Switch Theme:

Manticore Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

Okay, quick question for you YMDC junkies out there:

Let's say my opponent has a Manticore and rolls a 6 for the # of warheads the missile contains, giving him 3 blast markers. If the first blast marker from the barrage scatters off target, do the other two automatically miss, or is he allowed to roll the scatter die 2 more times to flip the template and try to hit a nearby squad (let's assume it just missed by 1.5")

I have never played against a manticore and this has never happened to me in a game, but since they are now being produced and I'm more likely to encounter them I was just curious.

thanks..

-tetris

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

herp de derp late night post + while since playing my ig ftw ...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/01 01:59:18


- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

Edit: It's listed in AB as "Ordnance Barrage D3"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/31 02:49:34


Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut







scatter both subsequent templates.

"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers

Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

That makes sense.


*note - 300th post! *

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Manticore is barrage so all rules for multiple barrages apply, i.e. the scatter die is rolled and the template is placed touching in that direction, or touching any blast markers in any direction on a hit.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually Multiple Barrage requires multiple *weapons* firing barrage, not the *same* weapon firing more than one shot - so that is not strictly true Kommisar

If you assume they follow Multiple Barrage, which is an acceptable compromise, then you roll scatter and flip off the first position.

IF you dont assume they follow multiple barrage then you place the blast again and roll for normal scatter.
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Whatever your interpretation of the Manticore barrage, you roll scatter and place blasts for all three of your example shots - they either end up as a multiple barrage in the middle of nowhere, or three blasts scattered wildly around the board.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Firstly, yes the manticore is a barrage weapon.

Secondly, if firing using the multiple barrage rules (or normal barrage, or blast) and the first template misses you still must place the remaining templates as well.

Thirdly, the manticore does not use the multiple barrage rules - these are used "if a unit has more than one barrage weapon". The manticore only has one barrage weapon which fires three shots, each shot is resolved independantly.

(nos, tetris, centurian, fork have it right)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/05/31 11:25:09


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Argh not this again.

The Maticore is a Barrage Weapon, it follows the Barrage Rules.

What it CANNOT do is follow the Multiple Barrage Rules, as they were not written to account for multiple shot Barrage Weapons.

As such, RaW, you scatter each individual Template and do NOT use the Multi Barrage Rules.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

No, Gwar. By RAW, a single weapon firing multiple blasts is not covered, whether Barrage or Direct Fire. Both rules refer to multiple weapons firing, neither addresses a single weapon firing multiple blasts. So you can't shoot either one, whether Manticore or SM Thunderfire Cannon, as the rules don't address how they work. Any answer on our part would just be guessing and houserules.

Or.................. The only answer we've ever gotten from GW concerning a single weapon firing multiple blasts was the Eldar Reaper gun (a Barrage weapon), and they said to resolve it as firing multiple Barrage. You could take that a use it as a precedent, stating that Barrage weapons firing multiple blasts are treated as multiple Barrage and as a corallary, that direct fire weapons firing multiple blasts are resolved as multiple weapons. But that's just how I play it.


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

Fluff =/= Rules but I would like to point out that when i read the entry i felt it should fire like a multiple barrage. Imagine one shell shooting from the rocket launcher, then just prior to descent it splits into x number of smaller warheads, each falling on or around the original target area. If the rocket that contained the warheads was off target, then the warheads themselves should scatter around that initial impact point, as per multiple barrage rules.

The thunderfire cannon, from a fluff POV, has a rotating turret that fires off multiple separate shells, each having a chance to scatter from the intended target separately. We always play that one as multiple blasts, even though it is a single weapon, each deviating off of the target model.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: