| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/20 08:36:10
Subject: IC and unit embarked...
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
If an IC and unit are in a rhino together that has moved, the unit can disembark separately from the IC, but would they not still be considered within the 2" of unit coherency since you would be measuring to the hull of the vehicle for purposes of measuring to the embarked IC?
So the only time you could keep a IC in a transport while the unit disembarks would be if the transport did not move in the movement phase, correct?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/20 10:12:02
Subject: IC and unit embarked...
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Brother Ramses wrote:If an IC and unit are in a rhino together that has moved, the unit can disembark separately from the IC, but would they not still be considered within the 2" of unit coherency since you would be measuring to the hull of the vehicle for purposes of measuring to the embarked IC?
So the only time you could keep a IC in a transport while the unit disembarks would be if the transport did not move in the movement phase, correct? RaW, you are correct.
However, there is not a single person who plays like that.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/20 12:28:22
Subject: IC and unit embarked...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above - in the same way people dont normally stop the IC from standing next to a vehicle (a unit they cannot join) or a unit of always one model like a Wraithlord.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/20 17:57:55
Subject: IC and unit embarked...
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
Gwar! wrote:Brother Ramses wrote:If an IC and unit are in a rhino together that has moved, the unit can disembark separately from the IC, but would they not still be considered within the 2" of unit coherency since you would be measuring to the hull of the vehicle for purposes of measuring to the embarked IC?
So the only time you could keep a IC in a transport while the unit disembarks would be if the transport did not move in the movement phase, correct? RaW, you are correct.
However, there is not a single person who plays like that.
The reason I bring this up is a Sang Priest extending his bubble by measuring from the hull of the vehicle he remains in while the unit he was previously attached to assaults, Land Raider size base to measure bubble of FnP and FC.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/20 18:01:13
Subject: IC and unit embarked...
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Brother Ramses wrote:Gwar! wrote:Brother Ramses wrote:If an IC and unit are in a rhino together that has moved, the unit can disembark separately from the IC, but would they not still be considered within the 2" of unit coherency since you would be measuring to the hull of the vehicle for purposes of measuring to the embarked IC?
So the only time you could keep a IC in a transport while the unit disembarks would be if the transport did not move in the movement phase, correct? RaW, you are correct.
However, there is not a single person who plays like that.
The reason I bring this up is a Sang Priest extending his bubble by measuring from the hull of the vehicle he remains in while the unit he was previously attached to assaults, Land Raider size base to measure bubble of FnP and FC.
Well, as I said, no-one plays it like this.
Extending the Bubble is perfectly fine, and is well covered in the rules. The rules also explicitly say the unit can Disembark while the IC remains embarked.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/20 18:09:27
Subject: IC and unit embarked...
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
It does say they can disembark, but the also says that they must be farther then 2" from the IC if they want to seperate.
If the IC were to stay in the vehicle the distance to the IC would then be measured from the hull which they could not get if the transport moved.
Also it specifically says that the IC cannot join or leave a unit in the movement or assault phases.
Yea, when I use my Rune Priest in a LRR, his Storm Caller and Tempest Wrath are measured from the hull thus getting the extra distance. Automatically Appended Next Post: But like you said, RAW correct, played not.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/20 18:12:55
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|