Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/13 11:28:06
Subject: Quick questions.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California
|
Hi guys,
I got a few question that needs your help to clear them.
1. My gaunts was getting shot by marine bolters. Since I can't take armor saves against bolter wounds, a GW employee suggested that I can take my 4+ FNP saves instead. I'm confuse. Even I didn't take any armor save or cover save, and I can take that 4+ FNP save?
2. My opponent have some marines inside a rhino, and it's shaken. During his turn, he disembark those marines and start shooting with them. Is that legit? Also, does disembarking and embarking count as moving? so technically, he can't fire his heavy weapons. right?
Thanks.
|
DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/13 11:31:58
Subject: Re:Quick questions.
|
 |
Charging Wild Rider
|
fnp only gets taken away if you get hit by a double str weapon or one with ap 1. Also in combat if you get hit by something that ignores armor saves.
Shaken only stops the vehicle not shooting. He can get out and fire but they do count as moving yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/13 11:38:09
Subject: Re:Quick questions.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Okay my knowledge:
1. Yes you can still can a FNP roll as long as you are not hit with an AP1/2 weapon or a weapon that would cause Instant Death due to its STRx2 of Toughness (Like Living Lightning against a T3 model) in the shooting phase. In assualts you add in Power Weapons and the like. Little confusing but just because that unit couldn't take an armor save against the bolter, doesn't mean that the bolter never allows an armor save. BRB pg. 75 under Feel No Pain
2. Disembarking does not count as moving as far as the movement phase is concern, but does count as moving in the shooting phase. BRB pg. 67 under Disembarking
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/13 11:40:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/13 11:47:11
Subject: Quick questions.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
New Player wrote:Hi guys,
I got a few question that needs your help to clear them.
1. My gaunts was getting shot by marine bolters. Since I can't take armor saves against bolter wounds, a GW employee suggested that I can take my 4+ FNP saves instead. I'm confuse. Even I didn't take any armor save or cover save, and I can take that 4+ FNP save?
2. My opponent have some marines inside a rhino, and it's shaken. During his turn, he disembark those marines and start shooting with them. Is that legit? Also, does disembarking and embarking count as moving? so technically, he can't fire his heavy weapons. right?
Thanks.
1) Yes, you can. Only very specific things ignore FNP. Bolters do not satisfy any of those things.
2) Yes and yes.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/13 11:52:20
Subject: Re:Quick questions.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Woot I beat GWAR to an answer.....(shakes his booty)....he fell for my 2 questions while I answered one!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/13 12:35:34
Subject: Quick questions.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DeOrks - you missed "and any weapon which always ignores armour saves" - like breath of chaos et al
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/13 13:05:18
Subject: Re:Quick questions.
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
DaOrkz1977 wrote:Okay my knowledge:
2. Disembarking does not count as moving as far as the movement phase is concern, but does count as moving in the shooting phase. BRB pg. 67 under Disembarking
It is my belief that you, as your movement phase move, may embark or disembark, LEST: in one movement phase, you could embark into the rear of a transport, then disembark at the front, then move, then assault because the vehicle is stationary! making ur move way bigger. this is not the case, it is my belief that disembarking counts as moving, but you may of course move 6 from the tank. Therefore, logically you are correct, as if you disembarked and stayed next to the tank, you would still be able to move 6", but in the shooting phase, regardless of if you moved, you would not be able to fire heavy weapons, or rapid fire weapons further than 12".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/13 13:14:05
Subject: Re:Quick questions.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Jaon wrote:... LEST: in one movement phase, you could embark into the rear of a transport, then disembark at the front, then move, then assault because the vehicle is stationary! making ur move way bigger.
Regardless of whether or not dis/embarking is considered movement, you couldn't do that because the Transport rules state that you can't embark and disembark in the same turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/14 03:08:50
Subject: Quick questions.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California
|
Oh wow,
At first, I didn't believe that GW employee regarding the FNP ruling. I thought FNP only kicks in after I fail some kind of saves first. Now that I learn FNP can be taken even without the saves, gaunts just got much better against bolters.
Regarding the dis/embarking ruling, that makes sense.
Thanks guys.
|
DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/14 04:53:17
Subject: Quick questions.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Gwar! wrote:1) Yes, you can. Only very specific things ignore FNP. Bolters do not satisfy any of those things.
Except on models with a T2 like Gretchin with Mad dok Grotsnik attached. I dno't know why you would attach Mad dok to grots but it could be done and you would have a T2 model with FNP that is ignored by bolter fire.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/14 04:55:13
Subject: Quick questions.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yes, true. What I mean is vs Gants, Bolters do not meet any of the requirements to ignore FnP.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
|