Switch Theme:

Tau Target Lock  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






blaktoof wrote:the faq is the only place it states that wargear that has rules that no longer works, does not work.

so if its not the rules how can you use that line of arguement

Not at all?

Take a target priority test. Go ahead, do it. It's a required part of the rule.
You can't, because you don't know how or have permission to?
You don't have permission to skip that step somehow either?
Strict codex/BRB RAW, the ability is nonfunctional.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/03/24 18:53:25


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I don't know, find a rule in the rulebook that tells you what to do.

Find a rule in the rulebook that tells you "if asked to take a test and you cannot because it no longer exists the item doesnt work"

You can't.

Find a rule in the rulebook that says "these rules are permissive so unless you are allowed to do something only in both the rulebook and codex then you may"

you can't.

So there is no rule telling you what to do, if it works or not. IF codex trumps rulebook obviously there is this piece of wargear that has rules that both exist and don't exist. There is nothing in the rulebook telling you what to do, or that its not allowed, or commenting on permissivity RAW or RAI.

oddly the faq addresses it....

We aren't talking about the permissivity if letting my landraider turbobooest 48", because in neither codex or rulebook is it allowed. We are talking about a rule that is RAW in a codex. and the Rulebook has no rules on what to do.

So I am just going to say it, RAW, RAI there is no answer from the rulebook either way but yes the FaQ addresses it with a ruling.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/24 18:55:33


 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






blaktoof wrote:
Find a rule in the rulebook that tells you "if asked to take a test and you cannot because it no longer exists the item doesnt work"

You can't.

I think you're looking for the rule "if asked to take a test as a required step in an ability, you can just ignore it arbitrarily and continue with the ability"

Keep looking.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Before I ask my question, I want to address Blaktoof. Codex does not trump rulebook. Specific overrules general. There are a handful of rules from the BRB that actually trump the codicies.

Now, I am a little confused. So if I a squad of figures has one with a markerlight, does that whole unit have to fire at the the same unit as the markerlight figure?
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior






Unless the shas'ui has a Target Lock *dodges things thrown at him for mentioning Target Locks*, then yes, they all have to fire at that target.

3000 pts. or more
3000 pts. or more  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear






Clearwater, FL

This will go nowhere, and has been hashed out before.

Lock.

DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++

Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k.                                                                                                       Rule #1
- BBAP

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: