Switch Theme:

Vehicle Combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Storm Lance





South Texas

Ok these might be a little noob but I'm not sure where to find the questions in the rules and our nearest game store is 2 hours away. So...

1. If I have an armor of 10 and get hit buy a rail gun(S 10) does a 1 pen or fail? Because I thought a 1 on a roll always failed, but I've been argued that 10+1 is still greater than the armor of my truck (which is 10 all the way around).

2. Can the guys inside the rhino, or inside of any vehicle for that mater, shoot at something besides what the rhino shot at?

3. If I have a squad of Havoks in a rhino with Melta's move 12 can I not shoot out of the back with them?

4. And if I get jinked by a skimmer does my deff roller still hit or does that count as a miss?

Any help would be appreciated.

"There are no wolves on Fenris" Sindermann had said
"Except, of course... for the wolves, ser?" he had replied.
"Exactly, Kasper," 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) Nope, a roll of 1 oinly failos when explicitly told to. For example a roll of a "1" on a characteristic test is ALWAYS a pass.

2) Yes: each unit may fire at a different target. A vehicle and embarked unit are seperate units.

3) You cannot shoot with an embarked unit if the vehicle has moved 6" or more

get them out if you want them to shoot!

4) I take it the deff roller misses, as the ram never happened...
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

1 - A 1 is not always an auto fail for a test. There are specific cases when it is (like a To Wound roll or an Armor/Cover/Invulnerable Save) but S10 on AV 10 will always penetrate on a hit unless some other rule is in place.

2 - They can and usually should, point those Meltas at tanks!

3 - Out the back? You mean the top? Passengers can only shoot if the vehicle moves at Combat Speed or less (as defined by the Vehicle, different for fast vehicles vs. normal vehicles). They can however jump out and fire.

4 - Good question, this has been debated. Remember if you get juked you need to continue moving until you hit the max movement distance when you ram. As for the Deff Rolla hits, I would be inclined not to take them if I was playing the Rolla because it is in the spirit of the rules and plays consistently with other effects like ramming and tank shock.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Phat13uddha wrote:Ok these might be a little noob but I'm not sure where to find the questions in the rules and our nearest game store is 2 hours away. So...

1. If I have an armor of 10 and get hit buy a rail gun(S 10) does a 1 pen or fail? Because I thought a 1 on a roll always failed, but I've been argued that 10+1 is still greater than the armor of my truck (which is 10 all the way around).

2. Can the guys inside the rhino, or inside of any vehicle for that mater, shoot at something besides what the rhino shot at?

3. If I have a squad of Havoks in a rhino with Melta's move 12 can I not shoot out of the back with them?

4. And if I get jinked by a skimmer does my deff roller still hit or does that count as a miss?

Any help would be appreciated.
1) It always pens. A Roll of 1 is not a "fail" when rolling to penetrate.
2) Yes. They are a separate unit in all regards.
3) No. Models can only use a Fire Point if it moves combat speed or less.
4) Yes, No. Maybe. Perhaps. There is no clear answer and something you need to discuss pre game.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Storm Lance





South Texas

So for #3 could I move 6 and still shoot with 2 of them or only 1 havok? And would it count as the 1 shot from the rhino too?

"There are no wolves on Fenris" Sindermann had said
"Except, of course... for the wolves, ser?" he had replied.
"Exactly, Kasper," 
   
Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





No it doesn't count as the rhino's 1 weapon use.

"Praise Be To The Omissiah!"

"Three things make the Empire great: Faith, Steel and Gunpowder!"

Azarath Metrion Zinthos

Expect my posts to have a bazillion edits. I miss out letters, words, sometimes even entire sentences in my points and posts.

Come at me Heretic. 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

The unit counts as if it moved, so you can shoot as many as you have firepoints for. This also means models with Heavy Weapons cannot fire them unless they have a special rule permitting it.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

Gwar! wrote:.4) Yes, No. Maybe. Perhaps. There is no clear answer and something you need to discuss pre game.


actually I thought it's pretty clear now "Any tank shock made by the battlewagon...blah blah blah causes.. blah blah blah... 1d6 str 10 hits

FAQ says Tank Shock = ramming.

Dodging = no ram

no ram = no tank shock = no hits


least that's how we play in my neck of the woods

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/03 21:37:25


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





General_Chaos wrote:
Gwar! wrote:.4) Yes, No. Maybe. Perhaps. There is no clear answer and something you need to discuss pre game.


actually I thought it's pretty clear now "Any tank shock made by the battlewagon...blah blah blah causes.. blah blah blah... 1d6 str 10 hits

FAQ says Tank Shock = ramming.

Dodging = no ram

no ram = no tank shock = no hits


least that's how we play in my neck of the woods


The rules are ambiguous, but if you tried to do it any other way people would probably laugh at you.

As far as the rhino goes, the unit inside and the rhino itself are seperate units. Potentially, then, if you move less than 6" a number of models within equal to the number of fire points can fire, as well as whatever the vehicle itself is allowed to fire (i.e. 1 storm bolter or TL bolter =or= 2 storm bolters or havoc launcher and 1 TL bolter, since S4 means the weapons are defensive).







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in us
Storm Lance





South Texas

We've been doing if I get jinked it's miss, no deff rolla hits.

But it's always nice to see that we weren't off the mark with what we were doing.

thanks for all quick and helpful answers.

"There are no wolves on Fenris" Sindermann had said
"Except, of course... for the wolves, ser?" he had replied.
"Exactly, Kasper," 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: