Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 15:07:57
Subject: Open topped rules......
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ok just to start after reading the main rule book and everything else I find an minor flaw.. This has to deal with assaulting. The rules of open topped(pg70) states "The passengers of open-topped vehicles may assault, even if the vehicle has moved before disembarkation."
Then i read about disembarking on pg 67. the first bullet point states that if the vehicle moves passenger may disembark, but no more for movement phase......"After disembarking, these models may shoot, but may not assault"
The last of the rules which is part of my problem before I explain the scenario
Pg 95-Deep strike "In that turn's Assault phase, however, these units may not launch an assault(even if they have the 'fleet' special rule) unless clearly stated in their special rules-"
Now with all my background rule reading, I have an drop pod(profile open toppedpg 69 SM codex) with an unit aboard. It arrives via deep strike, unit must disembark. Now yes the vehicle did move by pg 67 rule, and since it did deep strike it follows pg 95 rule, but the deep strike rule allows for special rule...Does than mean the profile of the vehicle be Open topped allows assaults do to the fact it states"The passengers of open-topped vehicles may assault, even if the vehicle has moved before disembarkation"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 15:10:28
Subject: Open topped rules......
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
loakii wrote:Ok just to start after reading the main rule book and everything else I find an minor flaw.. This has to deal with assaulting. The rules of open topped(pg70) states "The passengers of open-topped vehicles may assault, even if the vehicle has moved before disembarkation." Then i read about disembarking on pg 67. the first bullet point states that if the vehicle moves passenger may disembark, but no more for movement phase......"After disembarking, these models may shoot, but may not assault" The last of the rules which is part of my problem before I explain the scenario Pg 95-Deep strike "In that turn's Assault phase, however, these units may not launch an assault(even if they have the 'fleet' special rule) unless clearly stated in their special rules-" Now with all my background rule reading, I have an drop pod(profile open toppedpg 69 SM codex) with an unit aboard. It arrives via deep strike, unit must disembark. Now yes the vehicle did move by pg 67 rule, and since it did deep strike it follows pg 95 rule, but the deep strike rule allows for special rule...Does than mean the profile of the vehicle be Open topped allows assaults do to the fact it states"The passengers of open-topped vehicles may assault, even if the vehicle has moved before disembarkation"
No. Fleet doesn't let you assault after disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport, nor does being Open Topped. The Transport Deep Strikes, you cannot assault. Period. End. Finish. The reason for this is you have not one, but two rules applying here. One rule says "You can assault after disembarking from an Open Topped vehicle." The other says "You cannot assault from a Deep Striking transport." So, which solution breaks no rules? If I assault, which rules am I breaking? Open Topped: Not Broken. Deep Striking: Broken. BZZZZZZZZZZZZZ 30 GO TO 10 If I do not assault, which rules am I breaking? Open Topped: Not Broken. Deep Striking: Not Broken. Therefore, the only way to not break any rules is to not assault.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/30 15:14:20
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 15:12:11
Subject: Re:Open topped rules......
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
read the rules for the drop pod
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 15:22:02
Subject: Re:Open topped rules......
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
General_Chaos wrote:read the rules for the drop pod
That's not exactly helpful... Woah, Doublepost. yay I broke dakka!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/30 15:22:19
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 16:41:27
Subject: Re:Open topped rules......
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
Gwar! wrote:That's not exactly helpful...
It does state that podders can't assault which answers his example. Your explanation is definitely more helpful.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 17:29:38
Subject: Open topped rules......
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Gwar! wrote:loakii wrote:Ok just to start after reading the main rule book and everything else I find an minor flaw.. This has to deal with assaulting. The rules of open topped(pg70) states "The passengers of open-topped vehicles may assault, even if the vehicle has moved before disembarkation."
Then i read about disembarking on pg 67. the first bullet point states that if the vehicle moves passenger may disembark, but no more for movement phase......"After disembarking, these models may shoot, but may not assault"
The last of the rules which is part of my problem before I explain the scenario
Pg 95-Deep strike "In that turn's Assault phase, however, these units may not launch an assault(even if they have the 'fleet' special rule) unless clearly stated in their special rules-"
Now with all my background rule reading, I have an drop pod(profile open toppedpg 69 SM codex) with an unit aboard. It arrives via deep strike, unit must disembark. Now yes the vehicle did move by pg 67 rule, and since it did deep strike it follows pg 95 rule, but the deep strike rule allows for special rule...Does than mean the profile of the vehicle be Open topped allows assaults do to the fact it states"The passengers of open-topped vehicles may assault, even if the vehicle has moved before disembarkation"
No.
Fleet doesn't let you assault after disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport, nor does being Open Topped.
The Transport Deep Strikes, you cannot assault. Period. End. Finish.
The reason for this is you have not one, but two rules applying here.
One rule says "You can assault after disembarking from an Open Topped vehicle."
The other says "You cannot assault from a Deep Striking transport."
So, which solution breaks no rules?
If I assault, which rules am I breaking?
Open Topped: Not Broken.
Deep Striking: Broken.
BZZZZZZZZZZZZZ 30 GO TO 10
If I do not assault, which rules am I breaking?
Open Topped: Not Broken.
Deep Striking: Not Broken.
Therefore, the only way to not break any rules is to not assault.
And yet, in the Dashofpepper arguement about measurements, you still said that measuring your opponent's move and charge range was legal because he was using a legal means to do it. Interesting.
Measuring your movement: Not broken.
Measuring your opponent's movement and charge: Broken.
or
Measuring your movement: Not broken.
Not measuring your opponent's movement and charge: Not broken.
Don't want to bring up the argument again, so I'm leaving this here - but consistency across the arguments would be nice.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 17:43:51
Subject: Open topped rules......
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
puma713 wrote:And yet, in the Dashofpepper arguement about measurements, you still said that measuring your opponent's move and charge range was legal because he was using a legal means to do it. Interesting.
Measuring your movement: Not broken.
Measuring your opponent's movement and charge: Broken.
or
Measuring your movement: Not broken.
Not measuring your opponent's movement and charge: Not broken.
Don't want to bring up the argument again, so I'm leaving this here - but consistency across the arguments would be nice.
1) Trolling = Bad.
2) He was not measuring his opponents movement and charge. He was measuring his move. If he manages to extrapolate the charge distance, that's all well and good. By your logic the game breaks since I can measure 1 units shooting distance first, then decide not to shoot with a 2nd unit I have worked out is out of range and the rules very clearly do not work that way, since you declare shooting one by one.
So yes, I am being consistent. If you have issues with my posting, either take it up via PM or whine to a Mod. Please do not try to derail the threads I post in. I get enough of that already.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 17:45:15
Subject: Open topped rules......
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Gwar! wrote:puma713 wrote:And yet, in the Dashofpepper arguement about measurements, you still said that measuring your opponent's move and charge range was legal because he was using a legal means to do it. Interesting.
Measuring your movement: Not broken.
Measuring your opponent's movement and charge: Broken.
or
Measuring your movement: Not broken.
Not measuring your opponent's movement and charge: Not broken.
Don't want to bring up the argument again, so I'm leaving this here - but consistency across the arguments would be nice.
1) Trolling = Bad.
2) He was not measuring his opponents movement and charge. He was measuring his move. If he manages to extrapolate the charge distance, that's all well and good. By your logic the game breaks since I can measure 1 units shooting distance first, then decide not to shoot with a 2nd unit I have worked out is out of range and the rules very clearly do not work that way, since you declare shooting one by one.
So yes, I am being consistent. If you have issues with my posting, either take it up via PM or whine to a Mod. Please do not try to derail the threads I post in. I get enough of that already.
True, suppose I should've PM'ed my thoughts, since they were directed at you and you alone.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 17:45:42
Subject: Re:Open topped rules......
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
Gwar! wrote:General_Chaos wrote:read the rules for the drop pod
That's not exactly helpful...
yeah... if you read the rules on drop pods you would of eliminated over half your post because it states that you cannot not assault out of a drop pod...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/30 17:52:22
Subject: Re:Open topped rules......
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
General_Chaos wrote:yeah... if you read the rules on drop pods you would of eliminated over half your post because it states that you cannot not assault out of a drop pod...
True.
However, as the great Terry Pratchett once wrote, build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
For the most part, I try and explain WHY a rule is like it is, or why the person asking the question is possibly mistaken.
tl;dr I like being helpful. Also fire.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/31 03:30:48
Subject: Re:Open topped rules......
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I appreciate all the help from all.. It would seem that I missed the statement in the Drop pod portion of the profile... That is why I posed the question here to help me better understand the rules and game play
|
|
 |
 |
|