Switch Theme:

Vargard Obyron Cleaving Counter blow  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




 Kevin949 wrote:
Sorry, I don't see your point you're trying make with precision strikes. What you're saying and what the rules say aren't the same thing. The strike itself may not say "targets specially equipped models" or "Targets characters" but the fact you, the precision striker, can allocate the wound does in fact mean the attack is able to specifically target a model.
No, problem is that what I'm saying is RAW and you're making stuff up. There is absolutely nothing in Precision Strike rules that one could use to make RAW argument about how Precision Strikes "Attacks" are targeted towards specific model. Precision Strike allows one to allocate Wounds caused by Precision Strikes, a process that is completely separate from making Attacks or hitting with them as you already said before:
 Kevin949 wrote:
but it's [suffering Wounds] a completely different step in the resolution process to trigger that effect.
text in orange is mine, to show what the "it" referred to.
Rulebook page 63 wrote:Just like when shooting, if any of a character's close combat Attacks roll 6 To Hit, these are Precision Strikes. Wounds from Precision Strikes are allocated against an engaged model (or models) of your choice in the unit he is attacking, rather than following the normal rules for Wound allocation. If a Precision Strike Wound is allocated to a character, they can still make their Look Out, Sir roll.
Here are the rules for Precision Strikes again. Quote me the exact words in the Precision Strike rule that supports your position. Note that being able to allocate Wounds does not support your position in slightest. Also note that your 'interpretation' would mean Character attacks are directed retroactively, which is kinda strange thing to argue for. Your argument also means that when I'm making single attack against 5 Immortals joined with Obyron, I've directed that single Attack specifically towards each and every one of those 6 models.

 Kevin949 wrote:
Yes, of course there's nothing in the rulebook to address a situation like this, it's a codex specific advanced rule. Thus the debate about it. You've given rules why you feel it's not true. So far all you've quoted are generic assault rules for an advanced situation.
First, this proves pretty much that you've completely misunderstood "generic vs advanced" concept. The reason I'm quoting "generic" assault rules, because they're absolutely everything needed to resolve this situation. Well, not entirely true. We also need "advanced" assault rules, like Challenges.
This case is just another run-of-the-mill close combat, with unit A attacking Unit B. Having independent character C joined with unit B only matters for "Look Out Sir!" and Challenges, because as everyone knows "While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes" (page 39),
So rulebook has absolutely all rules needed to resolve this simple situation. Only point where Codex steps in is where it states when Obyrons Cleaving Counterblow 'activates', and that is when attack directed against Obyron misses . Rulebook nicely enough has stated us in which cases this actually happens. It only happens when 1) Obyron is in a challenge 2) Obyron is not joined to a unit.

And I can even show the relevant rules in rulebook if you have hard time of finding them:
Rulebook., page 24 wrote: Rolling To Hit
To determine whether hits are scored, roll a D6 for each Attack a model gets to make and compare the WS of the attacking model with the WS of the target unit.
Units With Different Weapon Skills
... Whilst each model in such a unit rolls To Hit using its own Weapon Skill, Attacks made against such a unit are resolved ....
Attacks are made against units. Not models, but units. I don't really understand why this concept seems to be so hard for some people to grasp.
Challenges obviously are different beast:
Rulebook, page 64 wrote: ... only the challenger and challengee can strike blows against one another.
Now here is a rule that actually allows Cleaving Counterblow to trigger. Can you spot the difference?

And the whole point of Mordrak example was to point out how poorly thought out your previous argument about "Obyron doesn't mean just Obyron" in was. Obviously Mordrak only creates Ghost Knight when he personally suffers unsaved wound. Not if his unit suffers an attack.
Exactly same way as Obyrons Cleaving Counterblow obviously only works when attack directed to him he personally misses. Not if attack directed towards his unit misses.

As far as this debate is concerned, I'm looks like I'm spending time quoting and re-quoting the rules that support my position, and you've made some 'creative' rules interpretations but haven't yet managed to find a single actual RAW text to support those interpretations.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: