Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/02 23:32:38
Subject: Gate of infinity + Tervigon
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Lord PoPo wrote:basically, the question is this: Is there a general rule that states that models that have been moved count as having moved?
No. There is also no rule that tells us that a D6 that has been rolled counts as having been rolled, or that a distance that has been measured counts as having been measured.
None of these things are necessary. For something to have moved and not actually count as having moved, you would need a rule that says it doesn't count as moving. Otherwise, it would count as moving by virtue of the simple fact that it has moved.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 00:47:59
Subject: Gate of infinity + Tervigon
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
insaniak wrote: Lord PoPo wrote:basically, the question is this: Is there a general rule that states that models that have been moved count as having moved?
No. There is also no rule that tells us that a D6 that has been rolled counts as having been rolled, or that a distance that has been measured counts as having been measured.
None of these things are necessary. For something to have moved and not actually count as having moved, you would need a rule that says it doesn't count as moving. Otherwise, it would count as moving by virtue of the simple fact that it has moved.
 i don't understadn...
 kidding, thanks for the clarification, as ridiculous as it must have seemed
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/03 00:48:30
PM me! Let's play a game!
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny
(")_(") to help him gain world domination.
"GOTHIC MOTHAFETHA, DO YOU SPEAK IT?!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 00:50:53
Subject: Gate of infinity + Tervigon
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
All good. It's easy to get hooked up on the minutae of the rules and lose sight of the fact that sometimes the easy answer is the correct one
It's made worse by the fact that GW use normal words as game terms, and sometimes they mean something specific, and sometimes we're just left to go by what the word means in normal English.
You're certainly not the first to ask for an in-game definition of a specific common-use word.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 01:31:39
Subject: Gate of infinity + Tervigon
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
grendel083 wrote:
It can't, as Gate must be done at the start of the movement phase. This would be before spawning.
I believe that both are beginning of the movement phase. Gate-ing is movement, so one definately couldn't spawn after Gateing, but one could spawn then Gate, as they are both in the beginning of the movement phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 01:35:39
Subject: Gate of infinity + Tervigon
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Gate-ing is at the start of the Movement phase. SPawning is before the Tervigon moves. Ergo Gate comes before Spawn.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 01:37:14
Subject: Gate of infinity + Tervigon
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
jifel wrote: grendel083 wrote:
It can't, as Gate must be done at the start of the movement phase. This would be before spawning.
I believe that both are beginning of the movement phase. Gate-ing is movement, so one definately couldn't spawn after Gateing, but one could spawn then Gate, as they are both in the beginning of the movement phase.
They're not.
Gating is definitely at the start of the turn. Spawning isn't.
Spawning is done before the Tervigon moves, but his can be done at any point in the movement phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 01:54:52
Subject: Gate of infinity + Tervigon
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
So now we come down to the definition of the beginning of the movement phase. Is the beginning of the movement phase defined as before the first model moves? if not when does it end? The tervigon can spawn any time before it moves. So can it spawn at the beginning of the movement phase?
|
Never underestimate the Genestealers ability to sweeping advance EVERYTHING! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 02:12:39
Subject: Gate of infinity + Tervigon
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
Backlash wrote:So now we come down to the definition of the beginning of the movement phase. Is the beginning of the movement phase defined as before the first model moves? if not when does it end? The tervigon can spawn any time before it moves. So can it spawn at the beginning of the movement phase?
I don't think that the phase is "defined' as before the first model moves, but it is certainly before the first model moves...
wait a minute... just read the actual rule, probably should have done that first but hey, I'm stupid, deal widit.
we have determined that GoI counts as movement... xP and it must be done at the beginning of the moevement phase. BUT
page 52 A tervigon can spawn termagants in the tyranid movement phase before it has moved
so... since GoI is movement.. does that mean that the tervigon can spawn before GoI? so.. before the beginning of the movement phase... so.... DURING YOUR OPPONENTS TURN!!!
but in all seriousness, seems pretty clear that RAI, you gate, then can't move.. but the RAW seems a little less clear. though, as this thread could show anyone, i like to muddle clarity so that might just be me
|
PM me! Let's play a game!
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny
(")_(") to help him gain world domination.
"GOTHIC MOTHAFETHA, DO YOU SPEAK IT?!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 02:25:33
Subject: Gate of infinity + Tervigon
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
The Start of the movement phase is just that, the Start. So the first action before all other actions. There is a rule covering when you have many actions that must happen at the same time (such as the start of the movement phase).
Spawning does not have to be the first action, so if you spawn first... you're not longer at the start of your movement phase (and missed the chance to cast blessings).
|
|
 |
 |
|