| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 01:56:33
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
OK, so under "dedicated transports" in the rulebook it says that they can transport any friendly unit, "subject to transport capacity and other special exclusions, as explained in the vehicle ENTRY" and gives the example of not transporting terminators. The DH codex says under "transports" that they may only carry the unit they were purchased for (a standard rule at the time). However, under the actual Vehicle ENTRY all it says is that they can carry 10 models. It appears that both strict RAW and RAI indicate you can stick other units in them (enough for me to play it that way), however, I wonder if it has been FAQ'd somewhere? The witch hunters codex FAQ specifically removes the restriction, but the DH one does not.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 02:01:35
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Calm Celestian
Windsor Ontario Canada
|
Well according to the Daemon Hunter Codex, it can only transport the units you bought it for. Now the witch hunter FAQ clears that problem. Yet the problem with the Witch Hunter FAQ is that it uses the old machine spirit rule while the Grey Knights use the new one. So either way your kind of screwed due to GW lack of skills in FAQ's.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 02:01:51
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
kestral wrote:OK, so under "dedicated transports" in the rulebook it says that they can transport any friendly unit, "subject to transport capacity and other special exclusions, as explained in the vehicle ENTRY" and gives the example of not transporting terminators. The DH codex says under "transports" that they may only carry the unit they were purchased for (a standard rule at the time). However, under the actual Vehicle ENTRY all it says is that they can carry 10 models. It appears that both strict RAW and RAI indicate you can stick other units in them (enough for me to play it that way), however, I wonder if it has been FAQ'd somewhere? The witch hunters codex FAQ specifically removes the restriction, but the DH one does not.
Sorry, but the RaW and the RaI very clearly say you cannot carry any other unit other than the one it was purchased for. What GW do for the WH codex has NO BEARING on the DH codex. At all. None. They did not remove the restriction for the DH codex, so it still stands. If you want to make a house rule, do so, but it's just that, a house rule. RaW, no taxi service. Sucks, I know, but them's the rules!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/29 02:03:06
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 02:37:11
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
My thinking is the word "Entry" is the key. I would say that the "Transports" section of the DH codex is not an "Entry" as specified in the rules. Its in the same font as the Heavy Support section, while entries have their own font.
Edit:
Hmm, arguing based on font. I don't think that helps. I do think there is a RAW basis though.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/05/29 02:47:20
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 08:42:22
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
No, regardless of the BRB dedicated transport rule and the vehicle's entry you have an additional rule regarding transports.
The rule is there - it doesn't stop being there because the BRB doesn't say "special exclusions in the vehicle entry or pXX of the daemon hunter codex"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 11:31:00
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
Sigh. I guess you're right, however much I want to convince myself otherwise. Thanks for the logic smackdown, anyway. : )
Hopefully the PDF codex will be corrected when it goes up. I can dream, can't I?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/29 11:32:38
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 16:07:18
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
I don't think they view it as anything to be corrected - there's a line in the main 40k FAQ (I think that's where it is) talking about how "some armies are more strict on their transport rules than others, it's part of the design, and you gotta live with it."
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 20:22:59
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Well, the correction in the WH FAQ and the dropping of that rule from all the new codexes suggests that they want to do away with it.
Without a statement of intent re the DH codex we can only guess at whether they forgot to FAQ it or didn't want to. It'd be a pretty reasonable houserule though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 22:19:13
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
I wonder though - didn't the rulebook overrule some codexes on the independent character + retinue rules?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 22:39:22
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
kestral wrote:I wonder though - didn't the rulebook overrule some codexes on the independent character + retinue rules?
What do you mean?
The only thing I can think of is the Black Templars, who have their own special Retinue rules, which allow their ICs to be picked out in Close Combat. To my knowledge, this isn't overridden by the rulebook and the rule as per the BT codex stands.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 11:38:32
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
Well, for instance the the Dark Eldar lord says "UNLESS accompanied by a retinue the Dark eldar lord is an independent character...." and "If the lord has a retinue then he and the retinue are treated as a single unit during battle..." Obviously the rulebook trumps that and dark eldar lords are independent characters for purposes of the rules in close combat. Isn't that a similar case to the dedicated transport issue? The codex is effectively restating a rulebook rule which has since changed; the wording on the lord entry should be understood in that context?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 11:43:54
Subject: Inquistion Landraider transporting other troops...?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Erm... What?
Have you read the Retinue rules in the rulebook? They are pretty much the same as the ones in the DE codex.
Look, I know you didn't like the answer, but the rules are what they are. If you want to house rule it, go for it. Just remember it's not the rules as written.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|