Switch Theme:

Njal Stormcaller, trying to get the facts straight  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate






There has been a lot of confusion about Njal in particular the rules for lord of tempests. I looked through the FAQ and in a few threads but its hard to find clear answers.
Here are the things i'm confused about:

1. lord of tempest is used at the beginning of Njal's turn only. So this means that Driving Gale and Living Hurricane do nothing since they last to the end of your turn during which the enemy wont be shooting or moving. Seems like a waste

2. Njal can not use tempests wrath while in a vehicle regardless of weather or not it has fire points since he can not draw line of sight while inside. However what if you start him in a vehicle then disembark him. He will now have line of sight so could he use howling cyclone, vengeful tornado, chain lighting since the resolve latter on in the turn or does he need line of sight at the beginning of the turn when he roles for tempests wrath.

Any thoughts?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/07 09:52:35


 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

You roll at the beginning of Njal's turn. The effect last one "game turn" as written in the entry (both players) brb p.9.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Byte's statement is incorrect. Njal's Lord of Tempests abilities are for "that game turn", rather than lasting for one game turn. As affirmed by the FAQ, if the Space Wolf player is going second, at the end of that player turn the game turn ends, and so do the effects of Lord of Tempests.

   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

solkan wrote:Byte's statement is incorrect. Njal's Lord of Tempests abilities are for "that game turn", rather than lasting for one game turn. As affirmed by the FAQ, if the Space Wolf player is going second, at the end of that player turn the game turn ends, and so do the effects of Lord of Tempests.



Yep I was wrong. Nerfed indeed.

Q. How do Njal Stormcaller’s Driving Gale and
Living Hurricane effects work if the Space Wolves
player is the player going second?
A. These two abilities have no real effect in games
where the Space Wolves player is going second –
the tempest is yet to rage.

Silly...
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Oddly enough, that is RaW and one of the bits the nicked from my FAQ.

But yeah, going 2nd Nerfs Njal somewhat sadly.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate






Ok it makes sense now. Although I can hardly believe GW intended for some of the abilities to work if you go first and do nothing if you go second.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Beta_X wrote:Ok it makes sense now. Although I can hardly believe GW intended for some of the abilities to work if you go first and do nothing if you go second.
As did I. But, that's what the rule says.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Beta_X wrote:Although I can hardly believe GW intended for some of the abilities to work if you go first and do nothing if you go second.


I can believe it. I would suspect that, if this was a deliberate move, it was done with the intention of forcing players to consider their decision to go first or second a little more carefully when they are using Space Wolves, with the idea being that they should be going first wherever possible, even if the mission would otherwise be better served by going second.


Particularly with the current rules allowing you to try to 'steal' the first turn if you fail the initial roll-off.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I have the same feeling - SW should be an aggressive army, so choosing to go second doesnt seem to fit their style.

Not saying it is right, but how I read the rule...
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope




Wisconsin

So Tempest Wrath cannot be used while inside of a transport? Friend was asking me if this was possible earlier in the week and I thought it was cause it was an area of effect power.


ChrisWWII wrote:I eventually realized that it was apparently one die I had been rolling that kept turning up 3s. My reaction was to take said die, and hurl it out the window of the 3rd floor of our student union. I then placed a Commissar model next to the rest of my dice pile. They immediately began performing much better.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Shovan wrote:So Tempest Wrath cannot be used while inside of a transport? Friend was asking me if this was possible earlier in the week and I thought it was cause it was an area of effect power.


This is where the rules curl up and die. "Only enemy models in Njal's line of sight can be affected by tempest's effects." Fire points only give line of sight to models firing out of them, although that may be related to the "LOS is only defined for shooting models" arguments. Also, there's whole "Line of sight is drawn to the model's eyes, rather than saying that infantry models have 360 degree field of view" problem.

So, Njal in a Land Raider = He can't see a thing. Njal in a rhino = Who knows? Maybe, maybe if he takes up one of the firing ports, maybe not.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Los from a firing port can only me measured for Psychic Powers or Shooting.

Lord of Tempests is neither, so he can't use a fire point.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate






Good thing space wolves don't have any open topped vehicles or it would be even more confusing
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope




Wisconsin

Okay so another question then relating to this. A normal Rune Priest inside of a transport trying to use Tempest Wrath, does it work or is it the same as Njal trying to use it?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/08 22:09:48


ChrisWWII wrote:I eventually realized that it was apparently one die I had been rolling that kept turning up 3s. My reaction was to take said die, and hurl it out the window of the 3rd floor of our student union. I then placed a Commissar model next to the rest of my dice pile. They immediately began performing much better.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Well al you have done is changed the model, not the power....so guess what, nothing much has changed
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Shovan wrote:Okay so another question then relating to this. A normal Rune Priest inside of a transport trying to use Tempest Wrath, does it work or is it the same as Njal trying to use it?
There is a major difference. Tempests Wrath is a Psychic power. Lord of Tempests is not. Psychic Powers have an explicit permission to be used from fire Points. Lord of Tempests does not. Furthermore, Tempests Wrath doesn't require LoS. Lord of Tempests does.

Your question is like asking "Which is better for cutting salad, a Knife or a potato?"

So Tempests Wrath does work. Lord of Tempests does not. Tempests Wrath even works if the Rune Priest is in a Land Raider (and is a good way to spread it even further), as it doesn't need LoS.

@Nos: You are changing the power as well. Tempests Wrath is not the same as Lord of Tempests.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/06/08 22:25:36


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope




Wisconsin

Gwar! wrote:
Shovan wrote:Okay so another question then relating to this. A normal Rune Priest inside of a transport trying to use Tempest Wrath, does it work or is it the same as Njal trying to use it?
There is a major difference. Tempests Wrath is a Psychic power. Lord of Tempests is not. Psychic Powers have an explicit permission to be used from fire Points. Lord of Tempests does not. Furthermore, Tempests Wrath doesn't require LoS. Lord of Tempests does.

Your question is like asking "Which is better for cutting salad, a Knife or a potato?"

So Tempests Wrath does work. Lord of Tempests does not. Tempests Wrath even works if the Rune Priest is in a Land Raider (and is a good way to spread it even further), as it doesn't need LoS.

@Nos: You are changing the power as well. Tempests Wrath is not the same as Lord of Tempests.


Sounds good. I know pretty much nothing about the S.Wolves as I don't play them and the whole Njal thing was just kinda confusing is all.

And who doesn't cut their salads with potatoes?

ChrisWWII wrote:I eventually realized that it was apparently one die I had been rolling that kept turning up 3s. My reaction was to take said die, and hurl it out the window of the 3rd floor of our student union. I then placed a Commissar model next to the rest of my dice pile. They immediately began performing much better.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gwar - actually ifg you look the OP was talking about Tempests Wrath in point 2 - thus Shovan may have MEANT lord of Tempests, but thats not what my sleep addled brain understood

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/09 08:59:40


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: