Switch Theme:

Big Mek Kustom Force Field Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Hi guys!

During my latest game, a marine player i was playing decided to (rather mercilessly) unload a land raider crusader into a squad of my Ork Boyz. This was cool, happens all the time. However, In another Ork unit next to the targetted unit, was another ork Boy unit containing a Big Mek with Custom Force field. Once he had rolled to wound, i went to make my cover saves (5+ as conferred by the Mek's force field), when my opponent said that only models within the 6 inch force field radius would be eligible for the save. I can see his point (true LOS and all is applicable here too I guess), so I ended up removing extra Orks as casualties. Was this right? Or does the whole unit benefit from the field?

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Da Kustem Force field rulz sayz dis

"A Kustom Force field gives all Units within 6" of the mek a 5+ cover save"

Unit is defined as a group of models that act as a single entity on the table.


ur friend was bein a big Git.

da 'ntire mob gits da save, even if only one boy iz wifin 6"

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Columbia, SC

Yeah, you just need a single model within 6" to get the save.




 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

1 Model within 6" and him every other model in his unit gets the save.

- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Thanks guys for your speedy responses!

The immediate temptation is to pack them orkz tight!

On the other hand, is that a vindicator I see over there?

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in ca
Flashy Flashgitz





Why didn't you say your putting all the wounds on the models in that 6" area ?
   
Made in se
Malicious Mutant Scum



Dakka, the home of YMDC-idiocy and buttards

Minor hijacking:

"bla bla bla gives ALL units a 5+ cover save yada yada"

This meaning both friendly and hostiles?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

No. As explained in the Rulebook FAQ, an army's special rules only apply to themselves unless it actually specifies that it affects enemy units.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







To confirm, you only need a single model within 6", and the whole unit has the cover save.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: