Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 16:44:27
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter
|
The power for an Ork Warphead called 'Ere We Go states "The weirdboy and any unit he is with must be placed anywhere on the board as per the Deep Strike rules."
So last night I rolled this, placed my Warphead where I wanted him to go and then consulted the Deep Strike rules. I rolled the scatter die which resulted in my Warphead now less than 1" from my opponents Dreadnaught. According to the Deep Strike rules this equals a mishap. I then rolled on the Mishap Table and got a 5; Delayed.
I argued that the wording for Delayed says that nothing happens. If they had been in actual reserve the outcome would have been nothing, the models remain where they are, in reserve. But since my figures are not in reserve, they are in play, then I interpret this as nothing happens; the models stay where they are.
My opponent says that the wording was ambiguous and that I should have to remove the Warphead and his entire unit from play as the spirit of the rule is that the figures should not be in play. I think that assumes too much though as it never says under "Ere We Go" that a result of 5-6 means the entire squad is removed from the table and then placed in reserve.
To me delayed means nothing happens, to him it means they automatically go to reserve. What do you think?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 16:55:04
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Reserves.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 16:58:14
Subject: Re:'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
I would place them in reserves and be thankful they weren't destroyed or misplaced. Deep strike them the following turn, as long as you can make the proper reserve roll to get them to come back.
Orks are random by nature, this just is another example of it. Still, a fun army nonetheless.
Edit - no BRB with me at the moment, but i think to get really RAW on the issue they should be placed in reserves, then when rolled for they must walk in from the table edge, since they do not possess the 'deep strike' ability on their own. I would not play it that way however, i would let my opponent deep strike them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/04 17:00:51
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 17:26:07
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
I think that assumes too much though as it never says under "Ere We Go" that a result of 5-6 means the entire squad is removed from the table and then placed in reserve.
Perhaps because when the "Ere we go" rule was written if you mishapped you were gone end of story and there was no mishap table?
If you go by RaW the game breaks because it says go back into reserve and your Warphead hasn't been in reserves so he can't go back there. However the mechanic of the rule is that you go into reserve and that is how almost everyone will play it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 18:06:25
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yes, the rules were written at a time when a Mishap was always being Destroyed.
Yes, you cannot go "back" into reserves if you weren't Deep Striking from there already.
What you do is put them in Reserves, and they arrive from your Table edge, they do NOT Deep Strike back in.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 18:17:31
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
And so, if you need a fluff explanation for Gwar!'s post above, imagine that the 'Ere We Go power accidentally transported the unit somewhere off of the battlefield, and the unit had to walk back to the scene of the battle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 18:18:33
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
and they arrive from your Table edge, they do NOT Deep Strike back in.
This is te most accurate description of what the rulebook tells us to do. However personally I'd let you DS in and so would many others, unfortunately GW didn't really think through the DS rules when making up the teleport powers as the Libby power Gate of Infinity has exactly the same problem.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 18:27:57
Subject: Re:'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
We also play it as you return deepstriking, it's not clear either way
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 21:41:21
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Gwar! wrote:Yes, the rules were written at a time when a Mishap was always being Destroyed.
Yes, you cannot go "back" into reserves if you weren't Deep Striking from there already.
What you do is put them in Reserves, and they arrive from your Table edge, they do NOT Deep Strike back in.
Now wait a second here, because the rule for coming in from the table edge says that you MOVE onto the board as if your models base was placed just in contact with the edge of the board (with the model moving on from off the board). since you are taking your normal 6" move and I assume this Ork power allows them to teleport instead of moving normally, they COULD teleport back on the board instead of taking their normal 6" movement.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/04 21:42:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 22:56:55
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
Only if you roll for it, with the warphead you have to roll to see what power you use and I dont think you can roll for powers if your not on the table, either way though I deepstrike back onto the board with my warphead as that's how my store plays it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/04 23:06:27
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
yournamehere wrote:Only if you roll for it, with the warphead you have to roll to see what power you use and I dont think you can roll for powers if your not on the table, either way though I deepstrike back onto the board with my warphead as that's how my store plays it.
Ok, that makes more sense then. I was thinking it worked the same as other teleporting powers I'm used to.
Sorry, I don't know orks at all. thanks for clarifying.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/05 00:32:32
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
yournamehere wrote:Only if you roll for it, with the warphead you have to roll to see what power you use and I dont think you can roll for powers if your not on the table, either way though I deepstrike back onto the board with my warphead as that's how my store plays it. This is how we play it. But really either one would be correct I spose
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/05 00:32:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/05 15:19:57
Subject: 'Ere We Go ... Deep Strike
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter
|
Eh, this makes a Warphead a very undesirable unit. He has to great a chance of either rolling a one and hurting his unit, or teleporting them out of the battle maybe to never be seen again. In this case I would have lost all 20 of my shooty guys. Point being, never use a psyker in an Ork army. Too many chances of a mishap. Add to that the fact my opponent had a UM Librarian that could also cancel my successful leadership tests and I have a totally useless model. Why would anybody take a psyker with so many penalties?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|