Switch Theme:

Table Edge Question - How Do Reserves Work in Apocalypse?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nasty Nob







Hey all,

So we all know how reserves work in regular 40K. They come on from your table edge.

But playing Apoc recently, we started a huge game and the no-man's land split the board in such a way that Imperials had most of the board and Chaos had a little corner. Ah well, who cares, right?

But when it was time to bring on reserves, Imperials claimed that technically, they had portions of all four table edges and could bring their troops on anywhere - except for that little corner where Chaos originally deployed. Chaos thought that instead, they owned one long table edge and that the Imperials owned another.

So the book doesn't seem to say. In a situation like this, where do reserves come on in Apocalypse?

TYRANID ARMY and more for sale. Many Price Drops. 40K and More.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/662336.page

Orks is never beaten.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







With my usual caveat of "It's Apoc, make it up", I would say that each side gets 1 long board edge.

It is, however, something you should have agreed on before the game started.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

This is covered in the last paragraph of the Strategic Reserves rules. They come on from anywhere along the table edges inside that sides deployment zone.

So the Imperials would have been able to come on from any table edge... but only those parts of the edges that are actually inside their zone.

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






The Apoc books say that units may enter play along the table edge of the deployment zone.

It's a bit vague but I'd take that as meaning that it's the same as in 40K - each side owns one long edge.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Scott-S6 wrote:The Apoc books say that units may enter play along the table edge of the deployment zone.


It actually says edges, plural. 'The' is not inherently singular.

 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Bristol, UK

And how can one side have a small table edge? I understand that deployment zones are not equal, but the system for selecting them means you randomly pick one point with the scatter dice, and the other is at the furthest possible point away. This should lead to adequate deployment zones.

If you can keep your head, while all about you are losing their's, then you have probably completely misunderstood the situation!

6,000pts
5,500pts
3,500pts
2,500pts 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






Decide beforehand. If I was forced to make a call on your example, I would probably say Chaos had half of each board edge in it's corner and the imps the same on the opposite corner. That's in no way RAW, but it sounds fair to me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/26 22:41:51


 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






insaniak wrote:
Scott-S6 wrote:The Apoc books say that units may enter play along the table edge of the deployment zone.


It actually says edges, plural. 'The' is not inherently singular.

P199 "the table edge" singular.
P23 "the table edges" plural.

Well, that's just brilliant.

The plural on p23 is pretty definitive I guess - you do get to enter on all edges of your deployment zone.

However, OP should note that if you follow the instructions for dividing the table properly then it is not possible for one side to have a deployment zone with four edges (one end of the dividing line must always be a corner). Also, it may be a sensible house rule not to allow reserves to enter on the very short section that's part of the opponent's long edge.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob







Soup and a roll wrote:Decide beforehand. If I was forced to make a call on your example, I would probably say Chaos had half of each board edge in it's corner and the imps the same on the opposite corner. That's in no way RAW, but it sounds fair to me.


Believe me, we will be deciding beforehand in the future!

5th Edition Apoc Revision, anyone?

TYRANID ARMY and more for sale. Many Price Drops. 40K and More.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/662336.page

Orks is never beaten.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: