Switch Theme:

A few rule queries  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

In a recent game me and my mate come on a situation where he had fired his flamer at one of my units, however the template also hit another unit except that unit was behind a wall which you cannot get LOS too.

So:

YYYY
____

XXX

FFF

F = firing unit and Y is behind the wall which has no LOS too, at all. I said that you cannot shoot through it and a flamer would just stop and hit the wall - bullets and flames cannot go through walls. We rolled for it and he won.

So which way is right? Can the flamer template cover a unit even though something is stopping it i.e a wall.

Next one is the Hive Tyrants leech essence. It says the Tyrant gets a wound back for each wound inflicted on the enemy. That says to me every wound caused regains a wound, doesn't mention that the enemy unit has to fail a armour for the Tyrant go get the wound back. When you roll to wound you inflict a wound on enemy models, and as mentioned the rule doesn't say wound back for failed armour saves.


warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Flamers. They go over/through walls just fine.

Leech. If they have and pass their save, he does not get a wound.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







mercer wrote:So which way is right? Can the flamer template cover a unit even though something is stopping it i.e a wall.
He was right, you were wrong.

Next one is the Hive Tyrants leech essence. It says the Tyrant gets a wound back for each wound inflicted on the enemy. That says to me every wound caused regains a wound, doesn't mention that the enemy unit has to fail a armour for the Tyrant go get the wound back. When you roll to wound you inflict a wound on enemy models, and as mentioned the rule doesn't say wound back for failed armour saves.
If they pass their saves, they have not suffered a wound, so the tyrant will not get a wound back.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Hmmmm fire through walls, who would say! lol.

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Until they fail any save they can take, they have not suffered a wound, merely had a wounding hit inflicted on them.
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

That's what the rule says. Any wound inflicted on them. Doesn't mention they have to fail the save. So from your wounds it appears the Tyrant does get a wound back because a wound has been inflicted, not suffered.

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







mercer wrote:That's what the rule says. Any wound inflicted on them. Doesn't mention they have to fail the save. So from your wounds it appears the Tyrant does get a wound back because a wound has been inflicted, not suffered.
Except wounds are never inflicted either until the model fails it save, Until it fails its save, it has suffered a wounding hit, not a wound.

By your logic if a 1 wound model suffers a wounding hit, he dies whether or not he passes his save.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Well the wound is inflicted because it's inflicted on the model; they just have to save it Once failed it has suffered a wound.

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







mercer wrote:Well the wound is inflicted because it's inflicted on the model; they just have to save it Once failed it has suffered a wound.
But it is not. A Wounding HIT is inflicted. A Wound is only caused if they fail their save.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Give up, Gwar, he doesn't WANT to understand the difference. Notice the other army was firing the flamers, so one guess as to who was playing Nids..................

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

mercer wrote: Can the flamer template cover a unit even though something is stopping it i.e a wall.


The answer to this one is actually 'Yes, and no'...

The template can cover models in the unit that are behind the wall. But in order for the unit to be selected as a target, the firing model needs to have LOS to at least one model in the unit.

The Template Weapon rules give no exception to the normal rules requiring LOS to select the unit as a target.


So if at least one model behind the wall can be seen, the Template can be placed over the unit. If at least one model can not be seen, the unit is not a valid target, so can not be shot.

 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

He shot the unit infront of the wall as a main target and then legally placed the template over it what else the template hit has no bearing on LOS.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






P19 of the rule book says that if you fail your 'to wound' role you may have inflicted a superficial graze or a flesh wound. Would you like to argue that those count as well?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

No.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

HoverBoy wrote:He shot the unit infront of the wall as a main target and then legally placed the template over it what else the template hit has no bearing on LOS.


Yeah, I missed the 'X' unit in front of the wall as the actual target. First coffee of the day and all...

 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

mercer wrote:Well the wound is inflicted because it's inflicted on the model; they just have to save it Once failed it has suffered a wound.


Why argue something that no opponent will ever let you do? (especially when you seem to be aware that it is incorrect.)

That said: Flamers still need LOS to a target, but if they hit a secondary target behind cover...it doesn't matter. (Hits are for units under the template, flamers ignore cover.)

DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Scotland

The flamer ignores all cover saves and any unit under its template are hit (as long as the primary target is hit aswell) otherwise it counts as a straight miss.
Unless it is like blasts in that it still hits what ever it touchs even if the primary is missed.

Unless they have a special rule that says otherwise.


Also "P19 of the rule book says that if you fail your 'to wound' role you may have inflicted a superficial graze or a flesh wound. Would you like to argue that those count as well? "

This is not a rule it is just to help you justify the model not dying. It still does not count as a 'Wound' so would not count.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/27 02:47:13


~You can sleep when you're dead.~
 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

mercer wrote:Well the wound is inflicted because it's inflicted on the model; they just have to save it Once failed it has suffered a wound.


As a tyranid player i am ashamed to even remotely be associated with that statement


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





UK

Flamers would probably either send flames around the wall, or be so hot as to melt the stonework.

   
Made in ca
Elite Tyranid Warrior



Ontario

Or that the soldier is flaming up and over the wall dropping globs of flaming promethium on you.

My favorite is when the flamer can just see an enemy unit behind very high or impassable terrain and can shoot through it to hit the guys behind it. Flamers are broken rules wise.
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

don_mondo wrote:Give up, Gwar, he doesn't WANT to understand the difference. Notice the other army was firing the flamers, so one guess as to who was playing Nids..................


I was playing Nidz, I was playing CSM. Don't presume things

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

mercer wrote:
don_mondo wrote:Give up, Gwar, he doesn't WANT to understand the difference. Notice the other army was firing the flamers, so one guess as to who was playing Nids..................


I was playing Nidz, I was playing CSM. Don't presume things


Playing yourself, were you? Point still stands, it's been explained.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

No, I wasn't playing myself. Try reading the battle report section and you'll see I was playing someone else. Do you want a link because you can see my imaginary friend there.

Regardless of whether it's been explained don't presume I was playing nids. So I'm not entitled to question why, yeah?

Perhaps stop being an aggressive cock smith, yeah? The answer is the answer that's fine. No need for your douchebag attitude.

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

mercer wrote: cock smith, yeah? The answer is the answer that's fine. No need for your douchebag attitude.


Only some kind of tactical genius could say something as this...Mercer must be...CREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED

DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Did you fail to understand that sentence?

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




192.168.4.20

I mean this in the nicest way possible, and without any intent to offend anyone, but this thread really needs to take a rage dump...

''if you try the best you can, the best you can is good enough''
-
''People will call me a failure. Others, however, will call me the world's sexiest killing machine, who's fun at parties.''
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

mercer wrote:No, I wasn't playing myself.


You're the one that said it, not me. Look at the quote I referenced. Nuff said?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
.







Ugh.

Closed.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: