Switch Theme:

Turbo Boosting in Circles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

I was playing in a game at my FLGS and was turbo-boosting my bikes.
My opponent told me that you must move in a straight line when turbo-boosting. I looked in the rulebook and did not see this anywhere. I saw were it said you must be more than 18" to claim the 3+ cover save, but nothing about a straight line. Is it in there?

Basically, can you turbo-boost in circles to make doughnuts in snow-covered terrain?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The land of cotton.

As long as you satisfy the requirements (don't enter difficult, etc) then you can move any way you like.

As far as I can recall the only requirement to move in a straight line is ramming.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







labmouse42 wrote:I was playing in a game at my FLGS and was turbo-boosting my bikes.
My opponent told me that you must move in a straight line when turbo-boosting. I looked in the rulebook and did not see this anywhere. I saw were it said you must be more than 18" to claim the 3+ cover save, but nothing about a straight line. Is it in there?

Basically, can you turbo-boost in circles to make doughnuts in snow-covered terrain?
No, you have to end up more than 18" in order to Turbo Boost. You don't have to move in a Straight line however.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch





Green Bay Wisconsin

your end point must be 18" from your start point.

Holy crap, 3 responces all posted within 11 seconds of each other.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/06 00:02:42


 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

Gwar! wrote:No, you have to end up more than 18" in order to Turbo Boost. You don't have to move in a Straight line however.
Thanks for the answer Gwar. I appreciate your wisdom.
These are all snippets from the turbo-boost special rule.

" When using their turbo-boosters they may move up to 24" in the Movement phase "
" ..so they cannot move through difficult terrain, shoot, launch assaults or execute any other voluntary action in the same turn"
" A unit using turbo-boosters must end its move at least 18" away from its starting point to claim this cover save, as it relies on flat-out speed."

I don't see where it shows that a unit turbo-boosting must move 18" from their starting point. It reads to me that the unit loses its ability to shoot, etc from turbo-boosting. The requirement for the 18" is to guarantee the 3+ cover save.

Am I reading this incorrectly? Thanks for your input.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No, you are right. Sorry I was unclear, I was referring to the Cover save effect.

Models who Turbo Boost can move more than 12", but still cannot do anything and only get the save if they go more than 18" from their starting point. You don't have to move in a straight line, you can turn as much as you want, just like a normal move.

Just note that some people might claim that "A unit using turbo-boosters must end its move at least 18" away from its starting point" and ignore the last part of the sentence. They are wrong!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/06/06 02:54:27


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





I think some players are still stuck on 4th edition where it stated that if you turbo boosted you had to move in a straight line and take the terrain check.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




That wasnt the rule in 4th ed either - you still couldnt move through terrain then, and didnt have to move in a straight line...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: