Switch Theme:

Couple Skaven Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

So another question, this time about the WLC / plagueclaw: can either machine march? In the old book it specifically could (due to uber-slaves ), but I don't find a similar allowance in the new one. Yet I likewise am unsure what the WLC / PC is any more, with the single base and such. Here's the blurb:

"Ponderous War Machine: If the crew is forced to flee
for any reason the Warp Lightning Cannon is destroyed.

The Warp Lightning Cannon is a war machine and both
it and the crew are considered to be a single combined
model. The characteristics have been detailed for both
crew and machine as they are used at different times.
When being shot at or targeted with spells use the
higher Toughness, while in close combat use the lower
Toughness value. There is only a single combined
Wounds profile that both Warp Lightning Cannon
and crew draw from. If this combined Wound profile
reaches zero the entire model is removed as a casualty."

So the WLC is a war machine, and hence it cannot march, correct? And in the PC's case, it doesn't frenzy charge either (ala the cauldron of blood). It's the chariot base (it does go on a chariot base, right?) that throws me ...

- Salvage

KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in ca
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Edmonton, AB

The US1 is important because they can be Skitterleaped (lept?) if they are treated as such. Just saying why an ruling would be important.

I forget, how many wounds on a weapon team? Would that matter for unit strength?

Q: How many of a specific demographic group are required to carry out a simple task?
A: An arbitrary number. One to carry out the task in question, and the remainder to act in a manner stereotypical of the group.

My Blog 
   
Made in us
Raging Rat Ogre




Off Exhibit

Skitterleap is characters only.

WTs have 1 wound.

'Give me a fragging hand, Kage. Silence the fragging woman, Kage. Fragging eat the brains, Kage'

OT Zone - a more wretched hive of scum and villainy .
 
   
Made in ca
Aspirant Tech-Adept





Boss_Salvage wrote:So another question, this time about the WLC / plagueclaw: can either machine march? In the old book it specifically could (due to uber-slaves ), but I don't find a similar allowance in the new one. Yet I likewise am unsure what the WLC / PC is any more, with the single base and such. Here's the blurb:

"Ponderous War Machine: If the crew is forced to flee
for any reason the Warp Lightning Cannon is destroyed.

The Warp Lightning Cannon is a war machine and both
it and the crew are considered to be a single combined
model. The characteristics have been detailed for both
crew and machine as they are used at different times.
When being shot at or targeted with spells use the
higher Toughness, while in close combat use the lower
Toughness value. There is only a single combined
Wounds profile that both Warp Lightning Cannon
and crew draw from. If this combined Wound profile
reaches zero the entire model is removed as a casualty."

So the WLC is a war machine, and hence it cannot march, correct? And in the PC's case, it doesn't frenzy charge either (ala the cauldron of blood). It's the chariot base (it does go on a chariot base, right?) that throws me ...

- Salvage



nope they cant march, and as a war machine it wont matter what base size you use so long as you dont go silly. remember charging a war machine is defined by your local ruling on weather the crew count as contact or just the machine (with war machines its not to the base thats considered a sucsessful charge its to the machine (and or crew) that matters), as the WLC is a single model this doesnt matter. there is no model for the PC so go to town. again bace size doesnt matter so long as you keep it within reason.
   
Made in us
Whelp



Brooklyn, New York

Negativemoney wrote:Skaven pg. 60 "Each Weapon Team is crewed by two Skaven models mounted on a single base and treated as a Single Model.

This seems to indicate that RAW points towards 360 line of sight as it is a single US 1 model on foot. Also RAI is meaningless as you don't know what the intent was without a direct quote from Jeremy Vetock. Intent is a subjective and only those who wrote the book know what the intent is.

Emphasis mine.


It may have been Vetock's intent to have these units treated as US1 but as with many of the units Skaven 7th ed the wording is incredibly vague. However, a few of these Weapons Teams do contain specific rules sufficiently explicit that grant them 360 LOS.

The naysayers have overlooked the fact that the Ratling Gun & Warpfire Thrower contain the following sentence in their Special rules (pgs. 60 & 61) "The Ratling Gun/Warpfire Thrower is a move or fire weapon, but can pivot on the spot to face the target it intends to shoot."

Now if these specific weapon teams did not possess 360 line of sight then what is the point to them pivoting to face the target? Skirmishers and characters pivot naturally, ranked missile units & characters joined to said units do not. Clearly if these Weapons Teams are bound by standard 90 degree LOS rules then there's no need for them to pivot at all when firing. Pivoting to fire allows them to see 360 degrees and get a Stand & Shoot reaction when charged from any direction.

As to the Poisoned Wind Mortar it says the following "The Poisoned Wind Mortar is a move or fire weapon. The Poisoned Wind Mortar fires like a Stone Thrower with the following exceptions: The Poisoned Wind Mortar can fire at any visible target or, if the Weapon Team is within 3" of its parent unti, it can use its line of sight to fire.

Now Vetock not only classifies the PWM as a stonethrower for the sake of shooting (thus granting it 360 degree LOS) but he further cements this by the subsequent sentence which effectively grants it 360 LOS (i.e. ... can fire at any visible target...). Again, if it is bound by standard 90 degree LOS limitations why would the rules qualify what kind of visible target it can shoot at?!?

Bolded text = emphasis mine.

For the sake of these three Weapons Teams their Special Rules make it pretty clear that they are granted 360 LOS.

True, Vetock made an embarassing number of oversights and flubs when penning the 7th ed Skaven book. Now he may have overlooked the fact that he forgot to classify Weapons Teams as Skirmishers or, more plausibly, he tried to endow some of them with skirmisher style rules that benefit them for the sake of shooting/LOS.
   
Made in us
Wraith





Raleigh, North Carolina

Pivoting to fire allows them to see 360 degrees and get a Stand & Shoot reaction when charged from any direction.

I disagree with the second half of this. Having a free pivot that does not count against the move or shoot quality of a weapons team is not the same as 360 line of sight, particularly in response to the Stand & Shoot reaction. Pivoting is done during the movement phase, but does nto count against these weapons teams as having moved. This does effectively given them 360 line of sight while shooting during their turn. I do not see anything in either the Skaven rulebook or the BRB that allows a non-skirmishing unit to pivot or move while being charged in order to face its attacker if they are coming into the flanks or rear.

It's very similar to Chariots and various Monsters. They can pivot and move freely in any direction, but for charging and shooting purposes they still have their standard line of sight unless otherwise noted on the profile. These units cannot turn to accept a charge, though. The weapons teams can pivot and fire freely in any direction, but cannot pivot to accept a charge so would not be able to Stand & Shoot someone not in their line of sight at the start of the charge.

 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: