Switch Theme:

Retnue wounds, Carryover to IC?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Santa Rosa, CA.

The wargear wolves become a Retinue, so attacking the wolves causes the wounds to spill over to the WolfLord


I could not find any rules for IC and their retnue assigning wounds. All the BRB says with the retnue, the IC is considered a upgraded model.
Until the retnue is gone, model becomes a IC again.
I believe the infantry carryover is the same for a retnue.

Models with special gear roll thier own saves and not effected by the saves / wounds taken from the "same type" troopers.
Example: A IC with a 3 model retnue is Hit and Wounded 6 times. 2 wounds on each model. The IC makes his 2 saves. Model "A "make 2 saves, Model "B" =1save 1 no save. model "C" fails 2 saves.
IC OK no wounds. The 3 failed saves is carried over to the Retnue troops and all 3 are killed. The IC is uneffected by them.
If Retnue model "A" has a flamer, he would be counted seperate and no wounds wold be carried over.
I like to get a \ruling and be able to show what page that rule/ exception is on.

"When you beat a Sisters of Battle army, All you have done is, Beat a bunch of Girls"
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







If you're playing using the GW Space Wolf FAQ http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m800008a_FAQ_SpaceWolves_Jan2010 then the wolves are NOT a retinue. The statement that the wolves are not a retinue is on the second page.

As far as the "spill over" comment goes, I'm going to assume that who ever wrote that comment meant "If the character and the retinue were attacked, then it's possible that sufficient wounds would be caused to force wounds to be allocated to the character by the player" rather than "If too many wolves die, then the character has to take the extra suffered wounds."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/21 23:39:24


 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

There aren't "carryover" wounds any more. An IC or unit takes the wounds it was assigned, and no more. If 7 wounds kills 5 guys with an IC attached, those extra two wounds simply disappear.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Santa Rosa, CA.

"If 7 wounds kills 5 guys with an IC attached, those extra two wounds simply disappear. " That is what I wanted to see. thanks
I only go to Dakka for all my 40K info ect. I guess I should check GW also.

"When you beat a Sisters of Battle army, All you have done is, Beat a bunch of Girls"
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

The rulebook is the best place for 40k info

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






NM didn't read the whole question

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/22 06:09:21


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

An IC without a retinue is treated as a separate unit for working out attacks. If an enemy unit is attacking your unit in CC, they must have models in base to base with the character, and they must allocate attacks specifically to the independent character.

An IC *with* a retinue is treated as an upgrade character. Lets say he's with two retinue models, and they both have the same gear as one another. This unit takes 5 wounds. The defending player places 4 wounds on the retinue, and one on the IC (one per model, then the extra two wounds on the retinue). The retinue can fail all 5 saves, without any of those wounds being counted against the IC.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

willydstyle wrote:An IC without a retinue is treated as a separate unit for working out attacks. If an enemy unit is attacking your unit in CC, they must have models in base to base with the character, and they must allocate attacks specifically to the independent character.


Except you can't specifically target him because he's not an IC when in a retinue.

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

I guess the space between the two halves of my post told you "stop reading here?"

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in se
Brainy Zoanthrope




Sweden

willydstyle wrote:

An IC *with* a retinue is treated as an upgrade character. Lets say he's with two retinue models, and they both have the same gear as one another. This unit takes 5 wounds. The defending player places 4 wounds on the retinue, and one on the IC (one per model, then the extra two wounds on the retinue). The retinue can fail all 5 saves, without any of those wounds being counted against the IC.


I guess you meant to say fail all 4 saves allocated to the retinue, following your example. If the IC fail his save then, obviously, he takes a wound.

 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






willydstyle wrote:An IC *with* a retinue is treated as an upgrade character. Lets say he's with two retinue models, and they both have the same gear as one another. This unit takes 5 wounds. The defending player places 4 wounds on the retinue, and one on the IC (one per model, then the extra two wounds on the retinue). The retinue can fail all 5 saves, without any of those wounds being counted against the IC.


The last line of this is not true.

All 5 wounds went to 3 models that means each model is assigned 1 wound and the remaining 2 are assigned again to the retinue models. Those 4 saves are rolled as one and cannot effect the Character. The final wound is saved by the Character itself and if failed the character takes the wound. So if all 5 fail then the character will indeed take a wound.

Just to note even if the retinue has 1W apiece and takes 4 saves and fails all 4 saves the character will not receive any of those wounds.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Warboss Tufgrim wrote:
willydstyle wrote:

An IC *with* a retinue is treated as an upgrade character. Lets say he's with two retinue models, and they both have the same gear as one another. This unit takes 5 wounds. The defending player places 4 wounds on the retinue, and one on the IC (one per model, then the extra two wounds on the retinue). The retinue can fail all 5 saves, without any of those wounds being counted against the IC.


I guess you meant to say fail all 4 saves allocated to the retinue, following your example. If the IC fail his save then, obviously, he takes a wound.


Yes, this is true, it should say that the retinue can fail all 4 saves.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Santa Rosa, CA.

I am dislexic, words of text change around. I am sure there are other dakkers' with learning disabilities.
The beginning of the forum it says "can't find the rule in the BRB."
I would like to thank the people who posted real input ans/or their interpitations of the rules. the bickering over a typo or getting snippy is not real helpful. Pointing out a mistake is OK. I guess it is the way all forums go.

Wargear Wolves add a new unit type to the game. They are not a retnue and just another unit. This does explain how the Carryover works. The unit with (same equipped) like models only effects them and not the Sarg and special weapons.
{ I expect to catch hell for this}
I liked playing Wrong, it is more fun. We used the diagram in the BRB pg 25,w/o reading the text rules above.
We like the placing the wound dice next to each model and rolling for each one. Each models only had to make it's saves and not all the other troopers in the unit.
We lose the game slower.

"When you beat a Sisters of Battle army, All you have done is, Beat a bunch of Girls"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: