Switch Theme:

Skimmers Block Line of Sight?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

But the base is *not* fair game. Where does it say that you can draw LoS to the base? It says *very specifically* head, arms, legs, torso. Hands, feet, and base are not on that list.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





This is dealt with explicitly in the BRB... I dunno why these kinds of arguments keep showing up :3

If a skimmer is immobilised or wrecked, its base is
removed, if possible.
If this is not possible (the base
might have been glued in place, for example), don't
worry about it. The skimmer's anti-grav field is obviously
still working and an immobilised skimmer will simply
remain hovering in place, incapable of any further
movement (including turning on the spot); a wrecked
one is now a floating, burning wreck. Note that it is not
permitted to remove the flying stand other than in the
two cases above, as normally skimmers cannot land in
battle conditions.


Seems pretty cut and dry to me once you apply TLOS to it.


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper




willydstyle wrote:But hands and feet are small, relatively insignificant parts, and aren't on the very specific list of body parts that can be targeted.


Heads aren't much bigger than hands in 40k. They shouldn't be targetable either, then.
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

One part is on the list, the other part is not. When you can refute what the rulebook says, I'll take a listen

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper




willydstyle wrote:One part is on the list, the other part is not. When you can refute what the rulebook says, I'll take a listen


The intention is pretty obvious here, and most people would agree. If you want to play like that, cool. Most games I play aren't based around hiding my wrists and ankles on miniatures or trying to follow word for word inferred rules.
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

JB_Man wrote:
willydstyle wrote:One part is on the list, the other part is not. When you can refute what the rulebook says, I'll take a listen


The intention is pretty obvious here, and most people would agree. If you want to play like that, cool. Most games I play aren't based around hiding my wrists and ankles on miniatures or trying to follow word for word inferred rules.


Actually I'm the one following the rules explicitly, while your interpretation infers something (hands and feet count as legs or arms) that the rules don't actually say.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Willy is correct: Hands are not arms and Feet are not legs, so you may not shoot at them.

And can people stop suggesting you can shoot at bases? You cant. WIlly has given the quotes many, many times - untill you can find some rules stating feet and hands can be targetted, Willy will remain in the right.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: