Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 05:50:48
Subject: quick question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
I know that you are allowed to measure your control range whenever, my question is what exactly the etiquette is. Is it ok to Use your control range measurment to "mesure other things, or is it really only for measuring control, and would be "shaddy" to do that ?. Thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 05:56:24
Subject: Re:quick question
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
Typically people will not mind as long as you are measuring just the control range of the model however if the tape is out further yes they are going to be put off by this.
It is meant to be a tool for the warcaster, it gives you a basic reference as to how close or far you are from your enemies as well as your own troops.
Keep in mind it may seem like it benefits you but it benefits your opponent just as much, it gives them the same scale it gives you so they know if they can charge next turn or if they can get you in a feat or ctrl effect.
|
When the Axe comes down just pray your face isn't beneath it.
2500 , 2500 100 points of Circle of Orboros 50 points of legion 50 points of Khador, 15 points of Cryx and 15 points of menoth |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 12:01:12
Subject: quick question
|
 |
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide
|
People check their control area for everything and anything.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 12:20:23
Subject: quick question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
just to clarify, it would be ok at a tournament to put out the tape measure say 16 inches for my control range, but actually be checking the distance from my unit in front of my catser, to a enemy unit also in my control range?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 12:24:13
Subject: quick question
|
 |
Storm Lance
Poznan, Poland.
|
As long as your tape measure does not reach further than your caster/warlock CTRL your opponent has nothing to say about the reason you measure it. It's part of the rules. It's 100% legal. You can use it to your advantage as much as you wish. Just as your opponent can.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 18:11:01
Subject: quick question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Brother Condon wrote:just to clarify, it would be ok at a tournament to put out the tape measure say 16 inches for my control range, but actually be checking the distance from my unit in front of my catser, to a enemy unit also in my control range?
As long as your Caster is FOCUS 8, not only CAN you do this, you're EXPECTED to do this. I've also used this to measure distance from my caster to an opponent in front of me, then distance to a shooting unit behind my caster, then use that to estimate how far up I need to move my shooting unit to get range on the target.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 18:18:25
Subject: Re:quick question
|
 |
Wraith
|
Even with the ability to measure whenever you want, you will occasionally come up just a hair short of whre you wanted to shoot/charge/cast.
And then get smacked down.
|
Bam, said the lady!
DR:70S+GM++B+I+Pw40k09/f++D++A(WTF)/hWD153R+++T(S)DM++++
Dakka, what is good in life?
To crush other websites,
See their user posts driven before you,
And hear the lamentation of the newbs.
-Frazzled-10/22/09 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 18:20:32
Subject: quick question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
thanks guys, I was aware of the way it could be used, but I was concerned with the expectation. I like to play fair, I dont get satisfaction out of stretching or bending rules, so I just wanted to make sure that it was concidered ok, not just something you could get away with. Thanks again guys
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 18:25:59
Subject: Re:quick question
|
 |
Wraith
|
I believe it is done to represent the 'caster's ability to see through their jacks and to give the player some of the character's tactical awareness.
If you are coming from 40k or any system where pre-measuring is not allowed,
it does feel odd to use what is such a powerful thing so easily.
|
Bam, said the lady!
DR:70S+GM++B+I+Pw40k09/f++D++A(WTF)/hWD153R+++T(S)DM++++
Dakka, what is good in life?
To crush other websites,
See their user posts driven before you,
And hear the lamentation of the newbs.
-Frazzled-10/22/09 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 18:36:56
Subject: quick question
|
 |
Splattered With Acrylic Paint
Minnesota
|
This is completely legal. But as other posters have said, it also benefits your opponent just as much - as long as your opponent is paying attention
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/11 18:38:23
"Human beings were not meant to sit in little cubicles staring at computer screens all day, filling out useless forms and listening to eight different bosses drone on about about mission statements." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 18:53:46
Subject: quick question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
ok heres another question, my feat says that enamy units that end their movment in my control are knocked down, does this happen befor any actions or at the end of their activation, also do thay have to move to be knocked down, and if the do something that requires the sacrifice of their movement, ie. getting up from being knocked down, are they knocked down ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 19:21:58
Subject: Re:quick question
|
 |
Wraith
|
Please clarify the Feat that you are referring to. That could change the answer you get.
It sounds like Bart's?
If a model is in your Control Area, and has finished Advancing they are knocked down.
I believe if the model is a Warcaster it can Feat or Cast spells before moving.
And yes, if you give up your move to stand, you would be knocked down again.
But that would just be a dumb decision.
|
Bam, said the lady!
DR:70S+GM++B+I+Pw40k09/f++D++A(WTF)/hWD153R+++T(S)DM++++
Dakka, what is good in life?
To crush other websites,
See their user posts driven before you,
And hear the lamentation of the newbs.
-Frazzled-10/22/09 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 19:31:29
Subject: quick question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
yup, Bart's. Ok, so what about choosing to not mov? Not knocked down ? And on the standing up thing, does that mean, anytime any unit does something that says " sacrifice your movment" That it counts as moving ? I appreciate the help clearifing this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 19:39:53
Subject: Re:quick question
|
 |
Wraith
|
If you choose not to move, you have ended your movement in his control area . Knocked Down (KD)
If they are forced to do something that would sacrifice their movement, KD.
But you can choose to give up your action in order to stand and make a full advance.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/11 19:40:13
Bam, said the lady!
DR:70S+GM++B+I+Pw40k09/f++D++A(WTF)/hWD153R+++T(S)DM++++
Dakka, what is good in life?
To crush other websites,
See their user posts driven before you,
And hear the lamentation of the newbs.
-Frazzled-10/22/09 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/11 19:53:01
Subject: Re:quick question
|
 |
Doc Brown
|
Which presumably will take you out of Bart's control area or your models are yet again going to be hugging the ground. It's like a less assassination and more irritation focused version of Kreoss' feat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/13 15:49:37
Subject: quick question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
ok I have a few more questions for you all. Pertaining to the same feat as before. If someone sacrifices their movment for an ability that makes them immune to knockdown, would it then immediatly take effect and protect them from knockdown, then allowing them to do an action?
Also, how are abilities worked out, can you do them no matter what, is there a certain part of the turn that they muct be done in, are they actions ? thanks again guys.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/13 15:51:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/14 04:11:54
Subject: Re:quick question
|
 |
Master Tormentor
|
For your first question, yes, if a unit sacrifices their movement to become immune to knockdown, they won't be knocked down when the feat triggers off their sacrificed movement. Of course, I could swear there was an Infernal ruling about sacc'ing movement and/or not moving to get around feats like this, but I can't for the life of me remember the specifics. I'll see if I can't dig it up.
Abilities depend entirely on what the card says. If said ability is a * attack or * action, it's exactly what it says on the tin, and must be done after movement taking the place of a model's (initial) attacks. If it's an animus or a spell, you can cast it whenever you like. If it's an order, it's given before movement (IIRC). Anything else, look at the card for specific timing rules. Most minifeats, for instance, can be triggered at any time you'd like (although it's typically more advantageous to do so at the start of the unit's activation).
EDIT: Ah, that was it. If the wording is "ends its movement," forfeiting your movement still triggers it. If the wording is "ends its advance" or something to that effect, forfeiting movement does NOT trigger the effect, as the model has not advanced. I don't have the cards for Bart, so not sure which of these applies.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/14 04:21:59
|
|
 |
 |
|