Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 15:24:32
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
|
Is an immobilized Dreadnought that is repaired allowed to assault in that same turn?
Example:
Dreadnought is immobilized and has a weapon destroyed. Two techmarines attached to a squad of servitors (5 servitors, 2 with multimeltas) repair the immobilized and weapon destroyed results. Dreadnought then assaults a unit of Grey Knight Terminators.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 15:27:59
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
I don't /think/ so, since IIRC it says it may move normally /the following turn/
another question though:
lets say your dread is slugging it out with another dread
couldn't the techmarine stand in base contact with the dread, not be in combat, and repair it?
|
Godforge custom 3d printing / professional level casting masters and design:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/GodForge |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 15:41:07
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Lost in the warp while searching for a new codex
|
why wouldnt he be? The rules says nothing about not being able to assault.
|
I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time.
15k
10k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 15:42:54
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
tedurur wrote:why wouldnt he be? The rules says nothing about not being able to assault.
rules aren't exclusive they are inclusive, if it doesn't say you /can/ do something, you generally can't.
|
Godforge custom 3d printing / professional level casting masters and design:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/GodForge |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 15:45:06
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Lost in the warp while searching for a new codex
|
exactly, the Dread is not imobilized any longer so...
|
I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time.
15k
10k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 15:48:04
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
is the assault phase "the following turn" ?
|
Godforge custom 3d printing / professional level casting masters and design:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/GodForge |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 15:56:09
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Lost in the warp while searching for a new codex
|
what does that have to do with anything?
|
I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time.
15k
10k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 15:58:01
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If it states you may move normally the following turn, as far as THIS turn is concerned you are not able to move. Given that making an Assault requires you to Move you are a little stuffed.
I dont have the rules on hand so cannot check, however if the wording is as Grundz stated that would be the correct interpretation anyway.
Secondly as long as the Techmarine is not part of the assault nothing states you cannot keep repairing the Dreadnought...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 16:03:39
Subject: Re:Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
it is relavent IF you define an assault move as "movement"
it may seem silly, but it is an important question.
is movement something that ONLY happens in the Movement phase? if this is true then you could assault as it technically isn't movement.
OR is movement what you call it when your models change their position on the table topfor any reason what so ever? if this is true then you may not assault
i would say the second option is true as all repairs happen in the beginning of the shooting phase after the movement phase. any movement that would happen after the repair, but before the next turn would be in the assault phase.
on your 2 dreadnoughts in CC question. i would say you could repair it as long as you werent in BtB with the enemy dreadnought.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 16:05:37
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Lost in the warp while searching for a new codex
|
Oh, missed Grundz statement. It is however incorrect. It says nothing about next turn exept for shooting. Which must be done in the next shooting phase
|
I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time.
15k
10k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 16:12:07
Subject: Re:Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
a techmarine can repair a weapon and it is able to fire in that shooting phase as repairs happen at the beginning of the shooting phase.
so i can waltz my Techmarine up to my Dreadnought that had its lascanon shot off.
at the beginning of the shooting phase i repair the lascannon.
then my Dreadnought may fire his lascannon.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 16:18:49
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
In order to Assault you must make a move as you would in the Movement phase, except you are given permission to ignore the 1" rule.
In other words: yes, ASsault moves ARE moves, as they have to follow the rules given for moving models (otherwise you could try to assault through impassable terrain, etc...), and the mention of the lifting of the 1" rule only confirms that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 16:25:42
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Lost in the warp while searching for a new codex
|
No you can not GT. It says. "If a weapon destroyed result is repaired that weapon can be fired in the following shooting phase"
Fixing an imobilized result has no such restrictions
|
I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time.
15k
10k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 16:40:04
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ah, so if there is NO restriction on moving after repair, just a "you may now move" state, then you could run into assault.
Kinda makes sense as its a different phase, as opposed to attempting to shoot which IS restricted and that restriction does seem sensible.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 16:43:48
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
A dread repaired by a techmarine(or Master of the forge) is no longer immobilized immediately; not next turn. Yes it may assault. The only bit in the blessing of the omnissiah that talks about not going into effect until next turn Is shooting a weapon repaired.
To quote the relevant rule: If the result is 5 or more, then either a weapon destroyed or immobilized result (Owning player's choice)will be repaired.
In short Yes, RAW, the dread can assault.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 20:17:01
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yes, the Dreadnought can assault.
Yes, you can repair it while it is duking it out with something, so long as the techmarine stays more than 1" from any enemies.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 20:22:50
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Gwar - not true.
If the Techmarine was in btb with the dread which is THEN assaulted, and the techmarine is not in combat, then it is possible for the techmarine to be within 1" of an enemy legally.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 20:24:12
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Gwar - not true.
If the Techmarine was in btb with the dread which is THEN assaulted, and the techmarine is not in combat, then it is possible for the techmarine to be within 1" of an enemy legally.
Yes, what I meant was the Techmarine cannot move himself to within 1" of the enemy.
Sorry for not making that sufficiently clear!
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/08 20:40:13
Subject: Immobilized Dreadnought and Techmarine
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I was just being ultra pedantic, gotta catch you when you're not 100% correct
|
|
 |
 |
|