| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 02:38:39
Subject: disembark and assult question.
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Scotland
|
Recently during a battle a friend whipped out something from his arse which is either amazing or blindly stupid. (I suspect the latter)
Anyways the point is. If you move your tank 6" disembark troops, stay within 1" of the tank. Can that unit then be assaulted?
I question this because a friend of mine done it to me, I declared an assault with my kroot on his marines and he stated the rule "that you cannot come within 1inch of a model unless assaulting it" and I would either have to assault the tank or not at all, so I contested it and then measured to see if I would infact be within 1inch and low and behold I would of.
So my questions are.
Was what he done a legal move?
Is it true I cannot assault his unit?
|
~You can sleep when you're dead.~
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 02:47:31
Subject: disembark and assult question.
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
It would depend on how you've lined it up...
If you were at the front of the rhino, and he deployed the guys at the back of the rhino, its a sad fact that no, you would have had to assault through the rhino (remembering you must take the shortest route to the enemy in assaulting, cant go around obstacles.)
If you were towards the side and he was disembarked at the back, then you might have the same problem, however you would most likely have been able to multiple assault him, declare assault on the rhino/tank AND the squad, you get to allocate hits and the point becomes moot.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/19 02:48:32
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 02:51:47
Subject: disembark and assult question.
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Scotland
|
Ah sorry I did not mention the exact line up.
here is an example X my troops, Y his and Z is tank.
(he deployed from back and I was facing the back of his tank also.)
xxxxx
xxxxx
yyyyy
...z
And thank you for the multiple assult tip it had slipped my mind.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/19 02:54:57
~You can sleep when you're dead.~
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 02:53:58
Subject: Re:disembark and assult question.
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
Los Angeles, CA
|
You are allowed to break the one inch rule while assaulting. This is the same rule that allows models to weave through enemy models to assault those behind them, so long as their bases are able to physically fit through the gaps.
|
Eldritch Raiders 2500
Ogre Kingdoms 1500
LotR-Mordor 750 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 03:01:09
Subject: disembark and assult question.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
syanticraven wrote:... and he stated the rule "that you cannot come within 1inch of a model unless assaulting it"
He's a little confused. You can not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting (page 11). Note that it does not refer to assaulting that model... you just have to be assaulting something.
The rules for moving assaulting models specifically over-ride the 1" rule (page 34, 'Moving Assaulting Models' first paragraph) and states that you may not move into base contact with an enemy model you are not assaulting.
So moving within 1" of the tank when assaulting the unit is fine.
Moving into base contact with the tank, unless you are assaulting it, is not.
Additionally, if the models are standing beside the tank, as 25mm bases are only a bare fraction of an inch less than 1" across, unless his models are in base contact with his tank, you don't have to move within 1" of the tank to assault them. And even if they are in base contact with the tank, bringing up the '25mm is less than an inch' argument in the middle of a game is practically guaranteed to see that you never get a rematch.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 03:06:29
Subject: disembark and assult question.
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Scotland
|
Ah, okay thank you for clearing that up. I shall correct him on this.
thanks again
|
~You can sleep when you're dead.~
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 08:50:11
Subject: disembark and assult question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
He's thinking of 4th ed, where the "unassaultable formation" did exist.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 10:26:01
Subject: disembark and assult question.
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Seriphis wrote:
If you were at the front of the rhino, and he deployed the guys at the back of the rhino, its a sad fact that no, you would have had to assault through the rhino (remembering you must take the shortest route to the enemy in assaulting, cant go around obstacles.)
I don't know that that is true, either.
The shortest route is not always a straight line-- if there was a pillar (or impassable terrain of any kind) directly between the assaulting models, I believe you can still assault. The requirement is the most direct path, not a straight line.
X P E
X = Assaulting unit
P = Pillar
E = Enemy
The 'straight line' standard would make assaulting a unit on a different level impossible, as you couldn't move in a straight line to get into BTB with the other model.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 21:00:55
Subject: disembark and assult question.
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Scotland
|
You have to take the shortest 'possible' route. If it is impossible to go in a straight line then you must move around the obstacle in the shortest way possible. It would only be an illegal move if the move therefore becomes more then 6"s
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/19 21:01:10
~You can sleep when you're dead.~
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/19 22:50:21
Subject: disembark and assult question.
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Unless Beasts/Cavalry were charging, a more accurate statement is the assault would fail if the shortest route was longer than the assault distance of the slowest model in the unit.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|