Switch Theme:

[V5] YMTC - Snikrot's ability and joined ICs  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
READ BELOW FOR THE QUESTION
OPTION A (read below for details)
OPTION B (read below for details)
OPTION C (read below for details)
OPTION D (read below for details)

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





At no time ever does the joining IC gain Ambush, so B does not apply. C is not an argument, only a complaint.
Dash explains it well.
In any other case, in which a unit is told to do something, behave in a certain way, or is affected some how, we would not question it.
Mad Dok doesn't suddenly lose his abilities and hindrances that affect the unit he is joined to if a second IC is also joined.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

B.

The fact that people are arguing for A makes me die a little inside.... It's just way too much.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Frothing Warhound of Chaos




Utah

Nevermind me

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/28 20:44:21


2000
3000
2000  
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

If it's "legal" then I wouldn't begrudge someone doing it, but it still feels dirty.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian




Dashofpepper wrote:I just searched this out because it is still relevant and unanswered and it came up in a discussion over in tactics just now.

1. An IC does not benefit from special rules conferred by a unit unless otherwise specified.

2. Ambush is not being conferred by a unit to the IC; the previous rule is irrelevant. Instead, it is being conferred to the unit by a special character.

3. When the IC joins the unit he becomes part of the unit. He doesn't gain the unit's ability to infiltrate, but Snikrot does confer to him the special rule "Ambush" because he's part of the unit.


To go one further, by GW's standards of wording, the ability is not even conferred to the unit (Harker, in the IG codex, for instance actually confers Infiltrate and Stealth via the Catachan Devils rule, Snikrot does not use this wording).

The rest of the unit is dragged along by mere virtue of having the special character in it. No confering to the Kommandos, or any ICs. They simply arrive with Snikrot due to being in his unit, according to the Ambush rule.

Further, you don't even have to have outflanked/infiltrated the unit to use the Ambush rule. You simply go into regular reserves. This avoids the problem of not being able to attach an IC to the unit because the IC doesn't have the same Infiltrate/Outflank ability.

It may be unintended, but RAW, it's certainly allowed.

I won't even argue that it's actually all that much or broken. Whoo, I can infiltrate even 2 Ork HQ ICs from any board edge. Go power klaws. Compare that to a Marine codex where I can drop pod the same characters (or 4 of them, in a SW list) to anywhere on the board, an IG codex where I can outflank an entire platoon of tanks and infantry (or even ICBM carriers) by taking one or two special characters, or the 'nid codex where I can deep strike 6+ MCs and several HQs as part of the standard cost of those slots.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Option A. Ambush applies to attached ICs for two reasons; first, it is never "conferred" upon anyone. Second, it is not a "unit" special rule; it is a special rule of a single model, which confers a given benefit to the whole unit.

 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Dashofpepper wrote:I just searched this out because it is still relevant and unanswered and it came up in a discussion over in tactics just now.

1. An IC does not benefit from special rules conferred by a unit unless otherwise specified.

2. Ambush is not being conferred by a unit to the IC; the previous rule is irrelevant. Instead, it is being conferred to the unit by a special character.

3. When the IC joins the unit he becomes part of the unit. He doesn't gain the unit's ability to infiltrate, but Snikrot does confer to him the effects of the special rule "Ambush" because he's part of the unit.


I think what I bolded above should be added and is important. Otherwise, exactly what I was thinking. It's just like the Shrike argument. For Shrike, it's "Seen, But Remain Unseen". While the IC may not be able to benefit from special rules being conferred to them by another IC unless it specifies, they're not having "See, But Remain Seen" being conferred to them. They're not getting that rule, just like a Warboss isn't actually taking on the rule "Ambush". The effect of "Ambush" is being conferred to the IC, just like the effect of "Seen, But Remain Unseen" because they are a part of the unit being affected by a special rule, not because they are actually taking on that special rule.

It is a subtle, but hugely important distinction.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/05/28 21:41:51


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: