Switch Theme:

Dedicated transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee






Hi guys,

Can someone just clarify something for me please about dedicated transports.

For example with an Ork Battle wagon. If you take it as a dedicated transport for something, does it also take up a heavy support slot?

Thanks?

13th of 300 Blood Bowl GT '08
7000
3500
1500
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

No, it dies not. A dedicated transport 'shares' the force org slot with whatever unit you buy it for and nothing else.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







mikeyboyj wrote:Hi guys,

Can someone just clarify something for me please about dedicated transports.

For example with an Ork Battle wagon. If you take it as a dedicated transport for something, does it also take up a heavy support slot?

Thanks?
No, Dedicated Transports never take up a FoC Selection.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver






But would that transport fall under the slot if in a mission you have to destroy all your enemies heavy supports in the case of dedicated land raiders?
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Kurgash wrote:But would that transport fall under the slot if in a mission you have to destroy all your enemies heavy supports in the case of dedicated land raiders?


It's not a Heavy Support choice.
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver






Ok, was just a conflict because it comes from the heavy support options but is not taken as a choice, the guy argued it was still considered a HS for terms of mission rules.
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

He was wrong.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yeah, pretty simply he was wrong. It actually counts as whatever slot the Unit it was bought for is.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

yup, no slot cost. that is the *only* benefit a dedicated transport gets. somehow people keep thinking they get additional benefits like not counting for killpoints which is totally false.
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

Gwar! wrote:Yeah, pretty simply he was wrong. It actually counts as whatever slot the Unit it was bought for is.


+1 if it was purchased for troops it counts a troop unit.. likewise for elites and hq's
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee






Thanks all,

Also is it right that you can take a dedicated transport for a unit - and then start a different unit embarked in it?

Or do you have to deploy them next to each other and get the other unit in it on your first turn?

Thanks

13th of 300 Blood Bowl GT '08
7000
3500
1500
 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Dedicated transports can deploy empty, or carrying the unit they were bought with.

You can't buy a dedicated transport for unit A and deploy unit B inside it, but you can deploy the tranpsort empty, parked in front of unit B so they can hop in during your first movement phase.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Page 67* tells you *exactly* how dedicated transport differ to normal transports - you cannot deploy a unit inside it unless it was the unit that bougght the DT [and any attached ICs]

*pretty certain it is this page, there is a big "box out"
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

forkbanger wrote:Dedicated transports can deploy empty, or carrying the unit they were bought with.

You can't buy a dedicated transport for unit A and deploy unit B inside it, but you can deploy the tranpsort empty, parked in front of unit B so they can hop in during your first movement phase.

...unless the codex states that the dedicated transport may only carry it's dedicated unit, in which case other units may not embark in it. Most transports do not have this condition, however.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Only one that I can think of, which is DH who did not have the same update as WH.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: