Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 16:18:21
Subject: Embarked passengers can never fire if any vehicle moves over 6"?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
PrometheusZero wrote:
Don't forget that models cannot assault the turn they disembark from a vehicle unless that vehicle has the 'Assault Vehicle' special rule (ie land raiders etc etc). If you are thinking of Ork Trukks, these are not assault vehicles so those 12 boys can move 6" and shoot, or move 12", disembark and shoot. The disadvantage being that disembarked orks are vulnerable to flamers and the like. They cannot assault however, as they just dont cost enough points to be that amazing.
Remember, its not you make the rules fit the fluff. You come up with the rules first and then write the fluff to fit them!
Open-topped vehicles count as assault vehicles. Trucks are open-topped, ergo, you can assault out of them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 16:19:41
Subject: Embarked passengers can never fire if any vehicle moves over 6"?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
sn0zcumb3r wrote:@ nostromo riiiiight....
It is on page 66 and the paragraph says:
"Models firing from a vehicle .... may not fire at all if the vehicle has moved at Cruising speed that turn"
Nowhere does it state that this counts for fire ports only.
This is correct. The absence of the term fire points means it applies to open-topped vehicles.
|
Las Vegas Open Head Judge
I'm sorry if it hurts your feelings or pride, but your credentials matter. Even on the internet.
"If you do not have the knowledge, you do not have the right to the opinion." -Plato
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 16:32:36
Subject: Re:Embarked passengers can never fire if any vehicle moves over 6"?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
pinkcarson wrote:Spetulhu wrote:pinkcarson wrote:The rule on page 66 (paragraph 10) that "models may not fire at all if the vehicle moved at cruising speed that turn" is under the FIRE POINTS section.
And the first sentence of the OPEN-TOPPED section (page 70, paragraph 2) says "Open-topped vehicles do not have specific fire points."
So since nothing says when the passengers may fire they can't fire at all. Simple solution.
Or just assume that the lines about using the normal rules if the vehicle type doesn't say different apply.
Well, the second sentence of OPEN-TOPPED says "Instead, all passengers in an open-topped vehicle may fire, measuring range and line of sight from the hull of the vehicle." So if everyone can fire, and the vehicle doesn't use fire points, why is the 6" rule under fire points applied?
when it uses the word Instead, and talks about fire points that means all the previously mentioned rules regarding shooting from a vehicle apply, except in the instance of fire points there is no limitation on how many embarked models may fire from the vehicle.
As the only rule for models firing from a vehicle is mentioned, then directly followed up on under open topped vehicles the same rules apply for vehicles with fire points as open topped. The only difference is that instead of being limited by the number of fire points you may have all models embarked fire if allowed to by weapon profile.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 16:40:36
Subject: Embarked passengers can never fire if any vehicle moves over 6"?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Ok so Dark Eldar can NOT move 12 inches and fire out of transports?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 16:41:07
Subject: Embarked passengers can never fire if any vehicle moves over 6"?
|
 |
Student Curious About Xenos
San Diego
|
I think its supposed to be representative of the vehicle zipping around so fast and bouncing around too much for anyone in the transport to effectively aim their weapons. (But you can still be sure all the Orks inside are screaming and firing wildly into the air 8) )
|
Whoever said the pen is mightier than the sword never encountered automatic weapons. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 16:50:47
Subject: Embarked passengers can never fire if any vehicle moves over 6"?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
cgage00 wrote:Ok so Dark Eldar can NOT move 12 inches and fire out of transports?
They CANNOT, as the rules for firing out of vehicles stops you doing,
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 21:17:25
Subject: Embarked passengers can never fire if any vehicle moves over 6"?
|
 |
Spawn of Chaos
|
PrometheusZero wrote:Don't forget that models cannot assault the turn they disembark from a vehicle unless that vehicle has the 'Assault Vehicle' special rule (ie land raiders etc etc). If you are thinking of Ork Trukks, these are not assault vehicles so those 12 boys can move 6" and shoot, or move 12", disembark and shoot. The disadvantage being that disembarked orks are vulnerable to flamers and the like. They cannot assault however, as they just dont cost enough points to be that amazing.
The fifth sentence in the OPEN-TOPPED TRANSPORT VEHICLES section says "the passengers of open-topped vehicles may assault, even if the vehicle has moved before their disembarkation." In this case Ork Trukks and DE Raiders are Open-topped vehicles and therefore "assault vehicles".
|
Chaos Space Marines
Death Guard
Thousand Sons
Dark Angels |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/24 02:52:13
Subject: Embarked passengers can never fire if any vehicle moves over 6"?
|
 |
Giggling Nurgling
|
Ah thats wrong, - open topped vehicles - "the passengers of an open topped vehicle may assault even if that vehicle has moved before their disembarkation."
p 70 under open topped transport vehicles. Automatically Appended Next Post: Oh sorry I was too slow
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/24 02:53:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/24 04:34:07
Subject: Embarked passengers can never fire if any vehicle moves over 6"?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
PrometheusZero wrote:Don't forget that models cannot assault the turn they disembark from a vehicle unless that vehicle has the 'Assault Vehicle' special rule (ie land raiders etc etc). If you are thinking of Ork Trukks, these are not assault vehicles so those 12 boys can move 6" and shoot, or move 12", disembark and shoot. The disadvantage being that disembarked orks are vulnerable to flamers and the like. They cannot assault however, as they just dont cost enough points to be that amazing.
Remember, its not you make the rules fit the fluff. You come up with the rules first and then write the fluff to fit them!
They can however assault out of an open topped vehicle which a trukk just to happens to be..battlewagons as well!
EDIT: seems I was ninja'd several times!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/24 04:40:06
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/24 04:48:08
Subject: Embarked passengers can never fire if any vehicle moves over 6"?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
coredump wrote:pinkcarson wrote:coredump wrote:The rule says you can't shoot, it doesn't say you can't shoot out of Fire Points.
I think the thing that I'm hung up on is that the rule that says you can't shoot, is the last paragraph of the FIRE POINT section. As I said before, if there were in a generic TRANSPORT section I wouldn't have issue.
But that is not uncommon with the rules. Fire Points is the section that it first became relevant, so they included it there, they stated it as a general rule, not one specific to Fire Points. It didn't warrant its own section of the rules, but still applies generally.
Exactly. Similar to the casualty removal rules being in the Shooting section of the book. The fact that they're in that section doesn't mean you don't remove casualties in Assault.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
|