Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/01 23:21:48
Subject: Tyrants w/guard in cover
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/01 23:42:10
Subject: Tyrants w/guard in cover
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I agree with what you're saying in that other thread (about the implications of converted models on the rules), but I don't feel it applies to the case that is being discussed in this thread.
Sure someone can model a tiny Tyrant model that is able to be screened by Gaunts, but that's not the issue we were discussing, which is the case of a Monstrous creature being in a unit with regular infantry models.
I don't like spending 5 minutes discussing or arguing rules with my opponent, and I don't.
But I also don't necessarily see why someone would naturally assume that they'd get cover from intervening gaunts when they're down to one Tyrant Guard.
The rules clearly say that you must have a majority of your models in cover and in that case you do not.
If you have three models, and two of them are standing in a piece of area terrain and you happen to remove one of the models in the area terrain as a casualty, the unit is no longer in cover.
The situation with the Tyrant Guard and Tyrant has a different set of circumstances but the outcome is the same. If the majority of the models in the unit aren't in cover then the unit isn't.
A Tyrant is a monstrous creature so unless 50% of his body is obscured he's always one model in the unit that is 'out of cover'. As long as there are a majority of other models in the unit in cover, then the unit gets the cover save. When the majority of models no longer is in cover, then the unit is no longer gets the cover save.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/02 00:41:55
Subject: Tyrants w/guard in cover
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Actually isn't the rule half or more, not more then half. So in that case isn't Steleks issue kinda moot, since as long as there's a tyrant guard in cover then the hive tyrant gets a cover save. Quote is below:
If half or more of the models in the target unit are in cover, then the entire unit is deemed to be in cover and all of its models may take cover saves.
If less than half of the models in the target unit are in cover, then the entire unit counts as exposed and none of its models may take cover saves.
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/02 01:28:13
Subject: Re:Tyrants w/guard in cover
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
Ah good save winterman.
Time to end ranting.
Sorry yak.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/02 04:29:09
Subject: Re:Tyrants w/guard in cover
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Very nice. Good catch winterman.
One more thing not to worry about!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/02 08:27:30
Subject: Tyrants w/guard in cover
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Hey, just happy I got something right this time around.
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/02 16:26:07
Subject: Tyrants w/guard in cover
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
winterman beat me to it, went looking through the rulebook last night just for this issue. Also, the Tyrant cannot be picked out due to being a monstrous creature at all any more. There is a line in the monstrous creature rules that covers Tyran/Tyrant Guard, altho not by name.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|