psychic shooting attacks?

My thought would be if you are allowed to use a psychic shooting attack at all you could make multiples if it arises.




   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







loomisc wrote:Okay, let me see if I got this right...

Using a psychic shooting attack counts as firing a weapon.

You can normally only shoot a weapon once a turn.

You can normally only use one psychic power turn.

DoG allows you to fire a weapon, so therefor you can use a psychic shooting attack.

DoG allows you to make multiple shots as long as get tank shocked multiple times.

So why would DoG not allow you to make multiple psychic shooting attacks?

My thought would be if you are allowed to use a psychic shooting attack at all you could make multiples if it arises.
Because DoG does not allow you to use multiple Psychic Powers.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

loomisc wrote:Okay, let me see if I got this right...

Using a psychic shooting attack counts as firing a weapon.

You can normally only shoot a weapon once a turn.

You can normally only use one psychic power turn.

DoG allows you to fire a weapon, so therefor you can use a psychic shooting attack.

DoG allows you to make multiple shots as long as get tank shocked multiple times.

So why would DoG not allow you to make multiple psychic shooting attacks?

My thought would be if you are allowed to use a psychic shooting attack at all you could make multiples if it arises.





Does DoG allow you to make multiple psychic tests in a turn? If not, you cannot "fire" a psychic shooting attack, no matter how many "shooting" attacks you're allowed.

It's the same reason that Hive Tyrant's can't use two psychic shooting attacks while the Swarmlord can - he is allowed to use two powers before he is allowed to shoot two weapons. The normal tyrant is allowed to shoot two weapons which may be psychic shooting attacks, but is not allowed to use two powers in the same turn.

Edit: Damn. Ninja'd.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/19 21:14:40


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Just noting that I've always played Warptime incorrectly since I missed the "player turn" part.

I could've used it twice as often, and I use it a lot as-is.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Can't argue with the hoversnail. I guess the 'thropes would just have to move if they've run out of PSAs.


I am Blue/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both orderly and rational. I value control, information, and order. I love structure and hierarchy, and will actively use whatever power or knowledge I have to maintain it. At best, I am lawful and insightful; at worst, I am bureaucratic and tyrannical.
 
   
Made in gb
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





Sheffield, England

My say on this is:


MOER CUPC4KES.

Uhm, yes, valid point also..



I rest my case.

- Hive Fleet Kraken 2500pt

- Coldstrike Cadre 1600pt

Black Templars Epsilon Crusade 1500pt 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: