Switch Theme:

Eldar Vibrocannon for Top Tier Play?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Been Around the Block




Except Fury of the Ancients, which is very close to a Vibrocannon in terms of mechanics. GW errataed that to not require LOS, so the Vibrocannon can go either way. All the real life people I've talked to want to play the Vibro as not requiring LOS, so I look forward to both facing and using it.

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 

No, it does not go either way. FoA is a psychic power, not a weapon. It has a specific ruling made in the errate. Vibrocannons as of now do not. So you can't arbitrarily change the rules of the weapon based on how a non weapon is used, albeit in a similar fashion. As of now, Vibro's don't have the G in its profile, which is indicitive of all weapons that can fire without line of sight.

   
Made in fi
Been Around the Block




Posted By Green Angel on 12/01/2006 7:08 AM

 

No, it does not go either way. FoA is a psychic power, not a weapon. It has a specific ruling made in the errate. Vibrocannons as of now do not. So you can't arbitrarily change the rules of the weapon based on how a non weapon is used, albeit in a similar fashion. As of now, Vibro's don't have the G in its profile, which is indicitive of all weapons that can fire without line of sight.



The rules of the Vibrocannon explicitly, without a doubt allow it to be fired out of LOS. It's the casualty removal rules that require "Line of Fire" that make things questionable. Even there, the whole thing hinges on the assumption that LoF really means LoS.

Edit: and the "can go either way" comment referred to the hopefully upcoming Eldar FAQ by GW.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 

Did you not read my post as to why it cannot fire without LOS? Only weapons with a G in the profile can be fired without LOS, if allowed at all.

Nowhere in the rules does it say, explicitly, that bolters need LOS. Yet you can't fire them without it. Please cite for me the page and line of the rules that says Vibrocannons do not need LOS.

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I dont have my book in front of me, but its in the Eldar Codex under the support weapon section under the heading "vibrocannon" oddly enough.

The sentance you will want to read is the one that specifically states that you pick a point 36" away regardless of whether it is in line of sight or not.
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN


   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Iowa,US

(I know im beating a dead horse but here we go)

Why would a vibro cannon need LOS, you dont have to target with it. you just aim in the general direction and fire, so LOS for Firing is fine. Like it has been said many of times its the wound removal is where things get dicy

and as for FoA not being a weapon, I beg to differ, and have a gravyard of firewarriors that would argue that point by thier tombstones:

"Hear lies Shas'ui Mon'tu"
"Killed by FoA"
"For the Greater good"

For the Greater Good, and for the Greater Firepower  
   
Made in fi
Been Around the Block




To flog the horse a bit more, is there any rules bit that specifically allows barrage weapons to remove casualties out of Line of Fire/Sight?


   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






Posted By Xerxes on 12/03/2006 5:53 PM
To flog the horse a bit more, is there any rules bit that specifically allows barrage weapons to remove casualties out of Line of Fire/Sight?




On page 56 of the rules it says all artillery needs line of sight unless it is a barrage weapon. Vibrocannons are not barrage weapons.

This query is covered in the general rules.


.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: