Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/26 18:09:01
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Likewise, I have also given an example of where no codex over-rides the main rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/26 18:51:35
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
http://www.ageofstrife.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=15617#15617
"- Codex Overrides Rulebook
this mantra is a tool to resolving rules issues: a codex will always override the rulebook - even an old codex. i used the DA Combat Squads question as an example here to see just how far Jervis was willing to push this method, with suprising results: when the DA Codex says a certain unit is Scoring, it doesnt matter what the new 5th ed rules on Scoring Units say, that unit is Scoring (Devastators, for example).
the only exception is if they errata the rule. so until it gets changes in an errata, DA can have 30 Scoring Units (or whatever it is) vs their opponent's 6 (in most cases)."
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/26 20:48:19
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
The Tyrannid codex overrides the main rules, in respect of the Instant Death rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/26 20:51:49
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
The appearance is that GW makes different decisions all the time, communicating rules via an overlapping mesh of rules, codexes and FAQs.
There does not seem to be a consistent approach.
To me, the pattern of rule modification means that all sources must be considered with priority given to the most recent as modifying the earlier.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/26 20:57:25
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
Nurglitch wrote:Likewise, I have also given an example of where no codex over-rides the main rules.
The re-rolling rule.
Let's suppose that not enough Aun'Va sets are being sold, so in the 5e Tau codex he is given a special rule that any unit within 18 inches can re-roll re-rolls (in other words, make a third roll if they want to.)
Surely this would override the BBB.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/26 22:48:20
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Edit... NM, missed page two. More coffee for me.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/09/26 22:49:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/27 03:21:27
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kilkrazy:
How does this hypothetical Tau Codex count as evidence for the idea that rules in Codex documents always over-rides the main rules?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/27 04:19:29
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Forgot the tag line:
From an interview with Jervis.......................
don_mondo wrote:http://www.ageofstrife.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=15617#15617
"- Codex Overrides Rulebook
this mantra is a tool to resolving rules issues: a codex will always override the rulebook - even an old codex. i used the DA Combat Squads question as an example here to see just how far Jervis was willing to push this method, with suprising results: when the DA Codex says a certain unit is Scoring, it doesnt matter what the new 5th ed rules on Scoring Units say, that unit is Scoring (Devastators, for example).
the only exception is if they errata the rule. so until it gets changes in an errata, DA can have 30 Scoring Units (or whatever it is) vs their opponent's 6 (in most cases)."
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/27 08:20:55
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
Nurglitch wrote:Kilkrazy:
How does this hypothetical Tau Codex count as evidence for the idea that rules in Codex documents always over-rides the main rules?
It doesn't. It would count as evidence that a rule in the BBB that overrules all currently existing codex rules, can be overruled by a subsequently published code rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/27 08:28:03
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So basically it's irrelevant, because we're talking about whether Codexes actually over-ride the main rules, not whether they would if the evidence were whatever suited us.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/27 18:40:29
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
Call it a thought experiment.
It would be the same as the Tyrannid No Instant Death rule overruling the 4e Instant Death rule.
Sometimes the rulebook overrules codexes and sometimes codexes overrule the rulebook. The sequence of publication is an important factor.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/27 23:51:16
Subject: Codex Overrides Rulebook???
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kilkrazy wrote:Call it a thought experiment.
It would be the same as the Tyrannid No Instant Death rule overruling the 4e Instant Death rule.
Sometimes the rulebook overrules codexes and sometimes codexes overrule the rulebook. The sequence of publication is an important factor.
No, actually nothing in the BRB overrides things in the codices. Codices trump the rulebook, FAQ's trump everything.
The rule about only having one reroll of any die is simply a rule which explains how to reroll dice which nothing overrides. It simply happens that not one single codex rule which grants the ability to reroll a die does so in a manner contracting that rule.
|
|
 |
 |
|