Switch Theme:

Dangerous terrain & Venomthropes  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

ChrisCP wrote:No as they are not passing through 'terrain' it's an effect that makes one take a Dangerous Terrain test, this also means that if you're passing through Dangerous Terrain and/or Difficult as well as assaulting the Thropes you could be taking two danger for each model and one difficult for the squad =_=


That's my reasoning as well - they're not moving through terrain and all they have to do is take a "dangerous terrain test". When I look up "Dangerous Terrain" in the rulebook, it tells me about being wounded on 1's, but doesn't say anything about difficult terrain or difficult terrain tests.

Therefore, you don't need to roll difficult terrain to assault venomthropes, but you will take a dangerous terrain test, possibly losing models before you strike.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






puma713 wrote:
Drunkspleen wrote:

Note that a Dangerous Terrain test is sufficient to force assaulting models to strike at Initiative 1.


Why? That is my question. The dangerous terrain test doesn't say anything about taking a difficult terrain test. They're two different tests. Like Leadership and Morale.

And it is "here or there" because it affects whether or not something can reach them to assault. It doesn't matter about the Initiative 1 thing because they're already striking at Initiative 1 for the Venomthrope's Lash Whips. The question is more about assaulting through terrain. If they must take a dangerous terrain test, does this include a difficult terrain test? Because it doesn't say so in the rulebook.


Regarding your first question, it is because the rulebook says "if an assaulting unit had to take a difficult or dangerous terrain test during their assault move, all of its models have their initiative value lowered to 1 when attacking", the Initiative 1 does matter because lash whips only apply to base contact with the venomthrope, however due to his aura, units that assault other nearby tyranids will also be fighting at Initiative 1.

My point about the argument being irrelevant to the situation is this:

As far as I can tell, your argument is based on the fact the rulebook does not allow a terrain piece to be classified as dangerous terrain without first being classified as difficult terrain, I personally don't accept that view, but for the sake of the discussion will happily treat it as a valid assumption.

So from here, we have a rule saying to take a dangerous terrain test, not that you count as assualting through dangerous terrain, simply that the test is taken, even if dangerous terrain cannot exist without being difficult, the test most certainly can, because it is an entirely seperate test.

Consider for example, in the standard rules, you can't inflict a wound on a model without first succesfully hitting that model, be it with a ranged weapon or a melee attack. This fact however does not prevent a special rule in a codex from saying "all models within 6 inches are wounded on a 4+", sure you can't NORMALLY wound without first hitting, but the codex tells you exactly what happens, they are wounded with no hitting involved.

That is what is happening here, EVEN IF you claim that dangerous terrain cannot exist without first being classed as difficult terrain, it has absolutely no bearing on what you do when told to take a dangerous terrain test, which is just that, take the 1 test, no more, no less.

Note that by the claims you are making, the rules would be entirely broken in other placed, for instance, Jump Infantry who "can move over all other models and all terrain freely. However if a moving jump infantry model begins or ends its move in difficult terrain, it must take a dangerous terrain test." Suddenly you have jump infantry who if they start or end in difficult terrain, have to make a difficult terrain test, despite being earlier told it may move over that terrain without penalty.

Frankly the RAW here is abundantly clear, you just take a dangerous terrain test, that is all.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: