Switch Theme:

How *exactly* has FAQ'd Look Out Sir allocation changed (if at all)?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

1) you can make a LoS! for each wound allocated to the Librarian.

2) You must decide before you roll the save if you want to LoS! (This has not changed for mixed save units, they always used LoS! before rolling saves).

3) You play by a house rule then, as you can LoS! once per wound.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




1. Until unit is dead (assuming you make every roll)
2. Allocate before save.
3. No. You can LoS as long as you have other members of the unit around.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

1. You can make as many LOS as possible until your librarian is dead or you have run out of men in the unit.

2. You must LOS before saving. You never could LOS after a 2+ in the above scenario.

3. That is a house rule, not in the BRB. Play it that way at a tournament and you might be loosing out.


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




1) There is no limit to the number of LOS attempts you can take.

2) Yes, LOS before rolling save

3) they are wrong. In the above example, the Libby can make 10 LOS rolls if you want. (or rather, can keep making them as long as any Marines are alive.)
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





 Kharrak wrote:
Oh wow, thanks Graphite.

So, the big change I see, is that when you come to a character, you roll the ENTIRE wound pool at once for LoS (rather than one by one, until the character dies, then continuing with the rest of the wound pool for the rest of the squad). The ones that pass on, you set aside, while the ones you fail are all dumped on the character.

So characters have effectively become potentially amazing meat shields, for better or for worse.

Edit: or, wait, was that just a speed rolling method you came up with?


Just to be clear, you can "speed roll" LOS up to the number of wounds that the character currently has. Take the example of the librarian leading 5 space marines. The unit takes 5 AP4 wounds. The librarian has his initial two wounds and so you can roll 2 LOS dice at once and disposition the results accordingly. Lets assume he passes 1 LOS, fails the other LOS, then fails his armor save. Now he is down to 1 wound and so must make single LOS rolls for the rest of the wounds.

If the ENTIRE wound pool was rolled at once for LOS, you would be potentially taking 2+ saves (in the case of our librarian) even after initial wounds would have killed him (and thus negated the follow-on LOS rolls). Lets say you rolled all 5 wounds in the wound pool for LOS up front. Lets say the librarian fails 3 out of 5 LOS rolls, then fails 2 armor saves. Given that the FAQ and BRB states that you have to roll LOS individually, then how do you determine what "order" the three saves against the librarian were rolled? If the failed armor save/LOS rolls were the result of the first two wounds allocated, the librarian dies, and any other armor save would have been allocated to a 3+ model (marine in this case) and not the 2+ librarian.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: