Switch Theme:

Hypothetical Space Marine Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker






Sacramento, CA

These situations haven't occurred in any of my games, but as I am a SM player, I thought I might as well as ask, just in case.

1) If a Librarian uses Force Dome, but rolls double 1s, can he use the 5+ invul for perils of the Warp (rerolling if successful)? He passed the test but does the power come into effect before or after the peril is the question.

2) Does a hunter-killer missile that has been fired (its only shot) still count as a weapon for weapon destroyed results?

Thanks guys.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/28 21:46:37


Blood Wardens - 1500 Points (41% Painted)
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Fiend wrote:These situations haven't occurred in any of my games, but as I am a SM player, I thought I might as well as ask, just in case.

1) If a Librarian uses Force Dome, but rolls double 1s, can he use the 5+ invul for perils of the Warp (rerolling if successful)? He passed the test but does the power come into effect before or after the peril is the question.

2) Does a hunter-killer missile that has been fired (its only shot) still count as a weapon for weapon destroyed results?

Thanks guys.
1) Yes, he can use it.
2) Yes. No. Maybe. It's really unclear. RaW I would say yes it does, but some people get annoyed about it. It's been discussed before on Dakka and Yakface even made a poll about it.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/05/28 21:50:15


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Fiend wrote:1) If a Librarian uses Force Dome, but rolls double 1s, can he use the 5+ invul for perils of the Warp (rerolling if successful)? He passed the test but does the power come into effect before or after the peril is the question.


I would say not. Perils of the Warp is resolved before the power is used, as it's a part of the test to determine whether you can cast the power in the first place.



2) Does a hunter-killer missile that has been fired (its only shot) still count as a weapon for weapon destroyed results?


RAW, yes. It can only be used once, but nothing in the rules says to stop counting it as a weapon after it has been fired.

I doubt you'll find too many people who actually play that way, though.

 
   
Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker






Sacramento, CA

Thanks Gwar. Those were the same conclusions I reached and was curious as to what the consensus was. I could see how someone would be annoyed that their weapon destroyed result did effectively nothing (especially since they didn't kill the vehicle in the first place).

Edit:
Thanks Insaniak too. So now we have a disagreement which is great as I wanted a discussion. I can see how perils is still part of the test. How does one justify getting the invul save for perils?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/28 22:07:21


Blood Wardens - 1500 Points (41% Painted)
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Note that a psyker who rolls double 1 will still use his power, even if he is wounded or killed as a result.

That says to me the power goes off before the wound is taken, as it is a "Note", not a rule in itself. It is, instead, just reminding you that the power goes off before the wound is taken, so it happens even if he is wounded.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/28 22:12:19


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: