Switch Theme:

Tervigon's ability change after FAQ  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

Scott-S6 wrote:That hasn't changed. When measuring to a unit you only need to touch one member. (unless a special rule explicitly says otherwise)

The INAT was dead wrong on this one. There is no time to check or duration specified so the ability only works while you're in range.


The BA FAQ says "at what point does my model get blah blah blah"?

I take this to mean that models within range get the benefit. The Tyranid codex says units within range get the benefit.

Models aren't units.

If we retro-fit the BA answer to the Tyranid codex we make a significant change. It also casts doubt on the Venothrope's special ability.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Frankly the situation is another illustration of GW's ability to muddy the waters with a poor choice of phrasing or vocabulary when making explanations.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/03 17:07:23


I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Both the priest's and the tervigon's abilities state " units within 6" "

I don't see the FAQ changing that to models within 6" - it's just yet more sloppy writing. Not to mention that the question is about when they get the bonus.

   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

The BA FAQ says "models within six inches".

The thread may be about 'when' rather than 'where' however the two questions are entangled since the where depends on the when.

I personally didn't require clarification about 'when' the effects happen, however the waters have now been muddied as regards the 'where'.

Can I take it that people are not arguing that the 'models' referred to in the BA FAQ are different to 'units'?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
To clarify my query, a situation could arise where a large unit of Gants charges an enemy and part of the unit is in range of the Tervigon while some of the unit's models are outside.

In this situation, the difference between the unit and the models is significant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/04 10:28:39


I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






I agree that it's significant. However, I think that since the focus on the question is the when we should not take it as addressing the where which was already clear.

(the when was clear also except for the people that wanted it to be better).

Yay for clear rules being made less!
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

That's what surprises me about GW FAQs. They often answer questions which IMO would only be asked by someone with some kind of cognitive deficit, while ignoring other issues which are terribly unclear.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
That's what surprises me about GW FAQs. They often answer questions which IMO would only be asked by someone with some kind of cognitive deficit, while ignoring other issues which are terribly unclear.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/04 15:50:32


I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






To be fair, the question has been asked a few times on here. Even though it's clear there are people that want to be within 6" at the start of the assault phase and then charge 6" into combat leaving the priest (or tervigon) 12" behind and still get the bonus.

INAT even ruled that was how it worked for the tervigon.

The trend for FAQs seems to be the following in roughly equal parts:
1. RAW
2. not RAW (i.e. stealth errata)
3. questions that no-one asked

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/04 20:03:02


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: