Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/27 17:06:12
Subject: True LOS v rulebook's 180
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Why are you only firing from the Inner most barrel anyways? The paintbrushes are representative when you look from the outermost barrels.
Also Chibi, your Right-hand Red-line intersects with the outer-most barrel of the Right Lascannon(where you to put a line across that barrel and follow it down); and you can see your left line cross one side of the Barrel to the other side as it "runs parallel"
The correct arc is just about right in between your lines, and the OP's painbrushes.
At any rate you are arguing slight semantics over a few degrees and declaring that the Weapon cannot fire thusly because LOS is blocked for 1 of the 2 available barrels on each individual weapon system. The rules do not cover twin-linked barrels, nor should they as you can fairly often get a situation where 1 barrel of a gun does not have LOS to a target where the other barrel does(most of the time this exact situation is true). the Converging point for the outer most lascannon Barrels will be about a half-inch further out than the 2 inner-most; this is true. But the targets for those guns are likely to be much larger; and it is not often going to matter.
The OP's question has been answered; use the actual traverse of the actual model, drawing a straight line from either barrel; this is their Firing Arc.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/27 17:19:32
Subject: True LOS v rulebook's 180
|
 |
Noble of the Alter Kindred
United Kingdom
|
The barrels of the gun are facing slightly inwards.
I assure you they are aligned as accurately as GIMP would allow,
Ascalan
In the case of the LR the guns in a sponson are not firing indepenently of each other afaik
The reason being that if both guns are to be used for practical purposes the limiting factor to true line of sight would be the inner gun.
It would still seem to me to be the most reasonable ting to say that the inner gun cannot go past the line parallel to the hull.
Since I am now repeating myself and have little to add it will be best to withdraw from the thread
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/27 17:19:40
Subject: Re:True LOS v rulebook's 180
|
 |
Stalwart Space Marine
|
Thanks guys, once again if I had my dang brb I would search through it till I found what I am talking about or declare the whole "shooting through hull" is incorrect, anyway, as Kommissar Kel stated, I have my answer, thanks again guys, even with those who disagreed, for helping me explore and debate all the options!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/27 17:44:45
Subject: True LOS v rulebook's 180
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
I'm aware that they're not fired independently. Neither are whirlwind pods or twin-linked guns from a wave serpent, for example, but as long as you can draw LOS for the weapon (any barrel) you can shoot the person in LOS,
(or would you argue that a Wave serepent with only one side of it's turret visible past a building would lose twin linked?)
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/27 18:05:43
Subject: True LOS v rulebook's 180
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
The rules offer nothing either way on how to handle a twin-linked weapon with LoS from only one of the barrels.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/27 22:07:10
Subject: True LOS v rulebook's 180
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Front mounted land guns are legal, but there is merit to mounting them in the rear. Depending on circumstances and the size of the squad sometimes it's better for the passengers for the guns to be placed in the rear.
|
Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail, and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some are given a chance to climb, but refuse. They cling to the realm, or love, or the gods…illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is, but they’ll never know this. Not until it’s too late.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/27 23:15:56
Subject: True LOS v rulebook's 180
|
 |
Strangely Beautiful Daemonette of Slaanesh
|
Chibi Bodge-Battle wrote:tbh I would prefer that a line parallel to the side of the LR would be used.
edit: Ascalam is correct afaik
Shooting your own vehicle is generally not recommended and not allowed in 40K
You don't know about Chaos Dreadnoughts, do you? XD
|
|
|
 |
 |
|