Switch Theme:

Jaws of the World Wolf and FMC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






 juraigamer wrote:
Very defensive, space puppy is.

The entire board is open ground, and you draw jaws along this, and only this.


I'm just going to go ahead and say that I automatically lean away from your point of view because you keep insulting the guy arguing with you. We should all be fairly mature here, if you need to do that in an argument you've got a problem.

Now, it just so happens that I agree with "the space puppy" in this argument. The line drawn by Jawws, in my oppinion, would hit everything on the ground level of the table. Area terrain that is on the ground level, while multiple levels of the ruin are not. But as much as I'd love it, your argument of putting a model in terrain to avoid Jaws isn't supported by the rules of the game. You keep falling back to the rules of math, where a line is 1 dimentional and infinitely thin, etc. These aren't the rules of the game.


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

elam wrote:
Hi guys
How does power "Jaws of the World Wolf" (SW) against a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature?


Not sure why this topic has gotten side-tracked into JotWW 'line' arguments again (which are irrelevant and pointless)...but the answer here is crystal clear:

FMC are a distinct unit type from Monstrous Creatures and since they're not listed under things that JotWW affects, they cannot be affected by it.

Regardless of whether FMC are either swooping or gliding, either way they only ever *move* like a Jump Monstrous Creature they are NOT a Jump Monstrous Creature.

Because there *are* Jump Monstrous Creatures (Dreadknights with Personal Teleporters), and they would be affected by JotWW.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 liturgies of blood wrote:
Open ground is terrain, specifically open terrain as per page 90.
So why can I draw a line along one type of terrain and not another?

So you can draw through and around the terrain at the same time? Because that is the only way to hit someone not on the flat surface of the board, one story up in ruins.

Oh look, you just drew a plane....
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Why do you keep jumping to the assumption that I am trying to justify hitting the 2nd story of a ruin? I amn't, you cannot hit the top floor of a ruin with jaws or the 2nd or whatever, if you're in the rubble on the ground you do get hit.

If you are on the ground floor of a ruin, on a hill or in some trees. You get hit as you are on the surface of the terrain.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Why do you both keep bringing up this whole 'line' thing? The OP's question has been answered. If you feel the need to debate this, start a new thread.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: