Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 03:41:05
Subject: Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Question: since a Transport counts as a Heavy Support when selected in a Spearhead, does that mean if you field a Mechanized Assault Spearhead with 3 Wave Serpents that it fills your Heavy Support FOC as well? I didn't find any rules stating that Spearhead units do or don't take up their original FOC slot as well. While I suspect not, I don't see the rule either.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 10:36:20
Subject: Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Looks like they do take up their FOC slots as normal; they're still chosen from their codex, with nothing to say that they don't count as a choice on the FOC.
I suspect we'll see whether this is intended or not in the WD/expansion itself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 11:25:17
Subject: Re:Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander
|
Spearheads are not taking up ( but still just 1 per type = max 12 additionally ) FOC slots.
WD page 32 FOC.
You got the FOC + 0-12 spearheads. Just need to level up to apoc size games...
|
Target locked,ready to fire
In dedicatio imperatum ultra articulo mortis.
H.B.M.C :
We were wrong. It's not the 40k End Times. It's the Trademarkening.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 20:36:18
Subject: Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Wow Reading comprehension fail all around(sorry for being snarky)
Do you see the line in the Spearhead formations where it details Dedicated transports being heavy support? the next word after "units" is "instead", that means the dedicated transports are no longer considered of the type bought for the unit but are instead Heavy support.
Note it never states that they are no longer Dedicated transports(unless the full WD rules does state this) and are thus Heavy Support units that do not take up a heavy support choice.
This is because dedicated transports are of the slot purchased(though now Heavy support) but do not take up a choice in the slot purchased(or now Heavy Support)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 21:31:33
Subject: Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Wow Reading comprehension fail all around(sorry for being snarky)
Fail where?
The FOC in WD unclear?
Simply spearhead removes the necessary passengers and moves the "dedicated only" transport to another FOC-slot.
Allows to take transports ( chimera, razorback,...) without passengers. Shouldn't be a surprise in a vehicle heavy expansion.
The mechanized spearhead of the OP provides 1-3 transports plus passengers from different codex entries so IMO
he has to invest the spearhead slot to gain 3 vehicles + 3 transportable units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/29 21:38:48
Target locked,ready to fire
In dedicatio imperatum ultra articulo mortis.
H.B.M.C :
We were wrong. It's not the 40k End Times. It's the Trademarkening.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 22:52:00
Subject: Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
I was referring to Homer and Cheexsta; both for not reading the word "instead".
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/29 23:34:09
Subject: Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:I was referring to Homer and Cheexsta; both for not reading the word "instead".
ok
|
Target locked,ready to fire
In dedicatio imperatum ultra articulo mortis.
H.B.M.C :
We were wrong. It's not the 40k End Times. It's the Trademarkening.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 02:08:36
Subject: Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Wow Reading comprehension fail all around(sorry for being snarky)
If you were actually sorry for being snarky, then you wouldn't have posted a snarky comment.
Do you see the line in the Spearhead formations where it details Dedicated transports being heavy support? the next word after "units" is "instead", that means the dedicated transports are no longer considered of the type bought for the unit but are instead Heavy support.
Note it never states that they are no longer Dedicated transports(unless the full WD rules does state this) and are thus Heavy Support units that do not take up a heavy support choice.
This is because dedicated transports are of the slot purchased(though now Heavy support) but do not take up a choice in the slot purchased(or now Heavy Support)
I never stated that dedicated transports weren't HS units, though I could have been clearer when saying "their FOC slots" - by which I meant Heavy Support, in the context of Spearhead. I had thought that would be assumed, given the topic. My post was all about saying how the download rules don't make it clear whether units taken as part of a spearhead still take up their FOC slots, so a Tank Hunter spearhead with three Predators would take up all three HS slots, meaning you couldn't take any more Predators in the army, etc. I also did imply that I didn't have access to the WD, and 1hadhq confirmed that it was covered.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 03:17:29
Subject: Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The rule just means that things that effect heavy support units effect Spearhead units. For example, if the mission was modified killpoints where HS units give up 2KP, or in a modified Dawn of War deployment where you can deploy only up to 3 HS units, Spearhead units count.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 15:27:46
Subject: Re:Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
Basically it to add some odd combos for like Mechanized Assault Spearhead. For example your playing Orks
You can take three trukks and you can put anything you want into the Trukks because they are not Dedicated transports.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 16:01:17
Subject: Re:Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I, for one, have now been totally confused by the answers in this thread. Let me ask it this way lets say I have already made 3 heavy Force selections, I now want to take a spearhead selection of 3 troops with transports. Which of the following occurs:
a) I can not do this since I already have 3 heavies and the transports would make that a total of 6 heavy selections;
b) I can do this because the spearhead formation doesn't count toward my FOC (as long as I meet the 1 HQ and 2 Troop min requirement);
c) I can do this because when using spearhead the FOC doesn't matter.
Thank you for clearing this up for me.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 16:12:25
Subject: Re:Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander
|
Leo_the_Rat wrote:I, for one, have now been totally confused by the answers in this thread. Let me ask it this way lets say I have already made 3 heavy Force selections, I now want to take a spearhead selection of 3 troops with transports. Which of the following occurs:
a) I can not do this since I already have 3 heavies and the transports would make that a total of 6 heavy selections;
b) I can do this because the spearhead formation doesn't count toward my FOC (as long as I meet the 1 HQ and 2 Troop min requirement);
c) I can do this because when using spearhead the FOC doesn't matter.
Thank you for clearing this up for me.
a) No, you could. Spearhead is separate to normal FOC
b) as above you can, spearhead has no min requirement so a game without HQ or troops is possible.
c) maybe look up the spearhead FOC in WD? 0-2 HQ, 0-3 FA, 0-3 HS, 0-6 troop, 0-3 elite, 0-12 spearheads each of them once.
Your list would be:
FOC = 3 heavy support + 1 spearhead
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 16:21:53
Subject: Re:Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
1hadhq wrote:
c) 0-2 HQ, 0-3 FA, 0-3 HS, 0-6 troop, 0-3 elite, 0-12 spearheads each of them once.
This is what I couldn't find. In effect, spearhead makes a new FOC. Thank you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 17:55:10
Subject: Re:Spearhead and FOC
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
1hadhq wrote:Leo_the_Rat wrote:I, for one, have now been totally confused by the answers in this thread. Let me ask it this way lets say I have already made 3 heavy Force selections, I now want to take a spearhead selection of 3 troops with transports. Which of the following occurs: a) I can not do this since I already have 3 heavies and the transports would make that a total of 6 heavy selections; b) I can do this because the spearhead formation doesn't count toward my FOC (as long as I meet the 1 HQ and 2 Troop min requirement); c) I can do this because when using spearhead the FOC doesn't matter. Thank you for clearing this up for me. Your list would be: FOC = 3 heavy support + 1 spearhead From what I am seeing this would actually be 3 heavy support + 1 spearhead (mechanized assault) + 3 troops choices because it says "when selected as part of a spearhead, dedicated transport count as heavy support instead, and therefore are selected without a transported unit"
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/30 17:58:55
|
|
 |
 |
|