Switch Theme:

Codex Rules or BRB Rules??  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




By the logic of Codex > BRB: anytime a Dark Angel uses Lightning Claws it will automatically cause a wound with no armour save since it says that you reroll any wound dice that fail to wound. Yes, the BRB says that you can't reroll a reroll but the Lightning Claws rules in the DA Codex say that you reroll any roll that doesn't cause a wound. As such you keep rerolling until you roll a number that causes a wound. And the FAQ does not adress the reroll issue so GW is silent in this regard.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/31 18:46:16


 
   
Made in ca
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Leo_the_Rat wrote:

The general rule for rules priority is specific over general not Codex over BRB.


Actually, you are wrong. That was the case in 5th edition, but not for 6th edition. The last paragraph on the 7th page of the 6th editin rulebook states
"On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence."

40k 7th Edition Record
11 Games played
5 Games Won 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Leo_the_Rat wrote:By the logic of Codex > BRB: anytime a Dark Angel uses Lightning Claws it will automatically cause a wound with no armour save since it says that you reroll any wound dice that fail to wound. Yes, the BRB says that you can't reroll a reroll but the Lightning Claws rules in the DA Codex say that you reroll any roll that doesn't cause a wound. As such you keep rerolling until you roll a number that causes a wound. And the FAQ does not adress the reroll issue so GW is silent in this regard.


Except the rule doesnt give you permission to reroll a reroll. The rules don't conflict because the BRB defines a reroll and part of that definition is that you cant reroll the reroll.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




The DA codex says, "...and to re-roll any To Wound dice that fail to cause a wound."
In plain English this means that you roll your To Wound dice check to see if they cause a wound if they do then you're done with that phase if they don't cause a wound to re-roll them. Then check the dice and see if they wound if they don't then re-roll them, etc., etc.
The rule doesn't say re-roll the dice once or just re-roll the dice if they fail to cause a wound on the first attempt. It says that you re-roll the dice until they cause a wound.
In any event, this argument doesn't matter. What matters is that while RAW you may be able to claim that there is no armour save for a BT/DA/CSM lightning claw attack (with its minimal effect on game play) it should be obvious to most people that any model using a lightning claw should be using the same rule as any other model using a lightning claw. In this instance the rule that should be used for one and all is the newest rule for lightning claws which happens to be the BRB.
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Leo_the_Rat wrote:The DA codex says, "...and to re-roll any To Wound dice that fail to cause a wound."
In plain English this means that you roll your To Wound dice check to see if they cause a wound if they do then you're done with that phase if they don't cause a wound to re-roll them. Then check the dice and see if they wound if they don't then re-roll them, etc., etc.
The rule doesn't say re-roll the dice once or just re-roll the dice if they fail to cause a wound on the first attempt. It says that you re-roll the dice until they cause a wound.
In any event, this argument doesn't matter. What matters is that while RAW you may be able to claim that there is no armour save for a BT/DA/CSM lightning claw attack (with its minimal effect on game play) it should be obvious to most people that any model using a lightning claw should be using the same rule as any other model using a lightning claw. In this instance the rule that should be used for one and all is the newest rule for lightning claws which happens to be the BRB.


Except, the rules of the game don't operate purely on "just plain english". The codex entry gives you the option of re-rolling all failed To Wound rolls, but the BGB has clearly defined what a re-roll means in relation to the game, part of that being that you can't re-roll a re-roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/31 19:43:33


 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc






Battle Barge Impossible Fortress

So.

"The FAQs on the other hand are very much 'soft' material. They deal with more of a grey area, where often there is no right and wrong answer - in a way, they are our own 'Studio House Rules'. They are, of course, useful when you play a pick-up game against someone you don't know, or at tournaments (i.e. when you don't have a set of common 'house rules' with the other player). However, if you disagree with some answers and prefer to change them in your games and make your own house rules with your friends, that's fine. In fact we encourage you to shape the game around your needs and your taste. We firmly believe that wargaming is about two (or more!) people creating a gaming experience they are both going to enjoy. In other words, you might prefer to skip the FAQs altogether and instead always apply the good old 'roll a dice' rule whenever you meet a problematic situation."

I ignore the Warptime faq. That's right. I ignore it.

People still play me, knowing it. OMG, hang him!

Edit: Thanks to someone being a dick in PM, I should add that I don't just play Warptime any ol' way when I encounter a new player and I'm not TFG. Just making a point with the FAQ disclaimer on the GW website, guys...

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/08/01 00:59:08


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The FAQ portion yes, however the Amendments and Errata change the actual RAW.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc






Battle Barge Impossible Fortress

Need... new codex.

Sorry, I was possessed for a moment, my friends.
   
Made in ph
Drone without a Controller






I dont think its that much of a stretch that CSM have different rules for lightning claws, considering other SM-like codexes have different rules with their lightning claws. Like Space wolves LC, its rules are you choose either to reroll to hit, or reroll to wound which is different from the regular LC of the BRB
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wolf claws are not equal to lightning claws
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: