Switch Theme:

Drop Pods can mishap!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hacking Interventor





I keep hearing on the internets that drop pods cannot mishap, but looking at the rules, it seems obvious that it can, under any one of the following situations:

1) Scatters off the table, nothing in the guidance system rules say that it stops the pod from going off the table.

2) Put in a situation where mishap would occur and hit is rolled. In this case, you placed it somewhere where a mishap could occur and rolled a hit, so there is no scatter to be reduced, so the pod does not move and therefore mishaps.

3) Put in a situation where mishap would occur and not enough scatter is rolled. In this case, you placed it somewhere where a mishap could occur and rolled a small amount on the scatter dice, and there is nowhere on the path of the scatter for the pod to land. The guidance system rule only allows for the scatter to be reduced, not expanded, so this should also result in a mishap.

Am I wrong about any of this, and is there any other situations I am missing?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

That's pretty much correct. Although some will argue that you can not legally choose to place a Deep Striking model somewhere that it can't actually land... which just leaves you with scattering off the table.

 
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator





No thats all correct. Well done.

taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live?
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes. We know. They always have been able to...

If you place it in a place that makes it mishap, then roll a hit, you mishap.
You also mishap if you go off the board.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/02 00:09:36


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I agree to placing it on a mishap and "hoping" it will drift, but that in itself is an illegal move.

To the other claim, that is false. The rules quite explicitly state that a drop pod cannot go off the table. You simply place it as close to the edge as you can.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/02 04:44:12


The next one of you that posts about Wraiths being I2 and ignores the whip coils mentioned 2000 times a week, and I am going to devote the rest of my life to becoming an ancient space god to trick and enslave a race, and turn them into soulless T-100s to rid the entire universe of life. At that point it will have been worth it.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nightsbane wrote:To the other claim, that is false. The rules quite explicitly state that a drop mod cannot go off the table. You simply place it as close to the edge as you can.


You sound just like the people at my LGS!
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Columbia, SC

Nightsbane wrote:I agree to placing it on a mishap and "hoping" it will drift, but that in itself is an illegal move.

To the other claim, that is false. The rules quite explicitly state that a drop pod cannot go off the table. You simply place it as close to the edge as you can.


And where do the rules "explicitly state" this?




 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Nightsbane wrote: The rules quite explicitly state that a drop pod cannot go off the table.


Nope, sorry, but they don't say any such thing.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Nightsbane wrote:I agree to placing it on a mishap and "hoping" it will drift, but that in itself is an illegal move.

To the other claim, that is false. The rules quite explicitly state that a drop pod cannot go off the table. You simply place it as close to the edge as you can.
Incorrect.

Firstly, it's perfectly fine to put a model in a position where it will mishap. Spore Mines have been doing that for years.

Secondly, no, it says nothing of the sort. It only mentions Impassible Terrain or other models.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/06/02 05:37:20


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

I have cleaned up a bit of a heated side-track that added nothing constructive to the thread.

Please keep it on topic and civil. And address the rules, not the poster.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nightsbane wrote:I agree to placing it on a mishap and "hoping" it will drift, but that in itself is an illegal move.

To the other claim, that is false. The rules quite explicitly state that a drop pod cannot go off the table. You simply place it as close to the edge as you can.


Rules quote or it didnt happen.

Hint: The edge of the board is not impassable terrain.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: