Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/03 16:52:19
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
Can termagants claim cover save if a unit of zoanthropes are floating in front?
Rules say units can claim a cover save if paritialy covered by friendly models but it also says you cannot take cover with you and it should be ignored. The zoanthrope is mounted on that tentacle thing which a termagant is about the same height off - so do you count this tentacle as none cover because the actual zoanthrope isn't covering anything, or do the termagants get a cover save because they're just slightly covered?
|
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/03 16:53:20
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
mercer wrote:Can termagants claim cover save if a unit of zoanthropes are floating in front?
Rules say units can claim a cover save if paritialy covered by friendly models but it also says you cannot take cover with you and it should be ignored. The zoanthrope is mounted on that tentacle thing which a termagant is about the same height off - so do you count this tentacle as none cover because the actual zoanthrope isn't covering anything, or do the termagants get a cover save because they're just slightly covered?
If you shoot THROUGH the gaps between a unit, you grant a cover save even if they are in clear view.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/03 17:00:46
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
Ok. Thanks. I wasn't sure if had to be half covered or something.
|
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/03 18:56:57
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
mercer wrote:Ok. Thanks. I wasn't sure if had to be half covered or something.
That applies to monsterous creatures and vehicles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/03 22:20:33
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
Doesn't it apply to half the members in a unit of infantry?
In this diagram shoot Y can physically see all of the models in unit A through unit X (The Xs and As are the models.) but since more than half the target unit are not behind unit X, they do not get a cover save.
............Y
X - - - X
--A--A--A--A--A--A--A--A--A--A-A--A--A--A
In this second diagram shoot Y can physically see all the models in unit A, but over half of them are behind unit X and gain a 4+ cover save.
............Y
X - - - X
--A--A--A
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/03 22:48:43
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
|
Killkrazy, that is a very good question! We have been playing it that if you shot at an enemy unit by firing between an intervening unit, you get a save. But, does is that subject to the 50% rule? If not, I think it could be abused badly by having a tiny unit screen a much bigger unit just be standing in front of one guy...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 01:33:01
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Kolath wrote:Killkrazy, that is a very good question! We have been playing it that if you shot at an enemy unit by firing between an intervening unit, you get a save. But, does is that subject to the 50% rule? If not, I think it could be abused badly by having a tiny unit screen a much bigger unit just be standing in front of one guy...
It's still subject to the 50% rule.
Let's say you have a 6 man firewarrior team shooting at at unit that is partially hidden behind another unit. You check each individual firewarrior's LoS to each model in the target unit to see if 50% or more are in cover relative to him. At the end of it, if 50% or more of your firewarriors have 50% or more of the opposing units in cover relative to them, then the target unit will be granted cover saves.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 22:19:39
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
That is my understanding of it.
All Infantry models are the same size conceptually, and are all 100% concealed by another Infantry (not Swarm) unit in front of them, no matter how tall the various models actually are.
To get the save, half the target unit needs to be concealed.
It is different to MCs and vehicles, where the actual physical concealment of the model is the important thing. (But what about squadrons?)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 22:22:11
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Kilkrazy wrote:(But what about squadrons?)
Squadrons and Units of MC follow both rules.
In order to get a cover save, Half of the models in the unit must be 50% or more obscured.
If this is the case, the whole unit has a cover save.
If not, the whole unit does NOT have a cover save.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/05 06:28:57
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kilkrazy wrote:All Infantry models are the same size conceptually, and are all 100% concealed by another Infantry (not Swarm) unit in front of them, no matter how tall the various models actually are.
While what you say may have been true in 4th edition 40k, it's not in the 5th edition rulebook. It happens that most infantry models are the same size, roughly, but there's requirement for it, and nothing automatic about cover because of it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/05 07:25:25
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
solkan wrote:Kilkrazy wrote:All Infantry models are the same size conceptually, and are all 100% concealed by another Infantry (not Swarm) unit in front of them, no matter how tall the various models actually are.
While what you say may have been true in 4th edition 40k, it's not in the 5th edition rulebook. It happens that most infantry models are the same size, roughly, but there's requirement for it, and nothing automatic about cover because of it.
True. See also this thread, as the relative position of models becomes important.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/07 12:15:07
Subject: termagant cover?
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
And if you're still not sure, be the better man and grant him a cover save of 5+ or 6+
Gives the air a better feeling lol
Oh and solkan you're profile pic looks like a Strogg from Quake hahaha!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/07 12:16:21
- Hive Fleet Kraken 2500pt
- Coldstrike Cadre 1600pt
Black Templars Epsilon Crusade 1500pt |
|
 |
 |
|