Switch Theme:

Sisters of Battle fielding Land Raiders  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

Slinky wrote:It's simply tautology, restating twice that an inquisitor doesn't have to have a retinue.


didn't you just argue redundancy was enough to throw an argument out before??

Seems like a waste. RAW, they've defined 0 as a valid retinue size.

However. I am coming around to the idea now that they can't have their retinue destroyed... so they can't join or leave units if they do this lol... Silly raw


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Mannahnin wrote:I agree with Scott-S6 and Slinky.

A retinue of 0 = 0 retinue. Claiming otherwise based on the laconic phrasing of the rule is counterintuitive and creates many other conflicts in the rules.


what conflicts? I'm not sure I can think of any... (but yes i agree, it is counter intuitive... but it doesn't seem like it's Laconic (brief... I had to look this word up!)... a brief phrase would be to change 0-6 to 1-6...)

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/02/08 23:09:51


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

frgsinwntr wrote:
what conflicts? I'm not sure I follow.



Such as Blood Angels only need to have 1 troops unit, and in fact can't ever take more than 5 troop units on the FoC.

This is because Death company are 0-1 units. if 0 is a valid size then taking an assault squad and 0 Death company squads satisfy the FoC requirement of having 2 troop choices as compulsory choices.

See the first of many conflicts?


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

DeathReaper wrote:
frgsinwntr wrote:
what conflicts? I'm not sure I follow.



Such as Blood Angels only need to have 1 troops unit, and in fact can't ever take more than 5 troop units on the FoC.

This is because Death company are 0-1 units. if 0 is a valid size then taking an assault squad and 0 Death company squads satisfy the FoC requirement of having 2 troop choices as compulsory choices.

See the first of many conflicts?



No, I see only 1 conflict

But you're correct, by my reading the BA would be able to purchase 0 DC as a Force org slot... However, your one conflict is enough for me to drop my argument.

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






frgsinwntr wrote:An elite inqusitor entry on page 28 says you MAY have a retinue and then defines it as 0-6, meaning you didn't have to purchase one to begin with, but you have the option to purchase 0. therefore becomes by the Definition in the codex, a valid retinue size.

The problem is, you want to have it both ways.

You're arguing that taking 0 henchmen qualifies you for "if the inquisitor has a retinue" but does not qualify you for "accompanied by his retinue".

You aren't told explicitly that taking any particular number of henchmen means that you have a retinue. Rather, you are told that an elite inquisitor may purchase between 0 and 6.

You then check - does he have a retinue? If so then he can buy a landraider.

This comes down to a pretty straightforward point of both english language and logic - does taking 0 henchmen qualify as having a retinue?



Automatically Appended Next Post:
frgsinwntr wrote:But you're correct, by my reading the BA would be able to purchase 0 DC as a Force org slot... However, your one conflict is enough for me to drop my argument.

It gets more complicated - if having 0 DC constitutes filling that slot is it compulsory or mandatory? Can you choose to take 0 DC as opposed to not taking any DC?

This is what you've been arguing - that choosing to take 0 henchmen is different, somehow, to choosing not to take any henchmen. Clearly, these two conditions are identical.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/09 18:49:40


 
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

frgsinwntr wrote:
kirsanth wrote:
frgsinwntr wrote:quote pls?

"Some Codex books allow you to field characters together with a special unit that they cannot leave during the game (which is normally called a 'retinue'. . .)"

Not having such a unit and claiming to have a retinue cannot occur according to the main rules.


I don't see the problem. They start the game with their retinue of 0. As soon as the game starts, their retinue is "dead" for all intents and purposes and they become an IC again.

So if you kill the Inquisitor, you get one KP for her, one KP for her 0 model retinue?

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: