Switch Theme:

40k Noob questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





In Revelation Space


1. If I'm firing a storm Bolter, which is Assault 2, do I roll a D6 for both shots, or just one D6 for both shots? What about rapid fire weapons?

2. How do you do a cover save? Do you add it on to the armor save? (Wouldn't that result in invincibility for some models?!)

3. Can I mount a lascannon on a Rhono?




http://www.spacex.com/company.php
http://www.penny4nasa.org/ SUPPORT MORE FUNDING FOR NASA

May the the blessings of His Grace the Emperor tumble down upon you like a golden fog. (Only a VERY select few will get this reference. And it's not from 40k. )





 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







GalacticDefender wrote:
1. If I'm firing a storm Bolter, which is Assault 2, do I roll a D6 for both shots, or just one D6 for both shots? What about rapid fire weapons?

2. How do you do a cover save? Do you add it on to the armor save? (Wouldn't that result in invincibility for some models?!)

3. Can I mount a lascannon on a Rhono?

1) You roll a D6 for each shot.
2) No. You only ever take ONE save. Page 24 "Models with more than 1 save".
3) No. You can take one on a Razorback though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/03 17:07:27


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





In Revelation Space

So you choose which save to take? (Or whichever is higher?)



http://www.spacex.com/company.php
http://www.penny4nasa.org/ SUPPORT MORE FUNDING FOR NASA

May the the blessings of His Grace the Emperor tumble down upon you like a golden fog. (Only a VERY select few will get this reference. And it's not from 40k. )





 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







GalacticDefender wrote:So you choose which save to take? (Or whichever is higher?)
You always use the best save. You have no choice in the matter. If you have a 3+ Armour Save and a 4+ Cover save, and are hit by an AP2 weapon, you MUST use the cover save.

Likewise, if you have a 5+ armour save and a 4+ cover save and are hit by something that ignores your cover save (but not your armour save) you must take the 5+ armour save.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






GalacticDefender wrote:
1. If I'm firing a storm Bolter, which is Assault 2, do I roll a D6 for both shots, or just one D6 for both shots? What about rapid fire weapons?

2. How do you do a cover save? Do you add it on to the armor save? (Wouldn't that result in invincibility for some models?!)

3. Can I mount a lascannon on a Rhono?


1. You get two distinct shots. You roll to hit for each one separately and so on.
2. See the rulebook section on saves, particularly the section on multiple saves. You only ever get to use one save or the other, and you use the best save.
3. See your particular codex for your unit wargear options and costs.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/03 17:09:17


 
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





UK

OK....

1. If firing a storm bolter you roll 2 D6.

Rapid Fire weapons (12" or less) get to fire two shots (using 2 D6). OR one shot up beyond 12" (up to 24").

2. How do you do a cover save? Say a space marine is in cover (a crater). He gets hit by a lascannon (it's not his lucky day). His armour save of 3+ is useless cause the lascannon is AP 2. BUT the crater gives him a cover save (think INV save) of 4+.
If he rolls a 4 or higher the shot went into the side of the crater and misses him. If he rolls lower than a 4 it's bye bye space marine.

What cover allows you to do is negate the effects of high power weaponry on your marines, allowing them to fight on that little bit longer. Just be careful of going against any weapon that ignores cover.

3. You can put a lascannon on a rhino if you want. It can become a Razorback.
What you can't do is put a lascannon on a Rhino and still call it a Rhino.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
Oh and if you have a high powered unit like a captain in artificer armour in a Bastion:

The bastion gives a cover save of 3+
The artificer armour gives a an armour save of 2+
The Iron Halo gives an Invulnerable Save of 4+.

For any weapon other than a lascannon or meltagun the artificer armour (being the best save) is the one you'd go for.
The cover save is in a building with AV 14, so it has a save of 3+. so take this save if you're up against lascannon.

If up against melta choose the Inv Save.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/03 17:15:27


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Corennus: you are wrong on several points;

Rapid Fire weapons get 1 shot beyond 12" Up to the maximum range of the weapon(not necessarily 24") A tau Pulse rilfe gets up to 30", and a Hot-shot Lasgun only gets up to 18"

You Cannot put a lascannon on a rhino, ever. You can put a Lascannon on a razorback; but that is an entirely different vehicle(even though it has almost exactly the same chassis)

Melta does not ignore cover saves so your example with a marine in a Ruin would still take the cover save.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/03 18:46:30


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator






Ft Leonard Wood Mo

Corennus wrote:OK....
The bastion gives a cover save of 3+
The artificer armour gives a an armour save of 2+
The Iron Halo gives an Invulnerable Save of 4+.

For any weapon other than a lascannon or meltagun the artificer armour (being the best save) is the one you'd go for.
The cover save is in a building with AV 14, so it has a save of 3+. so take this save if you're up against lascannon.

If up against melta choose the Inv Save.


This is an impossible situation, though, so might be confusing. If something is occupying a building, there are no armor, cover (barring intervening terrain), or invulnerable saves. You fire against the buildings AV value, not at a unit inside of it. And being in a building doesn't confer a cover save, because you can't shoot at a unit in a building.


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I think he meant Fortified ruin, which gives a 3+ cover save.

A bastion is Av14...
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






A template weapon can be shot into the firing point of a building, but then that ignores cover saves as well.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Kommissar Kel wrote:A template weapon can be shot into the firing point of a building, but then that ignores cover saves as well.


Where is that rule for buildings? I was unaware there were exceptions to targeting a unit inside a building....

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in gb
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





England

calypso2ts wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:A template weapon can be shot into the firing point of a building, but then that ignores cover saves as well.


Where is that rule for buildings? I was unaware there were exceptions to targeting a unit inside a building....


Pages 78 through to 81. On page 80 you can find the rules for fireing template weapons into a building.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/03 19:37:37


 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Thanks, just learned something interesting, I totally missed the top of page 80 that lets you fire a template weapon into a building for d6 hits.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator






Ft Leonard Wood Mo

It's a minor (but very relevant at times) distinction, but...

You can never target a unit in a building by core rules (that is, there may be an exception floating around in a codex or expansion that I'm not aware of).

What you can do is target the building, and if you are firing a template and it is found to be over a fire point, then the force occupying that section of the building takes d6 hits.

 
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





UK

sorry yes I meant fortfification. Which has a 3+ cover save.

Most of the time you'll be in a situation where cover meanas a 4+ save.


You can declare you're firing a template weapon at a unit in the building, but any hits will only be taken against those specifice units.
For example a flamer declares he's firing against 3 hormogaunts who are on the first floor of a ruin.
The unit comprises of 6 hormogaunts with 2 on the ground floor and 1 on the second floor. THe template being placed above the ruin technically covers all the nids, but since it was declared only the first floor was targeted only the first floor nids get toasted.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: