Switch Theme:

how many times can you cast hammer hand on one unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Dorset, UK

rigeld2 wrote:
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:But the answer has no specific mention to Ahriman, it just states that PSA's can only be used once per turn whereas non PSA's can be used multiple times, the same was said for Eldar Farseers in the old rules

Your best argument would be that specific to the Chaos Codex, non-PSAs can be used an unlimited amount. Generally, they can't without stating an exception. Hammerhand has no such exception.


Neither do Eldar or Chaos, however you can use them more than once, hence why it can be debatable whether they can use hammerhand more than once.

Those powers specifically mentioned have permission - and the rest of the Chaos Codex has arguable permission. Eldar may or may not have permission based on their codex/FAQ.

The BRB FAQ is pretty explicit.


The BRB is for fantasy, wrong book mate.

They do not have permission, it says in the chaos codex you can use more than one psychic power per turn bar PSA's, but it doesn't say you can use the same one more than once, so you are incorrect.
   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





rigeld2 wrote:Those powers specifically mentioned have permission - and the rest of the Chaos Codex has arguable permission.

Except they don't have permission:
Gift of Chaos can be used multiple times

Why can it be used multiple times?
as it is not a psychic shooting attack


GOC can be used multiple times, as it is not a psychic shooting attack. Therefore, non-psychic shooting attacks can be used multiple times.

If the main rulebook says you can't use non-psychic shooting attacks multiple times, then it may overrule the Chaos Codex FAQ.

text removed by Moderation team. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

It wouldn't override the Chaos FAQ because the Chaos FAQ is more specific then the BRB* FAQ.

*(BRB is an accepted acronym for both the Fantesy and 40k rulebooks)

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Dorset, UK


*(BRB is an accepted acronym for both the Fantesy and 40k rulebooks)


I thought that was BGB lol
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
The BRB is for fantasy, wrong book mate.

What?
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2170001a_40k_Rulebook_FAQ_Version_1_5_January_2012.pdf
Page 3 under the Psykers section.

They do not have permission, it says in the chaos codex you can use more than one psychic power per turn bar PSA's, but it doesn't say you can use the same one more than once, so you are incorrect.

The answer gives permission. But it's irrelevant and I don't feel like arguing about the Chaos FAQ - the BRB one directly applies and says you cannot.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Considering that the main rule book isn't grey anymore it doesn't seem fitting.

In fact, its red now so it really is the Big Red Book
[Thumb - BRB.jpg]

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/17 20:57:44


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





biccat wrote:If the main rulebook says you can't use non-psychic shooting attacks multiple times, then it may overrule the Chaos Codex FAQ.

The main rulebook FAQ does say that, as I quoted.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

And as specific>general then the specific Chaos FAQ will overrule the general BRB FAQ.


So chaos psykers can cast the same non-PSA power as many times as they are allowed to cast psychic powers. Arhiman can spawnify 3 unfortunates a trun.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Grey Templar wrote:And as specific>general then the specific Chaos FAQ will overrule the general BRB FAQ.


So chaos psykers can cast the same non-PSA power as many times as they are allowed to cast psychic powers. Arhiman can spawnify 3 unfortunates a trun.

Which is what I was trying to get at when I was accused of using a Fantasy FAQ - when they don't even use Psykers (do they? I thought it was all Magic)

edit: I understand mistakes happen.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/17 21:03:48


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Grey Templar wrote:Considering that the main rule book isn't grey anymore it doesn't seem fitting.

In fact, its red now so it really is the Big Red Book
It's grey with a red picture on the front.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I see gift of chaos given specific permission, as is warptime. Main rulebook FAQ says unless a power has specific permission...hammerhand no specific.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ahriman has specific allowance to cast the same power multiple times, which is what the FAQ is referring to. People were trying to claim you could use this multiple power to cast the samePSA more than once, which breaks the more specific only-one-weapon-per-turn rule

The BRB FAQ is more specific than the Chaos FAQ when it comes to anything non-Ahriman
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

Chaos Space Marine FAQ

Q. Can Ahriman use the same power two or even three
times during the same turn? (p50)

A. Powers that are psychic shooting attacks can only be
used once per turn. Gift of Chaos can be used multiple
times, as it is not a psychic shooting attack. The same is
true for Warptime, but of course there is no point in
using this power more than once per turn!
I think the red portion is the part that gives people pause.

I can see how it leads people to believe it applies to all non PSAs because the language implies that the conclusion (that you can use a non PSA like Gift of Chaos multiple times) is based on a single premise (that it is not a PSA).

However, the way I understand it, this particular FAQ answer only says the following, in descending order of assurance:

Can Ahriman use the same PSA more than once per turn? No.
Can Ahriman use Gift of Chaos and Warptime more than once per turn? Yes.
Can Ahriman use other non PSA psychic powers (other than GoT and Warptime) more than once per turn? Not expressly permitted.
Can any other model in the CSM codex use GoT and Warptime more than once per turn? Not expressly permitted.
Can any other model in the CSM codex use other non PSA psychic powers (other than GoT and Warptime) more than once per turn? Not expressly permitted.
Can any other model NOT in the CSM codex use other non PSA psychic powers more than once per turn? Not even addressed.

Really it's just the top two that are 100% correct. Everything is only implied, at best, from the somewhat loose language.

At least that's how I see it.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





DogOfWar wrote:At least that's how I see it.

Agreed.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






Grey Templar wrote:Considering that the main rule book isn't grey anymore it doesn't seem fitting.

In fact, its red now so it really is the Big Red Book

Wow! The front cover is red! Have you bothered looking at the entire back, sides and edges of the front?
Hint - they are all grey!

- BGB

Did you know? Every sunday from 12 to 5 pm you can get a carvery for £6.95 at the pudding and pye.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





cheapbuster wrote:
Grey Templar wrote:Considering that the main rule book isn't grey anymore it doesn't seem fitting.

In fact, its red now so it really is the Big Red Book

Wow! The front cover is red! Have you bothered looking at the entire back, sides and edges of the front?
Hint - they are all grey!

- BGB

BRB, to me, stands for basic rule book.
Being colorblind I try not to use colors for reference.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

rigeld2 wrote:BRB, to me, stands for basic rule book.
Being colorblind I try not to use colors for reference.


And here I thought it meant Big Rule Book (as compared to the Small Rule Book that comes with Black Reach). Granted the rule pages are the same, but...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/04 20:03:44


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: