Switch Theme:

Assaulting multiple targets  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




I have searched for this one and can not find it but I do get the one about shooting the transport then who can do what to the guys that get out.


I guess I need a little help getting a answer to the Question as follows:

I am standing in front of the middle tank A, B .C

I shoot tank C destroying it

Can I then Assault tanks A and B as the BRB says on Pg.33 under "Disallowed Assaults" and on pg. 34 under "Assaulting Multiple Enemy Units"

says that if I shot I must first assault the unit I shot at but since its no longer there I can not assault the other tanks as I didnt shoot at them.


I think if I shoot one and it blows up it no longer counts as a criteria to meet and I can just declare against who I wish at the start of the Assault Phase.

Thanks for any Help, Zen
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

You can only assault the unit you shot. If it is gone, you cannot assault.

If the tanks were in a squadron, you can assault the squadron - the unit you shot, and the guys that came out of the destroyed tank (if any).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/10 23:45:47


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Zenxzen wrote:I have searched for this one and can not find it but I do get the one about shooting the transport then who can do what to the guys that get out.


I guess I need a little help getting a answer to the Question as follows:

I am standing in front of the middle tank A, B .C

I shoot tank C destroying it

Can I then Assault tanks A and B as the BRB says on Pg.33 under "Disallowed Assaults" and on pg. 34 under "Assaulting Multiple Enemy Units"

says that if I shot I must first assault the unit I shot at but since its no longer there I can not assault the other tanks as I didnt shoot at them.


I think if I shoot one and it blows up it no longer counts as a criteria to meet and I can just declare against who I wish at the start of the Assault Phase.

Thanks for any Help, Zen
If the unit you shot at is no longer there, because it is dead, then you cannot assault ANYTHING that turn, except for the passengers that disembarked from Tank C (if any) and even then only if A actually destroyed C.

However, if C was part of a vehicle squadron, you can assault, as the Squadron are all one unit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/06/10 23:47:33


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

ooops.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/10 23:46:00


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Bummer...

But I could take 3 Meltabombs and not shoot at the tanks then I could Assault and destroy all 3 ( if I rolled good )!

strange but them be the rules so not arguing about it will use what I have.

Thanks
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Zenxzen wrote:But I could take 3 Meltabombs and not shoot at the tanks then I could Assault and destroy all 3 ( if I rolled good )!


Assuming that they're all close enough together that you can do that while following the rules for moving your assaulting models, yes.


strange but them be the rules so not arguing about it will use what I have.


The 'only assault what you shot at' rule was a deliberate balancing limitation placed on shooty units in order to limit the number of enemy units that they can attack in a single turn.

 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I think this will make me rethink how I "Tank Hunt" as taking 4 meltaguns only gets me one Vehicle where as Meltabombs give me more targets with the same odds to hit.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







But don't forget, meltaguns will hit on a 3 or 4, while if the vehicles moves you hit on a 4 or 6. And Meltabombs also are not Ap1, so not as good as killing them.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Zenxzen wrote:... where as Meltabombs give me more targets with the same odds to hit.


...if he leaves them clustered up together.

 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Yes, you are quite right I think I need to rethink a little more.

Thanks so much for the help much clearer now.







   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Gwar! wrote:If the unit you shot at is no longer there, because it is dead, then you cannot assault ANYTHING that turn, except for the passengers that disembarked from Tank C (if any) and even then only if A actually destroyed C.

However, if C was part of a vehicle squadron, you can assault, as the Squadron are all one unit.


I'm incredbly rusty on my 5th rules, but where exactly is it in the boook that if you pop a tank with troops in it with shooting you can assualt the troops that come out.

Hope more old fools come to their senses and start giving you their money instead of those Union Jack Blood suckers...  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







carmachu wrote:I'm incredbly rusty on my 5th rules, but where exactly is it in the boook that if you pop a tank with troops in it with shooting you can assualt the troops that come out.
Page 67.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/11 00:51:48


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






I thought the rules for grenades state that a unit can only use one grenade per turn?
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

A model can only make one attack using a grenade in the assault phase. Models in each unit may all make a single attack, so if you have 4 Krak grenade equipped models, all 4 get to try to plant a grenade.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Each model can only use one grenade in assault. The unit can use as many as they have models for...

 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Ah, ok. I couldn't remember if it said model or unit, thanks.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: