Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/26 04:24:24
Subject: Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
|
Hello all. This happened in one of the games I played awhile back. My opponent was playing Daemons and I was playing Imperial Guard. It was seize ground with five objectives and pitched battle. I won the roll and had him deploy first. There were no issues for five turns.
However, on my turn five, I moved one of my Hellhounds at cruising speed in an attempt to contest one of my opponent's objectives. On my opponent's turn six, he assaulted my vehicle with a monstrous creature. Since I moved it at cruising speed, he needed 6's to hit my model. Unfortunately, his model was able to stun my Hellhound with one of its attacks.
On my turn six, since my Hellhound was stunned, I could not move away from the Daemon Prince. Attempts to destroy the foul creature of Chaos in the shooting phase also failed. At the beginning of my assault phase, the monstrous creature was still in contact with the Hellhound. What does my opponent need to roll to hit my Hellhound with his Daemon Prince? Is it 6's (since I moved it at cruising speed during its previous turn) or is it an auto-hit (since I did not move it during my movement phase of the current turn)? Thank you.
|
Verloren ist nur, wer sich selbst aufgibt. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/26 05:05:00
Subject: Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
crap, misread the q, as its a vehicle it cant be locked in combat, and as such wont be able to attack your vehicle until his assault phase when he assaults the vehicle again.
At which point he will hit it automatically.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/26 05:06:07
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/26 05:13:19
Subject: Re:Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Auto-hit, you didn't move in your movement phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/26 06:32:47
Subject: Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
He could have made CC attacks against it in your assault phase as well.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/26 08:15:48
Subject: Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
kill dem stunties wrote:crap, misread the q, as its a vehicle it cant be locked in combat, and as such wont be able to attack your vehicle until his assault phase when he assaults the vehicle again.
At which point he will hit it automatically.
No, you can still attack an opponent's vehicle in your assault phase if you are still in contact with it.
BlueDagger wrote:Auto-hit, you didn't move in your movement phase.
But he DID move in his movement phase, just not in the opponent's. Which he couldn't regardless of damage result.
I would say, in this case, he would be auto-hitted, as he is currently unable to move.
|
If you can keep your head, while all about you are losing their's, then you have probably completely misunderstood the situation!
6,000pts
5,500pts
3,500pts
2,500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/26 08:23:55
Subject: Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
192.168.4.20
|
I agree that it would be an auto-hit in both assault phases after the initial Stunned result. The tank didn't move in the IG movement phase, hence would be hit automatically by the daemon prince in the IG assault phase and again in the Chaos assault phase... I could be wrong, but I think that's right.
|
''if you try the best you can, the best you can is good enough''
-
''People will call me a failure. Others, however, will call me the world's sexiest killing machine, who's fun at parties.''
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/26 11:23:14
Subject: Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
Philadelphia, PA, USA
|
UltraPrime wrote:kill dem stunties wrote:crap, misread the q, as its a vehicle it cant be locked in combat, and as such wont be able to attack your vehicle until his assault phase when he assaults the vehicle again.
At which point he will hit it automatically.
No, you can still attack an opponent's vehicle in your assault phase if you are still in contact with it.
I don't think many people realize that. For anyone caught off guard by that, it's made pretty clear at the top right of pg 62 in the BRB.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/26 11:35:54
Subject: Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
IG Player turn: vehicle moves over 6"
Daemon player turn: assaults vehicles, hits on 6s, stuns vehicle
IG PLayer turn: vehicle cannot move
So in the IG player turn, assault phase, you consult the chart which asks if the vehicle moved in its previous movement phase (which it did not) or if it is immobilised (which it is not) - either one being true results in being hit automatically.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/26 12:09:40
Subject: Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yes, it is automatically hit.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/26 13:23:16
Subject: Re:Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
Auto-Hit
It's a tactic i use with my trygons and carnifexes frequently. It really helps when you don't have to eat up another very crucial assault move just to waylay a tank you're already next to.
|
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/27 05:10:57
Subject: Re:Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
|
Thank you for responding.
I noticed under the "Vehicles and Assaults" section in the BRB on pg 63, a target is automatically hit if it is Immobilized (not the issue) or was stationary in its previous turn. When the BRB mentions the target's previous turn, does that refer to my last turn (my turn five), my opponent's turn six, or my unfinished turn six. Obviously, the vehicle would be hit automatically on my opponents turn seven as I could not move my Hellhound on my turn six.
I know this sounds like I am trying to be a rules lawyer. However, I am trying to understand how the rule works. Thanks again.
|
Verloren ist nur, wer sich selbst aufgibt. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/27 06:14:52
Subject: Re:Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
Los Angeles, CA
|
it refers to your most recent movement phase. The one in which you were stunned and were unable to move. Automatically Appended Next Post: And not to be a dick, but I'm not sure how you could have interpreted that "previous movement phase" refers to the one you hadn't yet executed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/27 06:18:01
Eldritch Raiders 2500
Ogre Kingdoms 1500
LotR-Mordor 750 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/27 07:37:07
Subject: Re:Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
|
Falconlance wrote:it refers to your most recent movement phase. The one in which you were stunned and were unable to move.
And not to be a dick, but I'm not sure how you could have interpreted that "previous movement phase" refers to the one you hadn't yet executed.
That's just it; the BRB mentions the model's previous turn and not the model's movement phase. It would have been much clearer if the BRB stated that a target is automatically hit if it is immobilized or was stationary in its previous movement phase. Its all good though, the consensus from everyone that posted said it was auto-hit. Thanks again.
|
Verloren ist nur, wer sich selbst aufgibt. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/27 08:38:38
Subject: Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
I does not refer to your most recent movement phase.
Previous turn means exactly that, meaning the vehicle would still be hit on 6s as long as it wasn't immobilized as it moved at cruising speed in its previous turn.
I agree this is an awkward ruling though and I would be fine with a house rule.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/27 09:12:17
Subject: Re:Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Now here is a question if said DP had FC would he get the +1 str?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/27 09:39:43
Subject: Stunned vehicles in subsequent assaults
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
I does not refer to your most recent movement phase.
Previous turn means exactly that, meaning the vehicle would still be hit on 6s as long as it wasn't immobilized as it moved at cruising speed in its previous turn.
I agree this is an awkward ruling though and I would be fine with a house rule.
I think this is the closest to RaW but clearly not the intention of the rule. The bizarre side effect would be he would hit you auto on your turn 7 even if you moved the vehcile say arround his base (so you remained in contact not that you would but you could, and obviously assuming you survived his turn 7)...
Which I think illustrates how wrong this ruling is. But by RaW it does seem correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|