Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 18:09:03
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
RP:"If a model with RP rule is removed as a casualty..."
MI:"Every time Celestine is removed as a casualty,..."
Do you see any resemblance? And MI didn't get errata. It got a FAQ. MI wording didn't change at all. You should already know the difference between an errata and a faq...
And you still continue to think that faq about Lucas -which is an ability that always removed models as a casualty so actually there wasn't ever any doubt- and WBB which is obsolete, is more relevant? Talking about double standards...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 18:21:12
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
copper, here is the diffrence: St C = Imperium RP = Xenos We ALL know how much GW love their Imperium compared to Xenos. When it comes down to it between two similar abilities, xenos loses...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/12 18:23:12
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 18:22:04
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
I'll concede to that
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 18:22:29
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
copper.talos wrote:RP:"If a model with RP rule is removed as a casualty..."
MI:"Every time Celestine is removed as a casualty,..."
Do you see any resemblance? And MI didn't get errata. It got a FAQ. MI wording didn't change at all. You should already know the difference between an errata and a faq...
Indeed - I point out that it should've been an errata, because it changes a rule.
Note that the FAQ pertains specifically to MI. It doesn't mention *anything* that can be used to infer that it's a game-wide change/clarification.
And you still continue to think that faq about Lucas -which is an ability that always removed models as a casualty so actually there wasn't ever any doubt- and WBB which is obsolete, is more relevant? Talking about double standards...
... you seemed to think there was doubt when you used the Lucas FAQ to infer that JotWW allowed WBB.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 18:25:22
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Sorry junior it just doesn't go that way. C: Black Templar had to have a separate errata entry due to the one for BT stating Storm Shields confer a 4+ INV save rather than a 3+. An entry for one CODEX FAQ does not automatically carry over to every other DEX unless specifically mentioned.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 19:34:41
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Boss GreenNutz wrote:Sorry junior it just doesn't go that way. C: Black Templar had to have a separate errata entry due to the one for BT stating Storm Shields confer a 4+ INV save rather than a 3+. An entry for one CODEX FAQ does not automatically carry over to every other DEX unless specifically mentioned.
Sure, kiddo, but that example isn't the same, as its piece of wargear, and GW had been moving to make sure everything was referenced in its own codex.
Here we're talking about the interpretation of game mechanics. Totally different ball of wax. And using other FAQs to establish precedent as to how a rule 'might' be interpreted is a time honored tradition. It makes zero sense to say 'this remove from play' is different than 'this remove from play' because it comes from a different codex. Might GW rule that way? Maybe.
Fortunately the people I play with are more reasonable than most, and for tournaments, I'll get clarification on how it is going to be ruled before attending. Simple.
|
Legio Suturvora 2000 points (painted)
30k Word Bearers 2000 points (in progress)
Daemonhunters 1000 points (painted)
Flesh Tearers 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '02 52nd; Balt GT '05 16th
Kabal of the Tortured Soul 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '08 85th; Mechanicon '09 12th
Greenwing 1000 points (painted) - Adepticon Team Tourny 2013
"There is rational thought here. It's just swimming through a sea of stupid and is often concealed from view by the waves of irrational conclusions." - Railguns |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 19:42:12
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Cruentus wrote:And using other FAQs to establish precedent as to how a rule 'might' be interpreted is a time honored tradition. It makes zero sense to say 'this remove from play' is different than 'this remove from play' because it comes from a different codex.
... Yes, using FAQs as precedent makes sense when the rule is actually vague. Remove from play != Remove from play as a casualty except where the FAQ says it does - IE St. C.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 19:54:57
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Cruentus wrote: Here we're talking about the interpretation of game mechanics. Totally different ball of wax. And using other FAQs to establish precedent as to how a rule 'might' be interpreted is a time honored tradition. It makes zero sense to say 'this remove from play' is different than 'this remove from play' because it comes from a different codex. Might GW rule that way? Maybe.
Fortunately the people I play with are more reasonable than most, and for tournaments, I'll get clarification on how it is going to be ruled before attending. Simple.
Yup you are correct, they "might" rule that way. Then again they "might" not.
You are also correct in the most reasonable people, the ones I know anyway, will take the least advantageous way to rule a dispute in their DEX, at least I do anyway, just in case it doesn't end up going the way they hope. I didn't use Deffrollas for almost a year until GW stated they worked on BWs. When they did rule it that way, my Orks got a little better. Had it been ruled DeffRollas don't work not a single person would have been able to say I won due to misinterpreting a rule. See the difference?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 20:24:50
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
Happyjew wrote:copper, here is the diffrence:
St C = Imperium
RP = Xenos
We ALL know how much GW love their Imperium compared to Xenos. When it comes down to it between two similar abilities, xenos loses...
While it honestly wouldn't surprise me if the Necron FAQ goes the other way on this (because GW is all about consistency);
for me this is precedent enough to say that RP works against JotWW.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 20:34:48
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
Manhunter
|
EDIT: Poorly written :(
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/12/12 20:39:55
Lokas wrote:...Enemy of my enemy is kind of a dick, so let's kill him too.
"Without judgement there is no obstacle to action." ~ Kommander Oleg Strakhov
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/12 20:39:22
Subject: Remove from play and SoB FAQ
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
copper.talos wrote:By "applies directly" I meant it applies without need for further interpretation.
I don't think there is a hint of a doubt any more that Necrons get their RP against all such effects.
Actually, there is no doubt at all. Until an FAQ comes out for them, they do not get it. GW has ruled on opposite sides of the same exact question for different armies. So we can only take these on a case by case basis. I'd love it if they had a consistency in their answers. But since they don't, it's hard to say that this bleeds over onto 'Crons.
And two questions.............. That's all they tought were worth answering?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/12 20:43:42
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|